You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Getting close to planting time for these seed trays

in HiveGarden16 days ago

Most taproot plants absolutely hating transplanted. They do far better direct seeded. It looks like the seedlings by and large would benefit from having the light a good bit closer…

I did wonder how things would do in wood chips and hay. Generally plants need the biology found in soil to be healthy.

Sort:  

Ah okay, well I will keep that in mind for next season. If I still have some seeds left I may try planting them now, but I may have used them all up. The lights are just a few inches away from the seedlings. I think any closer they may get burned.

Well this year I am not just using wood chips and hay. Each spot I put a plant, I scoop out a hole in the wood chips and hay and add a shovel full of garden soil. Then I place the plant on top and fill it in with more garden soil. Then cover with the wood chips and hay. So I hope this year they do better.