My Little Garden

in HiveGarden23 days ago

It's been ages since I posted about my flowers, so today I thought I'd show you my beauties.

Once upon a time I saw a post on Hive (it was basically on the legacy chain, but it doesn't matter), about African violets and fell in love with them. Back then I had none, but made it a mission to get some. Lucky me, the post also said how to grow them, so over the years I've grown my collection from zero to like fifteen or so, constantly giving away and selling the excess. They grow and multiply fast, so you'd better have a plan, otherwise you're going to have to make space for them, or throw them away, but honestly, who has the heart to throw away flowers as I don't.

Flowers.jpg

About a month ago, I had a table full of African violets and didn't know what to do with them. Then one nice, sunny day I went to the hairdresser, who's my partner in crime when it comes to flowers and she told me her violets have died, one by one. You can imagine the smile on my face when I heard that. There was my occasion to find a good, loving home for my flowers I didn't need. So I gave her ten violets, or more. I made her day for sure as all of a sudden her missing flowers were replaced.

20240510_193923a.jpg

This was a beautiful violet color, that flowered the first time and looked amazing. I was really happy and satisfied with it, but n the same time I thought my hairdresser would be too, so I took one leaf t grow another and gave this beauty to her.

20240501_134621a.jpg

Needless to say, she was thrilled.

20240523_193327a.jpg

This is the leaf I'm going to place in a pot soon and grow it. I think in a year I'm going to get some nice flowers.

20240523_192504a.jpg

Then I have this one, which is a light purple. I loved it wen I got it, but somehow I have managed to grow too many and at some point I had more than ten of this color alone, so I started giving them away. Now I have three I think.

20240523_192823a.jpg

This is next, basically a surprise as I have no idea what colour it's going to be.

20240523_192839a.jpg

20240523_192852a.jpg

This is the bud, but you can't really see much. It's going to be dark, but other than that, it's just guessing. I'm checking it daily, hoping to reveal itself, but it looks like I have to have more patience.

20240523_193151a.jpg

Then there's this one, I think it's a flamingo flower, or Anthurium that I got for my birthday a few years ago. It was so small, barely taller than a cup and look at it now.

20240523_193159a.jpg

There are five or six in that pot and I've given two to my hairdresser too and I had no idea what to do with so many. It looks better to have many in one big pot I think.

20240423_192637a.jpg

This is a Spathiphyllum, was given to me one year ago because the old owner had asthma and was advised to get rid of flowers. It was nice for awhile, but then it became too big for the space I have available. Most likely you know how much I love flowers and could not throw away any of them, so I've tried to find a good home for it and last month I did.

20240423_192656a.jpg

This is how the flower looks like and this one had one flower when i gave it away.

20240423_212859a.jpg

Last, but not least, my wonderful cactus, which amazes me every year. Last year this beauty had one flower, which opened while I was away and when I got back, I could only admire the dry flower. It upset me quite a lot, but what can you do, right? Then another bud opened a few weeks later, which actually grew before the other and I had the occasion to see the second flower of this cactus.

20240423_212936a.jpg

I took this photo on the 23th of April and was wondering what my cactus wants as there seemed to have too many buds growing. I mean for me there will never be too many, but cacti are known to have one flower per year, so this is why I thought it looked suspicious.

20240501_134453a.jpg

20240501_134529a.jpg

20240502_070521a.jpg

20240502_070525a.jpg

And this is what the buds looked like on the 1st of May, when I had to leave. One of them was already ready to open. I was angry, but there was nothing to do.

20240510_092155a.jpg

This year I was lucky I must admit. When I got back on the 10th of May, all the flowers were still open, except one. And now fasten your seat belts, this year my lovely cactus had NINE flowers! I don't know how, or if this is common, but I could not be more happier.

So this is my flower collection for now. I wish I would have more space, to diversify my collection, but no chance for that right now.

If you're a newbie, you may want to check out these guides:


presearch

Sort:  

How nice when you say that a smile appeared on your face when you found out what happened to the hairdresser, not only did you make her happy with this gift, but also the flowers and yourself, everyone has won. The photographs are beautiful, but I have fallen in love with your little captus, they have a special magic and at the same time they do not allow us to touch them hahaha, what gods they are 😅 Happy day Erikah!...

 22 days ago  

It was indeed a win-win, even though she has lost most of her violets, which she got from me previously.

That cactus is making history in my eyes and I love it too.

Happy Sunday to you too! :)

Your flower collection is great. African violent, Anthurium and especially cactus is so beautiful.

 22 days ago  

Thank you!

Your flower collection is so cool! I didn't know African violets could multiply so fast.

 22 days ago  

They grow fast and you get five or even more sets.

Since moving to an apartment years back I gotta admit we have almost no plants 🪴 here. This makes me wanna get motivated to change that! I almost planted something last year but never got around to it. I think I’ll finally plant some seeds and get some potted plants in here.

 22 days ago  

You should definitely get some flowers, or plant some seeds, it's a lot of fun, trust me. Space is indeed a problem, but I bet there's space for one or two. Must be.

The purple and yellow flowers look very beautiful.

 22 days ago  

I'm glad you like them.

Beautiful plant @erikah friend, the violets and anthuriums are beautiful and they are plants with a lot of personality!... But that cactus with its apotheosic flowering is something truly wonderful to look at!... Wow!...

!discovery 40
!VSC
!PIZZA
!BBH

@jlinaresp has sent VSC to @erikah

This post was rewarded with 0.1 VSC to support your work.
Join our photography communityVisual Shots
Check here to view or trade VSC Tokens
Be part of our Curation Trail


@jlinaresp ha enviado VSC a @erikah

Éste post fue recompensado con 0.1 VSC para apoyar tu trabajo.
Únete a nuestra comunidad de fotografía Visual Shots
Consulte aquí para ver o intercambiar VSC Tokens
Se parte de nuestro Trail de Curación


Uses: 3/25

 22 days ago  

Indeed they are beautiful, I like them a lot and am also happy to know you like them too :)

I love knowing that they reproduce by leaves, but mostly that they are small plants, I am thinking about having some for my garden.

You have beautiful flowers :)

 22 days ago  

Thank you! Yes, they are very easy to propogate them and in 6 years I think, I've never had one to fail, all of my attempts have been successful. You should definitely have some.

Loving the flowering cactus 🤩 For the longest time I thought they can only flower in their natural habitat, not on the windowsill, but once I got one with a huge bud just waiting to open and I took it home from the shop and fell in love with cacti allover again 😍
9 blooms is great!
!ALIVE

 22 days ago  

Nooo, they flower everywhere in my opinion. I had to wait 2 years for mine to bloom, but I got it when it was as little as a box of matches. Last year I thought they can have one or two flowers, this year it proved me wrong :))

Prove me wrong like this any day! 😂

Some years ago I could never keep a cacti alive for dear life, let alone make them flower 😂 Most of mine’s still don’t bloom, but I have a few that do and I’m always allover them with my camera when they do 😍

 21 days ago  

Wow, this is strange. How come you could not keep them alive? I know cacti are not needy and need very little care.

I know, right? I probably was giving them too much water 😂

What beautiful and inspiring photographs, I love them. I dare say you have wonderful hands for flowers, not everyone is so good at them. Congratulations.

 22 days ago  

Thank you @astrea, nice of you to say that, but if you like flowers, it's really easy.

Gorgeous cactus! great pics throughout post. I had no idea African violets could be propogated from cuttings like that. Very cool.

 22 days ago  

Yes, I think this is the easiest way to propagate a plant and they are not sensitive either, all my attempt have been successful so far. You just stick a leaf in soil and water it from time to time, mother nature does the rest.


This post was shared and voted inside the discord by the curators team of discovery-it
Join our Community and follow our Curation Trail
Discovery-it is also a Witness, vote for us here
Delegate to us for passive income. Check our 80% fee-back Program

PIZZA!

$PIZZA slices delivered:
@jlinaresp(3/10) tipped @erikah

wow, I'm sure your eyes are very healthy because of the flowers you care for.. really beautiful 🥰🥰

 22 days ago  

I'm glad you like them.

The beautiful organisation of the cultivation of beautiful ornamental plants. I love your spirit, dear, @erikah 😀

 22 days ago  

I'm really glad you like it.

@erikah With that love you put into your flowers, I have no doubt that they are generous with you and every day they give you their best bud. if I had to choose one, I couldn't because they are all beautiful. Congratulations on your beautiful flower garden collection.

What beautiful flowers....I didn't know you love flowers too

Bello jardín amiga, lindas imágenes 🌹😍👏

The leaves look so fluffy and squeezable, the photos you captured are great. I've never had any luck with this kind of plants I think it's mainly because of the hot space on my balcony so after a while I gave up and focused on cactus hahaha but I think it's great that you have the time, space and desire to do this really the colors that have these flowers are unique.