A Baby Melon Is Born!

in HiveGardenlast year

image.png
Hey everyone! So a lot has happened since my last update. One being the birth of my 3rd son, which happened on Oct 20th, and in the garden some birth of baby Yellow Watermelons! You can see above it is a furry little thing. Things are progressing. Especially with the warm days we have been having. Not so sure how things will turn since the nights have been getting in the high 40's. But that is what I am doing, seeing what boundary's, if any I can push in my part of the world.

My baby boy caught smiling at 6 days old! Been keeping us busy, but so worth it. I was a little worried being away from the garden all week. Thankfully I laid those corn husks as mulch.


Source

On the day before we left to the hospital is reached 92 degrees! So I made sure to water the garden thoroughly, and laid a few more husks, and through more dirt to hold them down in place. I knew there was a chance he was coming. Glad I did, because it was still warm through the weekend.

The Squash must love this Fall weather. It is loving life. After not seeing it, and then walking up on it, it is creeping up, and down the lot.

Although now it is starting to focus it's energy into making fruit. I thought last week it was doing that, but this week there are a lot of fruit sites.

Maybe even more sites then when this was growing in the Summer! But since this is a cut back plant, that regrew it is most likely due the root system being more complex, and deep.


The Yellow Watermelon's are not as big, but little fruits are showing them selves. Which I think will de a decent amount if they manage to fully ripen.


That's the Squash that grew out of the compost right next to one of the Yellow Watermelons

Both are about the same exact size. Growing at a good pace. Last week when I watered I hit them with some Fish Fertilizer, then of course there is a good amount of compost underneath the corn mulch.

The Squash that was dormant in the compost pile is growing just as fast as anything else! I even see some little fruits emerging.


The Habanero is still performing well, churning out peppers here, and there. With more on the way.


The 2 Glass Gem Corn seedlings still alive, but not sure for how much longer with these cold nights.


I think its safe to say the Pumpkins are out of the seedling stage, and I do not think the cold nights will effect them much, besides perhaps production of actual melons. One seemed to get burnt from the heat last week, or maybe something else is going on here? What are your thoughts?


This one is rocking, and I might go ahead, and transplant by the end of the week

I finally got the composter setup! This thing is really cool, and cant wait to start putting material in it to compare it to my homemade system.


It has 2 compartments. One for cooking, and then an extra one to add new material in while the other side is doing its thing.


There are small holes here, and there. Then each side has this adjustable latch for adequate airflow.

I have a pile in my homemade system cooking, and I will use this to compare. Perhaps I can send some samples of each to @dynamicgreentk for him to practice what he has learned, and to let me know which is superior. Or maybe to tell me what I need to add, or not add to make some good quality compost. Should make for a fun learning experience for us all here on Hive Blockchain, and to show how close connected the community really is. That's it for now, hopefully by next update I have some bigger melons for you all. Thanks for stopping by:)


image.png

Sort:  


The rewards earned on this comment will go directly to the people( @canna-curate ) sharing the post on Twitter as long as they are registered with @poshtoken. Sign up at https://hiveposh.com.

Thank you for sharing this post on HIVE!

Your content got selected by our fellow curator tibfox & you received a little thank you upvote from our non-profit curation initiative. Your post will be featured in one of our recurring curation compilations which is aiming to offer you a stage to widen your audience within the DIY scene of Hive.

Next time make sure to post / cross-post your creation within the DIYHub community on HIVE and you will receive a higher upvote!

Stay creative & hive on!

Cool! Thanks

Hearty Congrats mate! 🍻 ❤

O my God ! Your little cute baby is looking so cute while smiling awww cuties

Thank you!

Congrats again on the baby boy. My wife and I are so baby hungry right now.

Thank you so much bro! I keep teasing my wife we might as well have 4 kids, lol

61031DA5-C32E-4024-9C34-C6E9F985EDA1.jpeg

Here is another pic to peer pressure you two;)

He's so adorable 😍

Congratulations on the baby dude! I will say hello to sleep for ya

untitled.gif

I have been so busy trimming and going back to work that I have not had time to microscope my compost piles. Normally, a test cost around 150 bucks but for you I will do it for free. Next week I am testing the compost here. You just need to overnight the samples. When you are ready I can send the sample protocol to ya and address.

The compost when you are done will be 100x better if it is used as a base for earthworms or to top dress for existing pile if under 90 degrees. The finished product should have a lot more diversity and fungi.

Why not send a soil sample from you indoor garden. You recycle soil right?

https://docs.google.com/document/d/1a2DqRSAC9I9PlAMccmI_otS5BR5CQwOzj50DR8Mp5vU/edit

untitled.gif

Lol! Luckily the sleep hasn’t been the worse, not true for my wife though. And sounds good, compost should be ready long after your done trimming. Definitely don’t want to pressure you and put more on your plate that isn’t necessary. Thanks again dude!

There is quite a bit to trim... But no sweat man. When you wanna send some soil or compost my way I can test it

Congratulations on your new family member, he's super cute with that smile on his face.

Your watermelon looks nice too. You're doing great 💙

Thank you!

My pleasure 😊

Happy Days Brother... sending you lots of light & love. Awesome to hear your good news, congrats!!!


btw - i guess there is some update needed on your profile. 😁

image.png

You know it may be time I fix that lol

untitled.gif father of three bro... 😁

Ha, what a beauty... :smirk:

I thought at first you meant picture! lol

Congrats on the baby boy! Such a blessing! Plants are looking great too!

Your content has been voted as a part of Encouragement program. Keep up the good work!

Use Ecency daily to boost your growth on platform!

Support Ecency
Vote for new Proposal
Delegate HP and earn more

I had one of those composters.. not a fan. Congrats on the new crumb-snatcher lol

Thanks man! Someone actually gave it to us for free. So figured it's with a shot. One thing I don't like already it is limits how much you can put in

At least the price is right..

untitled.gif

That’s exactly what I did when that lady choose us! Lol a lot of people give away cool stuff.

 last year  

Congratulation for a new baby in the family @jonyoudyer as well as for the baby watermelon. About squash, our squash in the garden have a lot of baby but I felt sad early in the morning seeing them in the ground. Most baby squash fall, how sad.

Thank you, and you mean the squash fell off the vine?

 last year  

Yes, the squash fall and they lost the chance to grow big.

That really is horrible. Better luck next year, or did what I did, and fit it back to let it regrow.

Congratulations on the birth of the baby. Glad to hear everything went well.

Thanks so much Happy!

It is quite a spectacle to see when the flower begins to close and the fruit begins to take shape. In the meantime, we pray that it doesn't rain so that the flower doesn't rot and, in this case, your precious melon can bloom.

What variety is it: green or light brown?

Greetings @jonyoudyer

Its yellow watermelon, then Chilacayote Squash, and as far as what I think is a pumpkin, I found these growing in a random spot by my apartment, and I rescued them. :)

Felicitaciones por su bello bebé y por la dedicación a su siembra que se ve evolucionando bendiciones