You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Hungarian Yellow Wax Pepper Plant

in HiveGardenlast year

This plant produced a few before this, but I harvested them way too early.

I already harvested these two and ate them whole, they were slightly hotter than a jalapeno but not hot enough for my taste. I have quite a capsaicin addiction, and have heard that it's not an uncommon addiction, especially for addicts like me :D

What kind of pepper plants were you growing @owasco ? To get one pepper out of seven plants is unfortunate!
I am not sure why that would happen, but perhaps our climate is not the best, many of these hot pepper plants grow in warmer and/or more humid regions.

They're pretty finicky to work with overall in my limited experience, they drop leaves a lot and flowers just as much. Sometimes the flower drops can get a little frustrating.

Sort:  
 last year  

I think I may have planted in a bed that was too nutritious (solid cow manure), or so I have been told this might be the cause. They started off looking really good, but eventually the tops would turn brown and shrivel up. Flowers never developed into fruits. I had the same problem with eggplant, but tomatoes did fine. All three were planted in the same bed.

Poblano, lemon jalapeno, and orange bell peppers. Rosita eggplant. Such a bummer, but there's always next year.

I never heard that about pepper addiction. I know a few people who are addicted to kale, which I abhor. There are so many tasty greens in the world, why eat the one that tastes like wood?