Propagating Strawberries from Runners - Easy Garden Projects to Try

in HiveGarden7 months ago

Greetings from North west, South Africa!

There is something very humbling about gardening, especially if you are trying to get into growing your own fruits and vegetables. It seems like there is always something new and interesting to learn.
This week, I had to learn just what to do with the runners growing on my strawberry plant, which has been growing surprisingly well. It is quite nice actually, as my fist attempt at growing strawberries ended pretty sadly when a surprise heat wave killed my tiny strawberry plant.
Now, if this works out well enough, I will have 3 or 4 strawberry plants, very exciting!

To Grow Strawberry Plants from Runners:

Equipment Needed:

  • Bobby pins (Only one needed for each new plant)
  • Containers filled with potting soil for each new plant
  • Healthy strawberry plant with runners

The entire project should cost well under R100 (almost $5), depending on which containers you choose to use for the new plants.

It should also take only a few minutes, making it a perfect project for when you want to do some stuff in the garden but have limited energy or time available.

Slightly bend bobby pins, as shown. These will be used to hold the plants in place while they grow roots.

Place runner, still attached to main plant, in container with potting soil and pin down, using bobby pin, as shown above. Cover with with a tiny bit of potting soil.

Repeat process as many times as necessary. Try not to have more than four runners growing from a single plant, as it puts a bit of a strain on the main plant.

Do not cut the runners from the main plant! This can only be done after the new plants have fully rooted, which should take a few weeks.
I will be posting on the progress of my own new plants in a few weeks, once they start to show some signs of growing and rooting. Let's hope they survive!

Bonus cute cat photo! Because lovely little bugger, Floki, decided to keep me company in the garden.

Till next time! Happy Growing!

Credits : All photos are my own, taken using Samsung A33 mobile camera
Banner created using Adobe Express

Sort:  

The highlight of this post, for me, is the cat photo. 😍😍😍 I'm an ailurophile.

Looking forward to seeing those strawberry plants flourish.

Kudos!

Glad you liked it! He's the sweetest cat!
Thanks for reading and commenting, have a great day! 😀

Your project seems pretty easy to do. Hope it grows into a beautiful plant with nice fruits

Thank you! Have a great day! 😀

 7 months ago  

I know this technique but have never used it. My dad is using it with vine and it's a good one. I hope you get some yummy strawberries :) 🍓

Thanks! Hopefully it works 😀 have a great day!

I would like to make the attempt in my country with a tropical climate.

Try it! 😀 The climate in this part of the country is almost sub tropical, so it should work.

The strawberries turned out so well, I also have a series of gourmet ones to transplant in the hope that they will survive the winter.

😀 Thanks! Hope your strawberry plants also grow well and have loads of fruit too harvest. 😊 Fruit from your own garden always tastes the best.

Now it's winter we have to wait 6 months before we can eat it again. So of course it resists the winter frost

@hellsveiah greetings from snowy Siberia.
Imagine, a hundred kilometers from me there is a village whose residents make money by growing strawberries. I have friends who live there and every summer we go to them to buy this wonderful berry.

This is what the entrance to this village looks like in summer

This is what the entrance to this village looks like now)))

@irvet, oh wow that's so great 😀 it looks amazing there, must be so much fun, getting to go there when there are many strawberries, all ripe and ready to eat! Thank you so much for sharing this, it looks lovely, even with all the snow. You're definitely making me want to visit Siberia someday. 😀

👍 ❤️ Upvoted ❤️ 👍

CommunityCuratorAuthorUpvoted By Hive Witness
@HiveGarden@bhattg@hellsveiahsagarkothari88
HiveGarden@bhattg@hellsveiahsagarkothari88

Empowering HiveGarden

Upvote This Comment

  • Upvote this comment
  • Rewards from upvotes on this comment will go to beneficiaries @HiveGarden, @hellsveiah, bhattg

Please 🙇‍♂️ Support Me Back 🙏 - Vote for me

 7 months ago  

ah the good ole hair pin.. lol..

dancing family we have heaps of these lol. Or stockings for tying up the tomatos.

:-)

Hey @blingit

I upvote contents, just like I've upvoted your post 🎉, to motivate content-creators 😇

By supporting many communities 🤝 by upvotes 👍 & distributing Hive Power as Gift 🎁, I help them to grow 💝 on Hive.

Don't forget to Support me back by clicking here & vote me as witness

image

Haven't heard of stockings for tomatoes before 😅 but will give it a try once I can clear some space for a few tomato plants. 😀

Thank you! 😊

@hellsveiah

You are welcome.

I'll keep up the good work & keep motivating content creators

  • by distributing HivePower
  • by upvoting the content
  • by adding them beneficiaries
  • by supporting curators

I'll continue helping communities to grow.

image

Congratulations @hellsveiah! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain And have been rewarded with New badge(s)

You received more than 2000 upvotes.
Your next target is to reach 2250 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP