You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Garden Journal Weekly. 3rd November 2021

in HiveGarden2 years ago

hehehe - yeah - i hear you!

but for me - I tried so many things - and the worms were the easiest!!! my gosh they were amazing.

i had a 5 foot tall compost heap - that WOULD NOT COMPOST hahhahaha

and i even bought one of those cool compost turner bin things... could not get it to decompose
but the worms turned EVERYTHING into compost (until they died in the cold.) :(

i'll try to figure out something hehehe but - man alive... they are tricky!

they were fine in the house - but... i can't think of a place where I'd want to keep them in the house - you know??? lol

in my old house - there was a great spot - this one.. nopes!

Sort:  
 2 years ago  

I'm not sure how successful my composting is (soggy seems to be the best description) but I dig it in after a while anyway and let nature figure out what to do with it. She'll get it all broken down eventually. My chickens and rabbits sort out most of the the organic waste, so only toxic plants or mouldy (which is rare) stuff goes in the compost bin. Then tougher trimmings get chopped as mulch on the front garden, where it slowly disappears over time. I actually don't have much I could give the worms after this.

I hope you can figure something out for your worms so you can get them again. I'm sure there are ideas out there for insulating them. Worm farm jackets, maybe. 🤔

ROFLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLll worm farm jackets is actually what i was thinking of - sorta!!

you know - my hubby is a chef! and when he used to go pick up massive orders from the restaurant stores - it was too much to put into a cooler - so he had this HUGE cooler blanket that he would just lay over the top of the frozen itesm

I was thinking of that!! but!!! they need air and i thikn that would suffocate them

geez - my little Verns are high maintenance sometimes hahahaha

(they are all named Vern) LOL