First Garden Journal Wrap Up of 2024

in HiveGarden4 months ago

What a lovely start to the new year with some beautiful garden posts. I'm excited about this year in the Hive Garden, though I'll be travelling for most of it! If anyone fancies giving me a hand with the garden journal, I'd sure appreciate it!


image.png

@proto26 started his new year off planting beans and feeding his garden gnome chocolate. He offers some interesting tips about fertilising with eggshells and lime - don't miss his post to find out the details!

@owasco, in eyeing her winter garden, contemplates the labour of food growing:

Growing vegetables is closer to raising human beings than it is to growing flowers. Tons of time! Gobs of caring! Year round work!

Still, she's enjoying some winter stores whilst - dare I say it - feeling at least some satisfaction she's well on her food growing journey.

@multifacetas needs to move out of her place, so her garden will also be moved! Let's hope she gets a new place soon. @hiramdo was also moving plants - I think the first 'travelling' garden in the Hive Garden! @nill2021 showed us her sister's garden, including this lovely orchid!

image.png

Despite moving and not having as much direct sunlight, @dora381's efforts to grow vegetables was inspiring! Plus, I'm tempted to finally try pumpkin flowers and leaves - I always only think of eating the pumpkin itself! @travoved describes this time of year as the 'lazy' season as it's too cold and snowy to be in the outside garden - still, there's orchids and cactus to tend! @godslove123 showed us around his aunt's garden. I do like learning about the plants that aren't common where I am.

@mosupholstery walked us through the very intersting process of harvesting cassava and preparing it as a food.

image.png

Winners

This month the winners of 2 HIVE each are @dora381, @mosupholstery and @godslove123.

Thanks so much for your interesting, well presented and engaging posts. We'll see you all next month for the February challenge!

Happy Gardening!


image.png

We support gardening, homesteading, cannabis growers, permaculture and other garden related content. Delegations to the curation account, @gardenhive, are welcome!*

Sort:  
 4 months ago  

I think I could handle many of the tasks involved with this monthly contest. You post the challenge, and I'll do the curating (100% upvote, reblog, comment on all valid entries?) and wrap up post?

That will be nice. I know you can do it for sure

Congratulations to my fellow hive gardeners friends. I really amazed and appreciated on how you take cared your garden and what are the steps or methods of planting vegetables and crops. Thank @gardenhive for choosing my post.

Keep sharing your garden activities here everyone, well done and good job. 👍👏

Hello @gardenhive , I just want to ask if how we gain Garden hive badge? 😊

Wow this is amazing. Thanks you so much for selecting my post I really appreciate

I have not gotten the reward of 2hive?

 3 months ago  

Sorry about that. Sending now.