Itsy-Bitsy Surprises in the Yard

in HiveGardenlast month (edited)


It's the start of the rainy season in our region and things are getting quite interesting outside the house. The plants are becoming more lush and colors are also popping out. I took out the garbage in the afternoon when I noticed something interesting so I rushed inside and came out with a phone in my hand.

It's been a while since I last saw one and I didn't want to miss documenting it like I often do whenever we have yard guests. It was hanging onto the tiny branch of one of the roses that the husband had regrown sometime last year.

Yep, a Praying Mantis!


It was not easy to take photos of it. I was being careful not to touch it so it won't go anywhere else but I failed. It may have felt my presence it moved from one plant to another. I was just thankful it was not moving fast so I was able to follow it and took a few more shots.

I enjoyed the little chase and noticed another surprise peeking through. A tiny bud that is about to open up.

It is so small that my pinkie finger looks bigger.😅 Of course, I was happy to see it bringing out some coolness in our front yard albeit kind of prematurely.


Apart from that, there are other flowers which are blooming as well - like the Euphorbia plants (Crown of Thorns), one of the bromeliads and even the money tree that my sister has given to us when we moved here.

Then there were some tomatoes, the only edible stuff that we have grown earlier this year and they are still very young. They won't be producing fruits until after a few more months.


So yeah, our veggie needs for the kitchen table are from the market, unlike some years ago when most were freshly-picked from our yard gardens. The zucchini that I shared about before has somehow succumbed to whatever disease it had and died.

A few days ago, the husband and I were discussing about growing some red lettuce, beans, pepper and others in the backyard. The plots there are still empty and had grown weeds and grasses so it needs clearing. We knew we had been slacking in the previous year and it's about time we get back to the habit of growing some food.

I was quite excited and requested the hubby to spare some time soon and mow the grass plus redo the plots. Unfortunately, he won't be able to do so until after next week. Until then, I will have to wait.

Lastly, let me share these wild berries which some people call refer to as orange raspberries.


The hubby photographed them a few days ago while cleaning the farthest end of the yard, but he only showed them to me this evening. I could have picked and used them as toppings on the graham cake I made early in the day.😅

Anyway, this is my garden update which also coincides with the Day 2 topic on the MayInLeo initiative. Thank you and have a wonderful time!


All photos are my own (and the hubby's) captures. 02052024/20:10ph

Posted Using InLeo Alpha

Sort:  

Those berries look interesting! I've never seen orange ones like that before. I bet they're delicious!

Always love seeing wee bitty visitors like that, too. I remember one year finding the tiniest praying mantis I've ever seen in some of my seedlings. You got some great shots!

I have a similar permanent little friend on my "ink garden" if you will. ;)

20240503_165713.jpg

They are quite sweet :)

And whoa, your ink garden is so cool and beautiful! Look at that lovely friend! I wonder how long it took for the artist to get the whole work done.

That arm has about 10 hours of work into it so far I believe. Not counting the time it took her to design of course, just sitting time for me in the tattoo chair. My other quarter sleeve of fruits and veggies took 5 hours, but I'll go back for a touchup in a few weeks! Not bad for a lifetime of enjoyment in my opinion, and plenty more room to add on in the future if I choose. :)

 29 days ago  

A nice post and a nice, wonderful Garden. the name matches you @afarmgirl. Is it monsoon there? A hug :)

Thank you❤

It's not monsoon yet (usually around June), just the usual rains, sometimes with hailstones :)

🎉 Upvoted 🎉
👏 Keep Up the good work on Hive ♦️ 👏
❤️ @bhattg suggested sagarkothari88 to upvote your post ❤️

Thank you lots

@ifarmgirl, you are most welcome!

These are amazing shots you got here, you have no idea how much I smile while reading this, thanks for sharing.

Thanks, !LADY😍 I'm glad it made you smile😊

View or trade LOH tokens.


@ifarmgirl, you successfully shared 0.1000 LOH with @amiegeoffrey and you earned 0.1000 LOH as tips. (1/25 calls)

Use !LADY command to share LOH! More details available in this post.

 last month  

The flowers are beautiful!

