You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: WEED OR WILDFLOWER?

in HiveGarden • 3 years ago

What a wonderful post! So many things. The look on Maggie-the-escape-artist's face as you discovered her eggs is just classic. Or I am reading too much in it 🤣 either way.

It is amazing how so-called weeds can be life-giving but when left untamed they can just take over and destroy. I have some weeds that cover the fallen gooseberries so the birds and squirrels do not know about my stash, but on the other side, the weeds are killing the weeds I want to grow haha. The amaranth is being overtaken by black medic and other weeds.

How is your experience with wild rocket? My normal salad rocket is nice because it dies every summer. But the wild rocket is perennial as I understand it and its seeds are busy spreading through my whole garden. When I started eating wild rocket I wished for a whole garden full of it, now my wish has come true the garden is overflowing with this "weed". Although I cook with it almost daily! It is still yummy.

Sort:  

Thank you @fermentedphil. You are definitely not reading into anything. You have interpreted that bird brain accurately. She was so disgusted with us that she has made her nest elsewhere. We had a good laugh at her face when she discovered us discovering her secret!

Wild rocket is fabulous! The "tamed" table version is far milder in taste. But as you say dies back. My wild rocket, I am happy to say, has almost taken over in some of my gardens. I love it because we also eat it daily. I've never cooked with it though. Doesn't it lose that bite when heated? What meals do you cook it in?

 3 years ago  

It is so cute that we could share in her disgusted face! I would have felt the same 😅

I haven't cooked with wild rocket yet. I mainly use them for salads, garnishing and pestos. They make awesome pesto! I made one last week with pasta. Insanely flavorful sauce. But normal salad rocket, they grow so big in my garden, almost twice the size of my hands sometimes. I cook them like I cook spinach. I use them to make a vegetarian/vegan lasagne. They change flavor due to the cooking, but the end product is so much more flavorful than spinach.

Thanks for sharing! I can imagine it would be a more intense flavour than spinach! I'm going to try it.