The Flicker Haven Farm Files-Late Spring Catch Up Scenes

in HiveGarden10 months ago


IMG_9741.jpg


Flicker Haven Farm Files page divider.png


My life for the past twenty-four hours could be described as Kat's Weeding Spectacular!

Yep, I have pulled an untold amount of weeds.

I mean, weeds are already amazing regarding their rapid growth manner, but the amount of weed growth that happened around here over the past two weeks while I have been convalescing has been incredible!

I mean, I am sure that the combination of record heat and humidity combined with longer daylight might have something to do with it, but holy wow!

So, even though I can't do a ton of heavy physical labor yet, I still can sit on my flintlocks and pull weeds.

And I did just that yesterday. For hours.

IMG_9739.jpg

I started my weeding adventure in the big sunflower row. It's 5'X150'. I seeded the bed before I succumbed to virus lung death-land, and thanks to the heat, moisture, and well-composted soil, many of the sunflowers are almost a foot tall.

A few days ago I transplanted half a dozen cucumber plants in between the growing mammoth sunflowers, and when I did I noticed the weeds had done a noble job trying to crowd out everything.

So, I spent an hour weeding that bed. Honestly, it felt great to be outside in the sun, and the cats, cowboy corgi, and bluebirds all kept me entertained while I worked.

IMG_9737.jpg

After the sunflower patch was weeded, I checked on my other recent transplants. The tomato plants are rooting very nicely, even though I need to get them fish and kelp emulsioned. Among other things.

IMG_9736.jpg

Speaking of emulsions, my dear friend sent me a link to an article about how to make Korean weed tea for garden fertilizing purposes. It was beyond an interesting read, I'll try to remember to link it later, but what struck me was how they picked the most vigorous weeds, chopped them up, mixed in a bit of brown or cane sugar, let it ferment for a week, strained, and then applied as a foliar feeding or root drench at a 500:1 ratio.

I've been doing something similar with comfrey tea for years, but the article has inspired me to branch out. I am not sorry for the pun.

Anyway, potential fertilizer experimentation plans aside, I will get back to my tale of weeds. We are super close to finishing the rose and fountain garden, but as I didn't get all the gravel on it, some pesky weeds had popped up in that space too.

So, I pulled them all.

Oh, and if you have any sort of dog who loves to fetch, it is this homesteader's recommendation that you don't throw your weeds into a pile next to you. Well, unless you like to be peppered with gravel from an over-enthusiastic weed-snatching pooch who just can't help herself from trying to catch EVERY SINGLE WEED!

Okay, it was kinda cute.

Speaking of things of cuteness, my dear neighbor got me a glorious hanging basket of the most beautiful purple petunias. Nothing beats sitting on one's deck after spending hours pulling weeds like sipping a glass of iced tea and inhaling the scent of a cascade of purple petunias.

IMG_9740.jpg

Yes, I randomly stare at them all day long. They are pretty.

And now my dear gardening friends, now I must go sow my corn seeds that have been soaking overnight. I can't believe it is already time for the first succession of corn to go into the ground.

I feel so behind...

At least I have a fresh salad to look forward to for lunch:

IMG_9734.jpg


Flicker Haven Farm Files page divider.png


And as most of the time, all of the images in this post were taken on the author's now in petunia scent iPhone. The text divider image was made in Canva.


Sort:  

I need to spend hours weeding here, but instead I've been spending hours at the Registry just trying to swap plates on my car...sigh...

Ugh, that sounds like no fun at all! Hope you got that straightened out. Been weeding and planting like a wild woman around here, slowly catching up, but now I’ve got two weeks of graduations and parties lol

Hope all is well 😊

!PIZZA

I planted corn two weeks ago, but only about 1/4 of it came up. So I just replanted today.

I hate it when that happens! Hopefully this reseed will germinate better for ya!

!PIZZA

PIZZA!

$PIZZA slices delivered:
generikat tipped goldenoakfarm
@generikat(2/15) tipped @scribblingramma