Gardening 101: Taking Care of Our Vegetable Plants

in HiveGarden11 months ago

I woke up this morning with such gloomy weather. I was wandering around our backyard when I thought of removing some grass and putting some fertilizers for our vegetable plants.

It's been a long time since I took care of our plants because it's been raining frequently and I can't find time to do it. But since the weather has been better, I decided to take care of it today.

Add a little bit of body text_20230807_222051_0000.jpg

A Flashback
A month ago, my mother bought an eggplant seedling at the market. She was planning to turn our shabby backyard into a vegetable garden. At first, I was against it because it is a lot of work, but I didn't say a thing because I'm also interested in gardening!

Of course, we cleaned our backyard first before planting. We planted about 40 eggplant seedlings in our backyard, and hopefully, all will grow well. After planting, we just let the plants grow on their own. We almost even forgot about it. That's why a lot of grass grew.

Taking care of our eggplant crops
Since it was not too sunny today, I grabbed the chance to remove the grass in our garden. Getting rid of the grass is such a hard thing! Because it needs a lot of effort to remove them. Thankfully my mother helped me to remove the grass to lessen my task.

20230807_214937_0000.jpg

20230807_214640_0000.jpg

Look how tall and thick the grass is! You can't even notice the plants because of it. It looks like the grass is healthier and taller than the plant.

After removing some grass, my father advised me to put some fertilizers for the plants. But before that, I cultivated the plants first so the fertilizer gets in and aerates the soil. After putting the fertilizer, I watered the plants to prevent any burned foliage.

It was already lunchtime when we finished removing grass and putting fertilizer. It's exhausting, to be honest. But it was all worth it because our garden is already clean and beautiful! Also, the plants are already visible and look good.

20230807_215426_0000.jpg

20230807_215630_0000.jpg

In the next few months, these eggplants will bear vegetables soon, and I'm so excited about it. I'm looking forward to eating eggplants all day.

Note: All images are owned and edited by the author. That's all for now
-Pat T.

Sort:  

Wow...it's obvious you spent much time on the garden taking care of the plants. Weeding is a vital aspect after growing our crops..most people find it exhausting but it will worth it at the end. Thanks for sharing this farm update with us

`This post has been selected by the Newbies Initiative team and may possibly receive support from the Hive Learners Community. Kindly click on the banner to visit our community and check out our Discord channel here.

hl_congrats_baneer-1.png`

To know more about Newbies program, kindly check this post.

You're right! 😄

Kasipag na bata, that's good planting veggies, next time add some more seeds of different veggies naman para masaya ฅ^•ﻌ•^ฅ

Yass plano rin namin magtanim ng other plants like okra and more 😄

Congratulations @jpatrick28! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain And have been rewarded with New badge(s)

You received more than 4500 upvotes.
Your next target is to reach 4750 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Check out our last posts:

Women's World Cup Contest - Round of 16 - Recap of Day 3
Women's World Cup Contest - Round of 16 - Recap of Day 2
Women's World Cup Contest - Round of 16 - Recap of Day 1

Yay! 🤗
Your content has been boosted with Ecency Points, by @jpatrick28.
Use Ecency daily to boost your growth on platform!

Support Ecency
Vote for new Proposal
Delegate HP and earn more

You're lucky my friend @jpatrick28 you still have the opportunity to plant veggies. Our place has enormous amount of water