My Hügelkultur Garden Bed Progress

in HiveGarden2 years ago

The Hügelkultur garden bed progress came to a pause, I was just unable to go back and visit the Garden for a week until now. I got caught up from the enrollment process at school.

I am glad that I had a spare time to visit the Garden today.

At 3 PM, it was cloudy with occassional drizzle. Out of the blue, together with my siblings, we decided to walk in a different path though it would take us longer.

Along the way, I noticed a lot of fiddlehead ferns growing abundantly by the roadside. I already have it in mind to grow edible fiddlehead ferns in my forest garden, so I impulsively uprooted some of it. Temporarily, it finds its place near the Garden's well.

20220909_155500.jpg

I did a little makeover on my still unfinished Hügelkultur garden bed, digging a shallow trench to be filled the coconut fruits as the base. It is shallower than usual, just less than a foot because the roots from nearby coconut tree makes it harder to dig.

It's was just a week since I piled up the organic materials, but I was amazed to discover there are earthworms already. Quite a number of them given that the root system of the nearby coconut tree is so extensive underneath. So far, the hügelkultur project is giving me a satisfactory result.

I was also redoing the part near the coconut where it was fixed in a way that the garden bed would look better when completed.

20220910_021147.jpg

Also saw a weird wildflower on the area I was working and it was giving me some goosebumps, so I threw it away.

20220909_145239.jpg

Slowly, I added more to the mound. It was just local soil for now, but I will be starting a composting system later on.

Overall, the Hügelkultur garden bed is already 65% complete. After filling it with a good amount of soil and mulch, then it would be ready for planting.

20220910_020840.jpg

The start of our classes will be on Monday and I would be very busy from then on. Since our property is prone to flooding, I'm hoping to finish my Hügelkultur garden bed before stormy season comes. I'd hate it if my hardwork would just be floated away.

My brother would always joke around saying, "My plants had already reached the Camotes Sea." Which just means that the flood devastated his garden greatly. It's frustrating to think about, but it's just the reality our property's location.

20220910_021108.jpg

So we continually make preventive ways such as planting along the borders and put stickings around our garden beds. This will be also applied on my garden to-do's in the future.

And if ever you noticed that I often mixed up 'Garden' and 'garden' to identify our land property. It is intentional because we called it 'Garden' for a long time that it became the name for our garden.

Garden To Do List:

  1. 3 out of 4 garden bed completed
  2. Mango Tree guild
  3. Compost Bin
  4. Planting along the borders of our property
Sort:  

Congratulations @dzawn! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s):

You received more than 400 upvotes.
Your next target is to reach 500 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Check out the last post from @hivebuzz:

HiveFest⁷ badges available at the HiveBuzz store
HiveFest⁷ meetup in Amsterdam is next week. Be part of it and get your badge.
Support the HiveBuzz project. Vote for our proposal!