Trimming the Pathways, Again

in HiveGardenlast year

It was the first time in ages that I ventured into the more bushy overgrown areas of my garden. The fynbos garden overgrows itself so quickly, and with the rains coming soon, it was time to cut the pathways open again. A couple of weeks ago, I wrote about cutting open the pathways, and it was time to do this again.

It looks so nice; the stark contrast between the green and the brown pathway. It is inherently a violent act. Cutting the plants always hurt me, I do not like it, but the pathways was overgrown for a couple of months now.

But as someone said to me once, everything you cut will grow back. This september bossie (Polygala myrtifolia) lost a couple of branches when we had bad weather with gusty winds. But in the three weeks since the winds, it has grown back with brute force. Even some of the plants I cut in the previous pathway cleanup are growing back:

It is amazing how nature just grows back. We can cut away, but she will come back.

With all of the pathways cleaned up, I had so much new material for my compost. It is such a hungry beast, I can never keep up with the feeding.

Across the new compost heap, the old one is "fermenting" away. Have you ever experienced the heat coming from a compost heap? I burnt my fingers making this video! Check the steam coming from it:

But not all the pathways could be saved. I needed to cut some of them off because the plants just grew too thick. It was also too pretty to cut. I did not want to hack away when the plants established themselves over the pathway.

But in the end, it is all about keeping things the way nature wants it. We can keep the pathways open, but the plants will grow where they want to grow. The garden is a living artwork. It is constantly moving and breathing, it will never just be static. It is always dynamic and growing.

But in any case, I hope you are gardening as well, and that you are enjoying the garden and all her beauty.

All of the photographs are my own, taken with my iPhone. The musings are also my own.

Happy gardening, stay safe!

Sort:  

It is great that you opened up the pathway. Of course it hurts the plants, but you still need to do it so you have a place to walk on. Yes nature makes them grow really faster than you think.

I will like to invite you to join the greentuesday tag trending on Threads. Just share a picture, idea or short story about that topic. It should be about something green. Your community mod @riverflows knows about this topic and would be happy to see you join it.

 last year  

Thank you so much my friend. Yes, cutting back is important and nature will regrow!

Thank you so much, I will check it out.

Your doing amazing work here on the garden! Would love to see some progress pictures and more of your story over on LeoThreads be sure to hash tag the hivegarden community as they do curation there as well!

 last year  

Thank you so much! I really appreciate it. Will check it out. Keep well!