HiveGarden: Indoors and Outdoors, an Explosion of Flowers!

in HiveGarden2 years ago (edited)

IMG_0537s.JPG

Aren't they beautiful? These are some hyacinths I planted last autumn in my new garden, and in my annual race to see what blooms first, they placed second after the scilla.

IMG_0557s.JPG

They are slightly more open in this photo from today. I placed a downspout trellis over them because some little creature likes digging here. Early on, something decided to taste one of the plants and never came back for another bite. Good! Apparently, their scent repels squirrels.

IMG_0558s.JPG

Here are a few more. I really hope @afterglow sees these after he admired some I had indoors in a post last month. They smell so sweet.

IMG_0551s.JPG

The lungwort was third to flower.

IMG_0552s.JPG

The periwinkle is fourth, beating the tulips and daffodils.

IMG_0555s.JPG

The few scilla in the backyard were first but I have a mass of them in the front yard and they're taking over!

IMG_0556s.JPG

After our cold winters, spring is such a cheery time. The daffodil will probably open this week.

IMG_0548s.JPG

My Plan

I had a small flowerbed and last autumn, I doubled its size. My plan is to mix flowers and vegetables in patches so it doesn't look like a vegetable garden. Between the trellises -- they won't be staying -- I have planted onions. To the left of the trellises, I planted a patch of peas in front of the chopstick. Yes, I have chopsticks as markers this year.

The bunching onions will be in a patch or two further left and I will have pole beans on trellises since I can't convince them they should really grow up the fence.

IMG_0547s.JPG

You can see the onions just starting to come up. Onions and peas can be planted very early; peas can even be planted in the autumn. Still, it felt weird to have a snowfall the day after I planted the onions, and a week later, another snowfall after I planted the peas!

I hope I don't have a problem with pests this year. Every time I go out to the garden, I have to bury the peas again. Something is digging them up but not eating them, so... digging them up by accident?

IMG_0553s.JPG

Chives. I cover my garden with leaves each autumn, and as beneficial insects sometimes hibernate in them, we are told not to remove them too early. That's the reason my garden looks like a mess!

IMG_0550s.JPG

The hostas appeared suddenly.

IMG_0554s.JPG

The squirrel planted this nice tulip for me.

I promised you an explosion of flowers. It seems that almost everything inside the house is flowering!

IMG_0540s.JPG

The hibiscus starts this time every year.

IMG_0542s.JPG

There is another bud.

IMG_0541s.JPG

This is the geranium colour that has been in my family since 1968-1970.

IMG_0539s.JPG

The orchids, of course. The flowers last so long.

IMG_0543s.JPG

My biggest surprise has been the fuchsia. It was doing really well when I brought it into the house for the winter, and for the first time, I had a good spot for one. I have never had a fuchsia survive the winter indoors, much less put on a display like this.

IMG_0544s.JPG

It is just covered with buds! I'm growing it in my coolest room in a window where I used to keep an African violet.

IMG_0545s.JPG

I'm pretty excited about my bunching onions too. This is the first time I have grown onions from seed.

IMG_0546s.JPG

These are zinnias and Mexican sunflowers. The seed is a year old so they didn't all germinate and I have replanted. My plan is to put them at the back of the garden along the fence with the vegetables in front. The Mexican sunflowers were a real hit with the butterflies last year and they complement the milkweed patch (not showing yet) at the far left of the bed for the Monarchs.

Today is May 4th (May the fourth be with you!) and 3 weeks away from planting season.

Images

Photos by @kansuze taken with my Canon SX620 HS in Kanata (Ottawa), Canada.

GardenJournal footer.png

Enjoy!
@kansuze

Sort:  
 2 years ago  

Wow! I love the flowers! They are so beautiful, it is an explosion of flowers indeed. Thank you for the mention (^_^) have a nice day ahead.

 2 years ago  

I'm so happy you made it back to see the hyacinths!

 2 years ago  

Mee too!

 2 years ago  

so beautiful!

as a kid fushias were always one of my favourite plants. Mum had so many in the garden.

lovely photos
Sarah

 2 years ago  

From the moment I first saw them, fuchsias became a favourite. Thank you for stopping by.