HiveGarden: Spring is here and I already have a winner!

in HiveGarden2 years ago

IMG_0452s.JPG

Every spring, there is a great race in my garden to see what will flower first, and there is a winner: The scilla! And it flowered three weeks after the snow left.

Now you might think this race is predictable but I'm always changing something to get flowers even sooner. I moved some scilla to the back yard because it gets more sun there.

IMG_0458s.JPG

The narcissus, above, was a previous winner.

IMG_0457s.JPG

Also this lungwort.

IMG_0455s.JPG

I had hopes for the hyacinths I planted last fall in the new garden. They are so close to blooming.

IMG_0427s.JPG

I had been watching. This photo was from last week. It's fun to walk around and check things out even though my garden is not that big and it is still so early.

IMG_0409s.JPG

I wasn't the only one checking things out. She (I assume) was feeding on the lawn as soon as a bare spot appeared and she looks chubby enough to be pregnant.

IMG_0454s.JPG

One of the new hyacinths was dug up and gnawed on but I think that was the squirrel and I think it is only one plant. I covered them with my downspout trellis as soon as I spotted the damage and I'm wondering if it has been touched since. I chose hyacinths not only for their early blooming but apparently squirrels don't like them, only it's the scent they don't like. I'm hoping the squirrel didn't like what it tasted.

IMG_0433s.JPG

This is a hardy kiwi that's waiting for me to pull it back up onto its trellis.

IMG_0434s.JPG

This is my mint, planted in a pot so it doesn't take over the garden and separated from the mojito mint that's under the leaves. It's not time to uncover things yet.

IMG_0435s.JPG

This is the periwinkle taking over the garden.

IMG_0436s.JPG

Another early bloomer and will I remember its name before hitting the post button? lol

IMG_0451s.JPG

In the front flower bed, another narcissus and a squirrel flower! (That's what I call the tulips the squirrel digs up in my neighbour's yard and plants in mine.)

IMG_0450s.JPG

A surprise guest in the front tree, a small woodpecker who was too shy to face me.

IMG_0456s.JPG

For comparison, these are tulips in the back yard. Facing South-Southwest, the back yard is about two weeks ahead of the frontward.

IMG_0459s.JPG

Meanwhile, 8 days ago I planted some seeds. These are all plants that I can put directly in the garden but I like to start some inside. From left to right, you see little grass-like bunching onions, Mexican sunflowers and zinnias.

There's not much to see yet but things will change quickly, and what will bloom next?

Images

Photos from iPad and Canon SX620 HS by @kansuze in Kanata (Ottawa), Canada.

GardenJournal footer.png

Enjoy!
@kansuze

Sort:  

Congratulations @kansuze! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s):

You distributed more than 16000 upvotes.
Your next target is to reach 17000 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Support the HiveBuzz project. Vote for our proposal!

There is a whole zoo in your garden :-)

 2 years ago  

Almost. lol

Moss rose? Creeping phlox?

 2 years ago  

Creeping phlox. Thank you!