October Suprise!

in HiveGarden7 months ago

image.png

Hey fellow Hivers! Long time no see. It has been a whole month since my last update. I've just been taking a little step back from online activities, minus curation via @canna-curate in the cannabis community. But I have been very busy with other stuff, with one of them being the garden. October is here, and this is our favorite month. This one is very special because I have brought the Pumpkin Patch to us. Even though a visit is planned very soon:)


This actually happened a few weeks ago. My boys where pretty excited to cut their own Pumpkins. If you see the pic on the top right, Isaiah actually cut the whole plant on his first attempt. But that is ok, because that vine was a a dud.

Which made for a perfect Pumpkin for Ezra, who is going to turn 1 Yo on the 20th!

Here is Jonah with his Pumpkin. Don't let his face fool you, he is just bad at taking pictures, lol!


I even harvested some Serrano's a few weeks ago. Besides that I also laid down some mulch.


I did some work at someones house, and thought the trimmings of the bush I cut would make perfect mulch. So I loaded it up, and brought it to my garden. I should of done something like this from the start!


Above is a pic right before we cut the Pumpkins, and the one on the right is a current one. As you can see there has been some decent growth. Some of my flowers have died, but there is so much more on the way. It should make for a pretty November. At least I hope.

The Glass Corn are starting to show some Ears. These wont get as tall as my last ones, but it does look I will have more of a harvest compared to last years.


I've been battling Aphids. It really seems the Ants love to farm them on Corn plants. OVerall they seem to have not done to much damage. Although I recall last year a bad case of mold inside some of the Ears from Aphid farms. Something that I have made sure to try to keep in check this year.

There has been 1 more Pumpkin that grew on one of the older vines. This one will be mine, ;) Sorry kids, but Dad gets the best looking one. HAHA


But a cool thing is I have more Pumpkins on the way! These are from the Compost. I didn't even know they where there. I put a full heaps of compost on the base of the plants, and then a few weeks later these showed up.


Above is where the Dud was growing, but from the Compost there are 2 to replace it!


Then check out this one that grew from the Compost that I threw on the tomato plant. I know it probably isn't in the best spot, but it looks so good I am going to let it do its thing.


Then above are the extra Pumpkins I had in Solos, and decided to plant outside of the garden. These are looking so good, and are spitting out lots of Pumpkins. Now I am not that hopefully for these because they are not doing super great. They keep rotting off. But some are still going, and it is funny because they look like they will be mini Pumpkins. So weird because they are the same exact Pumpkins as the ones my boys cut. Maybe these are the real duds?


Speaking of duds, this Yellow Watermelon just isn't what I hoped for. I have had such a hard time with these. It does look cute thought doesn't it?

The Tomatoes are starting to ripen up. I am so glad I put these in cages, there starting to go crazy.


Then we got the Serrano's still going strong. PUtting them into better soil this year was a good call. Peppers just do not like the soil I have here. It is truly some shitty stuff.


Last but not least is the Fresno Chili. This is a weird pepper, look how the chilis grow upside down! This one isn't doing the greatest, but only because I got this start at Home Depot, and it was already fruiting when I bought it. The Chilis sure do look tasty though!

Actually I almost forgot about the Carrot! Or maybe a Pokemon?......


Gotta catch them all!


image.png

Sort:  

Awesome update bro!
It's great to see the little one's pumpkin picking in dad's pumpkin patch! They looked super happy and proud with their picks!
I think pepper plants love you a lot. They grow real nicely in your care, and I about died laughing at the "Gotta Catch Them All" carrot, nice one 😂

Yeah it was cool, and funny of the fact I say go pick out your Pumpkin! Like Dad there is literally only 3 of us and 4 Pumpkins haha

A good variety with the harvest, nice looking peppers, tomatoes, watermelons, and pumpkins, fun for the family too :)

gracious amigo!

That's a good looking garden there!

Thanks Amber!

You are welcome back and I'm sure that so many people miss you
Also, the plants look good. They are looking healthy

Illl go make sone rounds on some non cannabis posts today :)

What a great harvest. I love how your kids enjoy your garden harvest and that's how my kids too. Every crop looks amazing but I found your carrots look weird.😁

Please greet little Ezra for me in advance "Happy Birthday" @jonyoudyer .🎂🎉

It's hard to see yellow pumpkin in my vicinity. What we have here is just green pumpkin.

The tomatoes are going crazy with lots of fruits. Wow. Wishing you great harvest in advance.

Please, I have special invitation and information for you.

Please, have you heard about the hive Zealy campaign from inleo(leofinance) community, where you can easily win $250 or $350 per month from now go reach December? Please you can join the campaign through this link. And don't forget to join through your discord account.

https://zealy.io/c/hive/invite/xwR3y9yiJew2doqkYwilQ

Do well to join.

Thank you! And I have not heard of the campaign. I’ll check it out, thanks for the tip:)

Please if you can do it now, I will appreciate you the most. It started yesterday. Let's win together. Also, the invitation link may expire at any given time. Let me also resend

https://zealy.io/c/hive/invite/xwR3y9yiJew2doqkYwilQ

You have cute boys there sir and they seem to enjoy their pumpkins. 😊

I like the sweetcorn and the peppers bearing plenty of fruit!

Thank you so much! And the peppers are also tasty ;)

Wow, those serrano's look really good. They are usually a bit too hot for me, but I like the way they look. I am kind of a wuss and can't handle much more than a jalapeno. Farmers are starting to cut down their fields here as we get ready for winter. There won't be much corn left soon.

They can be very spicy! My wife likes them more than me. But I do like a little heat here and there. I love habanero, but the heat does limit my intake.

Also it is crazy to think it is starting to get cold in certain areas, the past week we were hitting 90-100 degrees! But it will gradually get cooler. I should be able to finish everything I have, and even get a second harvest on a few. But it would be pushing it .

Wow, that is impressive. We had to turn our heat on the other day. It got down near 50 degrees in the house. It's been in the 40's outside. I wouldn't even attempt a habanero. I wish I wasn't such a light weight, but my stomach is pretty sensitive.

Congratulations @jonyoudyer! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain And have been rewarded with New badge(s)

You got more than 8250 replies.
Your next target is to reach 8500 replies.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Hope You're Safe & Sound Bro... Big Hug from France!