One Man's Garbage, Is Another Man's Garden!

in HiveGarden2 years ago

image.png

Hello fellow gardeners of the Blockchain! First let me say how impressed I am on the growth of this community. We have some talented, and independent here on Hive. I have always said it takes a different breed of person to be successful here. One that does not need an app that makes it easy to use. One that does not need millions of people, so it is easier to gain a following. Then most importantly, one that understands the true importance of not being on a platform owned by one person, and most likely hates you! So if your looking for instant gratification, go to Instagram. If you are looking for an echo chamber, go to Twitter. If you are looking to make someone rich, besides yourself, go to Facebook. I tip my hat to all you Hivers who put in the work when Hive is up, and put in even harder work when Hive is down. You are a true Blockchain hero ;)

Ok back to the subject on hand. Gardening. Which is something many of you know, I LOVE! Mainly it is indoor cannabis. My outside spot is not so ideal, so I am limited in that area. But at work, it is a different story. Here I have lots of sun, and space. However I do not take advantage of this as much as I should. This year will be different. You see the picture above? That is my compost. Look harder....Do you see it?


It is watermelon seedlings from a watermelon I recently composted! I swear seeds love this environment. In fact I think this is how I will start up my cannabis seeds this year, lol. Just kidding on that part. But how cool is it to see all of these potential watermelons. I was even thinking of maybe doing some, and some pumpkins this year. This is just the motivation I needed.


Time to break out the Solo cups!


I really love Solo cups for seedlings, or clones. They are the perfect size, and are sturdy. If I was at home I would of just got the ones I have been using for well over 3 years. But Ill need those sometime down the road. So I just grabbed some here at work. They'll be handy here anyways for future use.


I thought this was cool. Seeing the seedling attached to the watermelon scrap like this shows what exactly happens when you swallow a watermelon seedling. So be carful in the future next time you eat watermelon on a hot summers day.

I just took some dirt here at work, and mixed in some finished compost. This garden will be as low budget as I can get it. Also being here 6 days a week will allow me to focus some time, and kill time all at the same time. Say that 6 times fast! I never have grew watermelon before, but I think I have the perfect spot for it, that I will keep you all updated from time to time here on Hive Garden.

I tried my hand at a garden here a few years ago with decent success. My only worries is the dam Gophers. An suggestions to get rid of them would be great.

I have gifted a few to a friend, but I think these will be plenty. Also to plant more, and hope the Gopher don't get all of them is also one of my game plans. The other is to get some TNT from the Acme company, and then fire in the hole! We will see......


image.png

Sort:  

💚🌱😄

Thanks bro!

 2 years ago  

Wow, great to see you posting in a community you're admin for ahahahahahahaha - I just noticed that the other day! Sorry that sounds biatchy, it doesn't mean to be at all, I'm trying to be funny I think? I'm too socially inept from spending all my time on HIVE....

Go YOU with growing something other than weed - that's awesome! And hopefully you can roll a fat one and eat watermelons when the time comes. I wanna see a selfie of that!

Gophers? I wouldn't have a CLUE! Crikey. Rabbits, yes, and my bloody chickens, but gophers!

Much love to you!

Yeah I need to post here more often. Just so laser focused on cannabis. Definitely need to branch out before I get bored.

Yeah these gophers, or gopher really do some damage. But hey it’s not like my lively hood depends on it. One way o know to get rid of them, is to get a plant they like, put poison in the root ball. But I won’t do that.

That’s awesome. I would love to have a traditional garden outside, but my dogs would dig everything up.

Oh man we used to have a rabbit that did the same thing!

I have 2 dogs they walk in my lower bed all the time, I have to fence them off or use 2ft plus raised beds.

My mastiff still walks by and takes buds or vegetable 😂if he can reach them

lol. We had a miniature pinscher that used to jump up and grab pears off our pear tree. She got so fat from eating fruit all the time.

Nice, That is how I got a bunch cucumber plants last year, I have a whole variety of plants growing around my bins.

Good luck man

I think I will put some cannabis seeds just for the heck of it.

 2 years ago  

composts give birth to most beautiful and strong plants...

Yes they really do! I also figured the seedlings also add to the comp, that is if you don’t let them grow

 2 years ago  

it is true.

 2 years ago  

I love your style of blogging, it is very engaging. By the way, I love that watermelon, I am excited to see it grow. Greetings from the Philippines!

Wow, thank you. That really brightens my day!

 2 years ago  

You're welcome (^_^)

Thank you for sharing this great #gardening, #vegan, #cannabis content, You have been manually Upvoted by @skylinebuds

🔸Hive Garden Community

You can use THIS POST to learn how to format your post even better, if you don't know markdown it is a great read


Did you know you can now delegate weedcash or THGaming token to @skylinebuds-weed and receive Curation Rewards and Plus Tribe Tokens for helping build this curation project?

There's nothing quite like free plants from the compost heap! 😀

Yeah its like a opening up a cracker jack box lol!

You will probably want 2 adult plants max. They are huge. Even most regular gardens don't bother with them because they just take up too much space. On a patio, well, good luck!!

Cool thanks for the tip! I think ill plant two here at work, I think i might so some pumpkins right next to them:)