Garden Journal November 2023 - Slow and Steady but Getting There

in HiveGarden7 months ago

Greetings from North west, South Africa!


This will be my second year of actively gardening, so far, it seems like everything is growing slowly, almost lazily, if I were to compare it to the previous year.
It is a strange thing, a garden. Things are always dying, coming back to life or randomly appearing out of nowhere. I find it truly fascinating, but let me not ramble on about all that too much. Here is a look at how things are progressing this month:

The Calla Lily has done a pretty decent amount of growing, looking much better and healthier than it did the previous month.

...While the lavender seems to have slowed down quite a bit, I suspect the big one needs some trimming and a bunch of nutrients. I might do a post on how to make those at home soon, if I can find the time and resources.

The Taro/ Elephant's Ear has shown significant improvement and growth and will soon need repotting, I'm very grateful that it managed to pull through after the hail damage and leaf rot that we had to deal with a few weeks ago.

Another thing I leant about gardening this month, is that strawberry plants produce runners, and when it happens, it happens fast! Looks like another trip to the nursery is in order, as I am once again out of free plant containers and potting soil.

The vegetable garden, is also coming along nicely, just a bit slower than I would have liked, but that ight just be my own lack of patience at play again. It just needs a decent session of weeding, now that it has finally stopped raining.

I am quite happy with the basil, which is starting to finally look like it wants to survive. Had some doubts about it for a while.

The carrots are also coming along nicely, I am hoping to use them to make some carrot cake once they are ready.

I suspect either insects attacking the lettuce and spinach, or possibly the cat, once again sitting on my plants when I'm not looking. Good thing he's cute, the bugger.

Both the chili and green pepper plants are also finally starting to take off and grow a little bit better.

The String-of-Pearls is also slowly but surely recovering after almost succumbing to the heat wave that hit a few weeks ago. It is one of my favourite plants in the garden, so I am quite happy that it might be okay.

The Mc Kana Giants have finally sprouted! So very excited to have them become part of the garden later this year.

This will be my next garden DIY project! I plan on covering up the baby bath with little stones using tiling adhesive and grout left over from when we did bathroom renovations. As I have absolutely no idea what I am doing, it should be a very interesting and fun project.

I am also hoping to do something about this space by my front door, once I figure out how to get my fattest cat to stop sitting on top of everything and anything I plants there...

Well, that's it for this month! Till next time!

Credit : All photos are my own taken using Samsung A33 mobile phone
Footer banner created on Adobe Express

Sort:  

The vegetable garden will do better soon.
Wow. You just showcased the true nature of a real Gardener.

😀 Thank you! I just really enjoy growing things. Have a great day!

This is a grear start for only your second year of gardening! I hope you ate enjoying it and that there are many abundant harvests in your future.

Thank you for the kind words! Have a lovely day 😀

Congratulations @hellsveiah! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain And have been rewarded with New badge(s)

You received more than 1500 upvotes.
Your next target is to reach 1750 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Check out our last posts:

LEO Power Up Day - November 15, 2023

Your plants look great. The strawberries are so rewarding, I just had a few ripen up that I harvested - they didn't last long though 😁

Snails! Watch for snails on your lettuce - they can devour a plant down to nothing in a matter of hours, especially young plants. I am in a long-standing war with snails currently. And freaking green inch worms eating my mint plants!

I'm keen to see what that baby bath will look like!

Thanks! Can't wait to get to harvest some strawberries, only had the one so far 😆

Good tip, thanks, I'll watch out for snails! Might be time for me to mix up some insect repellent again.
Hope you manage to get rid of the worms on your mint soon 😀

Strawberries! 😍 They are the best when we grow them by themselves 😌

Oh no, the cat is maybe destroying the lettuce? hahaha

They are! 😀
Yes, that cat is a real menace, he's always sitting on the plants. 😅

haha, he finds it soft. Like a cushion :D

Ha! I was going to comment on the strawberries also. Those are some very healthy looking strawberry plants!

Banana water twice a month! They seem to love it 😀 Hoping to have a lot more strawberry plants before the end of the season. Thanks for the comment. 🙂

I have never heard of using banana water! Good to know... especially since I love strawberries so much.

You are quite welcome! 🤠