The Flicker Haven Farm Files-Pepper Sprouting Day!

in HiveGarden2 years ago

Sourdough.png

It often amazes me just how quickly winter passes. It seems like it was just the holidays and yet today when I woke up my face bloomed into an anticipatory smile, for it was the fifteenth of February, otherwise known as Pepper Sprouting Day!

We have a brutal growing season. Sometimes it's only a couple of months between frosts, so even though I have a greenhouse and I am well-versed in season extension techniques, I refuse to start my peppers before the middle of February. One of the lessons that gardening has taught me is to not start your plants too early.

IMG_4528.jpg
Notetaking and records are definitely a do when it comes to gardening, well, unless I like to be in state of negative waves all summer.

Trial and more often than not error lessons aside, Pepper Plant Sprouting Day always makes me happy, for it is like the official start of gardening season on the farm. Now, for years I have used a rather unconventional method for starting my peppers and tomatoes, I sprout the seeds on paper towels and then transplant them into cell containers under grow lights.

IMG_4529.jpg

There are a couple of reasons why I do this.

One, I am sorta frugal. Seed mats are expensive, as is running heaters of any kind, and both peppers and tomatoes require a high germination temperature followed by a more moderate growing temperature, and I hate paying for extra power to do that. It's expensive. One year, after a bunch of research and brainstorming, I got out a pie plate, some paper towels, plastic wrap, and a Sharpie. That right there is a recipe for danger in itself.

IMG_4530.jpg

I squished up a bunch of damp paper towels in the base of the pie plate, and then I dampened a half square of paper towel, folded it all origami like, and placed seeds in between the folds.

IMG_4532.jpg

Next, I put a bit of warm water in the pie pan, so that the lining paper towels would stay damp and I covered the seeds in the pie plate with plastic wrap. Then I threw the whole thing on top of my fridge, a place that stays nice and toasty, checking the dampness level of the sprouting seeds daily.

IMG_4533.jpg

Seven to ten days later, without fail I always have sprouts, most of the time with a 100% sprout rate, for that is the other reason why I sprout my tomatoes and peppers this way. Instead of preparing a massive amount of seed trays and trying to over compensate for lack of germination, with sprouting I start more seeds than I think I will need and transplant exactly how many plants I want.

Unconventional yes, but oh so satisfying and it works for me on a small homestead gardening scale.

IMG_4531.jpg

Production explanations aside, this year I am growing seven varieties of peppers/chiles, two of which are cultivars I have never grown before.

One of them is the fiery Bhut Jolokia, AKA the ghost pepper. I am excited for this one. A friend of mine is the finest smoker of meat and cheese products that I have ever encountered and one of my goals is to make him a pepper rub out of the ghost peppers. I also have a fondness for ghost pepper BBQ sauce. Heck, I have a hankering for ghost peppers period.

IMG_4538.jpg

The other variety that is new to my garden is the rainbow blend sweet pepper. I might have noshed a bags of them last summer, I love dipping sweet baby bell peppers in hummus for a summer snack, so it really does make sense that I grow my own. Plus, there are purple peppers in there, I am a sucker for anything purple.

IMG_4534.jpg

The other peppers that I started today were habanero, jalapeno, Anaheim, serrano, and cayenne. All of them have performed well for me in the past, especially the jalapenos and the Anaheims. One year I had to roast an entire laundry basket of Anaheims. I wasn't sad about it either.

IMG_4535.jpg

In less than fifteen minutes I had fifty sprouts doing their sprout thing and my spring is coming smile increased as I placed the pie plate of future pepper plants on top of my fridge. So great was my elation that as I sat down to enjoy a cup of rooibos and rose tea that I found myself playing with the cats.

IMG_4541.jpg

A couple of my heathen felines must have sensed my good mood and came in to see what was the matter. Dogcat and Yaga both sat at my feet and stared at me in their insolent cat way. Next to the stove is a paper bag of wood shavings we use to start fires, I took out the longest curly one in the bag and began taunting, er, I mean playing with the cats while waiting for my tea to cool to sipping temperature. If only all garden chores could be so easy😉.

IMG_4544.jpg

And be sure to drop by my blog next week or so if you are curious to see how I transplant my little pepper plants. The process is a touch surgical in nature and involves a pencil, which for some reason still tickles me greatly even after all of these years using the method of plant starting and transplanting.


And as most of the time, all of the images in this post were taken on the author's not yet covered in soil and fertilizer scent iPhone. The cover image was edited in Canva.

Sort:  

Beautiful gardening ideas 😊 for me I like made Tabasco pepper it's nice with hot sauce thank you for sharing

Thank you! And oh do I love me some Tabasco peppers, they have a lovely heat profile! Thanks for stopping by:)!

Awesome grow journal! You ever thought about growing cannabis?

Thanks! And I have thought about growing that very lovely plant, a lot actually! I've learned a lot of awesome growing tips over the years from the cannabis community, you all rock!😊

I never success to gardening chili or cayenne pepper, my mom said, gambling is more effective than gardening chili 😂

I love that😆! They are a bit fussy at times and like certain conditions, but I love them so much that it's worth it to go throw all the extra effort to grow. Your mom sounds like a fun lady lol!


Thank you for sharing this great #cannabis, #gardening, #gaming content, You have been manually Upvoted by @skylinebuds, Feel free to come share all your gardening content in the hivegarden Community

You can hang out Cannabis & Crypto Garden and Share and Talk #cannabis,#gardening, #strain-reviews, #growing, #crypto, #play2earn, and So much more

You can use THIS POST to learn how to format your post even better, if you don't know markdown it is a great read

!PIZZA

Thank you so much!

!PIZZA right back at ya!

 2 years ago  

I love your sprouting technique, I am going to try it the next time I am going to plant peppers. Good evening!

Thank you so much! I have used this technique for peppers and tomatoes for over ten years now with great success, I hope it works for you and I hope you had a great evening.:)

How nice to get a start on gardening in February! I look forward to subsequent posts and pictures about your peppery progress.

It felt so nice to get cracking on it, and today it is so glorious outside. Of course we'll probably get a bit more winter, but it definitely is starting to feel like we are heading into Spring!

PIZZA! PIZZA!

PIZZA Holders sent $PIZZA tips in this post's comments:
skylinebuds-weed tipped generikat (x1)
@generikat(1/10) tipped @skylinebuds-weed (x1)

You can now send $PIZZA tips in Discord via tip.cc!