I hope you'll get the chance to grow some food too :)

Thank you. I'm hoping to start sooner :)

What a beautiful garden, the mantis is a very particular insect with an interesting behavior haha you managed to take good pictures of it even though it wanted to run away, you can appreciate its beauty quite well ❤️

The cocoon is divine, how tiny it is haha 😍

Somehow, it was moving slowly so had some shots of it. Thank you. The rose bud was so tiny, not even 1/4 inch😁

!PIZZA

You too clean your yard😀 I did mind on Saturday. Those lovely flowers you have over are beautiful. For that insect, I won't even stand near it (😡 maybe I'm timid)

The garden needs a lot more cleaning but thank you😁

The insect is harmless so it was okay hehe.

!LADY

View or trade LOH tokens.


@ifarmgirl, you successfully shared 0.1000 LOH with @christybliss and you earned 0.1000 LOH as tips. (2/25 calls)

Use !LADY command to share LOH! More details available in this post.

Hahaha the preying mantis prayed to run away from your camera but you still managed to take so me amazing shots. Your garden has some beautiful plants too.

Haha, yeah. They were nice, thanks.😍

!PIZZA

Thankfully enough, you were able to capture the praying mantis because they are very good in jumping fast. I love how your garden is full with various plants

It seems to like having its photos captured😁 Thank you. There are lots of plants outside, we just need to give them attention😊

!LADY

View or trade LOH tokens.


@ifarmgirl, you successfully shared 0.1000 LOH with @annievictory and you earned 0.1000 LOH as tips. (3/25 calls)

Use !LADY command to share LOH! More details available in this post.

Growing stuff on your own Is very time consuming and a big effort too

That's true, but can be satisfying too :)

Sometimes I wonder how you get to know the name of those flowers
Did you ever study them?

There's an app called Google Lens that helps me identify some that I do not know.

!LADY

View or trade LOH tokens.


@ifarmgirl, you successfully shared 0.1000 LOH with @rafzat and you earned 0.1000 LOH as tips. (4/25 calls)

Use !LADY command to share LOH! More details available in this post.

The start of the rainy season is always time for a burst of colours and your garden is beautifully coloured, especially the rose.

Yeah, the
rain nourishes the greens :) Thank you. Hope to have more of them to bloom.

!LADY

View or trade LOH tokens.


@ifarmgirl, you successfully shared 0.1000 LOH with @edith-4angelseu and you earned 0.1000 LOH as tips. (5/25 calls)

Use !LADY command to share LOH! More details available in this post.

I really love how you capture those plant the love beautiful and I love it. Thanks for sharing this garden with me.

Thank you too for your kind remarks. I appreciate it.

The garden of yours is a ppop of colours and that's beautiful. The rains have barely fallen around here and although there teeny-weeny buds of plants springing up sparsely,there's not so much to behold.

Thank you. The plants will thrive after a while and you will get to enjoy them :)

Wow that looks rare😍

Thanks😉

!PIZZA

Thank so much dear I love Pizza alot

Congratulations @ifarmgirl! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain And have been rewarded with New badge(s)

You distributed more than 27000 upvotes.
Your next target is to reach 28000 upvotes.
You got more than 39500 replies.
Your next target is to reach 40000 replies.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Check out our last posts:

Feedback from the May Hive Power Up Day
Hive Power Up Month Challenge - April 2024 Winners List
Hive Power Up Day - May 1st 2024

PIZZA!

$PIZZA slices delivered:
ifarmgirl tipped elbuhito
@ifarmgirl(3/5) tipped @rimamty
ifarmgirl tipped theringmaster

Wow, beautiful, these roses are looing fresh, can be gifted to loved ones when grown up properly.

Thank you. And come to think of it, I don't cut the blooms off my garden hehe. I like to enjoy them where they are. But yes, a pot of it could be gifted to others.

 27 days ago  

Adobe_Express_20220810_0933420_1.png

You've been curated by @gardenhive on behalf of the HIVE GARDEN COMMUNITY! We support gardening, homesteading, cannabis growers, permaculture and other garden related content. Delegations to the curation account, @gardenhive, are welcome!