New Goings On: Farm Journal, 2nd Week of January 2022

in HiveGarden2 years ago

We got a new rabbit last weekend. She's a Champagne D'argent, a French breed of meat rabbit that can reach 12 pounds in weight. That's a big rabbit. Farmer Sam said "I'm gonna name her Esther because she's beautiful and the Bible says Esther was beautiful." Sounds solid to me, and Esther will be part of the rabbit farm feeding my family and our community in about four months when she's good and grown. Esther came from a small farm nearby that's run by a Catholic family of eight. They live near my friend who's starting a small farm of his own, and near the farm where I've been working... The perfect people to form a relationship with. I paid up front for another doe that I'll pick up when they're of age, and I'll probably end up getting one of her sisters as well, they're chinchillas of good blood. The American chinchilla rabbit breed was developed through the great depression to feed families and communities efficiently, so I'm excited to bring that breed into my program, just as I am the d'argent breed.

IMG_20220103_145532078.jpg
New runnybabbit

With a gift card I received for Christmas, I decided to get some prime ark freedom blackberries, and they came in earlier this past week. These are a thornless, primocane fruiting blackberry developed through the University of Arkansas. They're doing amazing work with blackberries over there. I might like to visit them someday, that'd be a fun weekend trip.

IMG_20220104_053814437.jpg
New backblerries

IMG_20220104_085330350_HDR.jpg
Lotsa backblerries

Then yesterday I finally broke ground (and broke my last good shovel) on the blackberry planting! So, that one picture shows eight potted blackberries. They're still potted, funny enough, and I planted thirteen more plants in the first of two rows where the privets used to be. Glad to be making progress on that again.

I'm in a significant slump today. Part of my normal cycle that I should really start charting. In the pattern, I'll be absolutely ecstatic in a week or two, which will be great fun. It's an ebb and flow sometimes, and I'm learning to live with it. A couple weeks ago I had an evening of realization. I realized while developing a plan for the rabbits that I should be amazingly busy on this small farm if I managed it right and that I need to have less leisure in my life. Managing a small peach orchard, a medium blackberry patch, and a rabbitry that feeds three large families should be a fair bit of daily work. Such realizations come in waves and affect significant adjustments in my mindset. I like such changes in my life, as I feel they are the tangible work of God in my life, shaping me to be the church member He needs me to be in order to use the gifts He gave me to worship Him better.

I'm off to bed now, praying for good weather tomorrow.

Hope y'all had a good Lord's day.

Sort:  
 2 years ago  

I love the spirituality that threads through your daily life and enriches it. ❤️

It's really taken hold here lately. I'm constantly in awe of the grace I've been granted.

 2 years ago  

I am so glad. X

Oooohh... blackberries!! I'm propagating mulberries, which are lovely too, but definitely been a LONG time since I tasted a luscious, ripe, blackberry.

I transplanted ten mulberry trees into rows this fall! I love them for rabbit food, they grow so fast! In a few years they'll be old enough to fruit too, which is much excite.

 2 years ago  

It's berry season in Tas... Roadside raspberries, blackberries, boysenberries . Sooo good.

Cool you found such good meat rabbits. Good luck with the blackberries, says she who is looking at below 0F temps for the next couple days...

Subzero? Oh no. No thank you, we had plenty of that business last year, y'all can keep it. Some winter would be nice though, just not that much.

My son was given four rabbits, one male and three females, the person who gave them to me had too many and didn't want to eat them. They are so cute and they let themselves be touched and petted, I am afraid that I can't eat them either, I see them as pets.

It's a strange stigma to get over, but once you eat the first one, they all start to look yummy. I just picked up two new does today, one of which I just got successfully bred. So five pregnant does in the rabbitry right now.

Congratulations @foxfireorchards! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s):

You made more than 50 comments.
Your next target is to reach 100 comments.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Check out the last post from @hivebuzz:

Hive Power Up Month - Feedback from Day 7
Support the HiveBuzz project. Vote for our proposal!