My Happiness in My Balcony Garden

in HiveGarden2 years ago (edited)

I picked up a new hobby in October last year and that was like 4 months ago. I chose some seeds to grow at my balcony. I spent some money to kickstart in a simpler way, buying some soil and pots, some seeds and a fertilizer made of coffee. My balcony has really limited space and I also still want to sun my clothes to dry at the balcony where where is lots of sunlight here in Malaysia, hence I try to make do with just a portion of the balcony.

So I am a newbie in gardening and I only wanted to give it a shot after seeing an acquaintance growing cherry tomatoes at his balcony. So glad I took this little leap.

Fast forward 4 months today, I yet to harvest any fruits from my fruit trees but I am so happy to see them grow like they are my babies. I have harvest some leafy plants and am looking forward to harvest some fruits soon. A friend of mine who was fascinated told me I can start with fine dining with my one or two fruits hahahhaa.

Here is my first fruit from my pepper plant which I grew from seeds of assorted colours peppers. It is kind of thrilling because I have been waiting to see what colour is my pepper. Now I know it is a red little lady!!! It takes quite a long time to grow from a small little cutie friend to now changing colour and continues to increase in size.

img_0.05486118548659611.jpg

Next is my cherry tomatoes plants which I grow in 3 different pots. Today, I happily took photos of them to count them. Now I am having 12 of them, yay!!! They look really cute and yet to ripe. I am waiting for them to change colour as well.

img_0.7433603110782587.jpg

img_0.8436382172782233.jpg

img_0.46473188707131746.jpg

img_0.25915125691854834.jpg

img_0.092504541704127.jpg

img_0.3219601693240285.jpg

Now, let's look at my Dwarf Bok Choy which is at its 2.0 version. Why 2.0 version? Because I have harvested it once and then something happened to it. I thought it has died on me and was ready to remove the soil and restart again.To my surprise, it regrows! Kudos, Bok Choy! I will continue to care for you so long you decide to grow.

img_0.8456171974946217.jpg

This is my mint plant which also has been harvested many times too. It is my easiest plant to grow.

img_0.3890616735990464.jpg

Coming up next is my new attempt with a Pandan plant. Not sure if it can survive but 3 other pandan saplings that camr together died. Bless you Pandan!

img_0.7480104594881439.jpg

Finally, it is my sweet basil which I have harvest a number of rounds too. It is really fragrant and I love to see it grow. Everytime after I harvest it for cooking, I replant its stems so now it has branched out to the second pot!!!

img_0.8295816396698548.jpg

I have also celery which is growing in progress and also spring onion growing from shallots which I forgot to take photo of. This is really my little space of joy. Every morning, I go out to water them and greet them. Today finally I have some extra time to prune my tomato plant and remove some bad leaves. Now I understand better why pruning is needed for better advancement. Same goes to being humans.

img_0.9961252849211814.jpg

Thank you for reading about my little humble garden today. See you again soon!

Sort:  

Woww, that's a beauty in your balcony garden. Awaiting more such posts from you. Felt peaceful and positive! 🙏😊

Wow these are such encouraging words! Thank you 😁

 2 years ago  

Those crops can definitely make you happy. You just reminded me to play bok choy. Greetings from the Philippines!

hahaha thank you for dropping by and yes plant the bok choy! :)

 2 years ago  

You're welcome (^_^)

Wow - such a great little harden. And on a balcony! So fun to see the fruits of one's efforts. Great job!

Love your quote about pruning; humans, too, indeed!

Thanks for sharing your post!

Cheers!

thank you @braveboat on your kind words!

All your plants look beautiful, I loved seeing that paprika, it looks very provocative.

hahaha me too love that the most!!! :)