Clearing Vegetable Crops and Garden Rearrangement

in HiveGarden2 years ago


A photo shot by me and were edited using Canva

It was a fine morning, the sky is cloudy yet the sun still shines so brightly. I am standing on our rooftop where our vegetable crops are planted taking my time to appreciate the majestic view of the green landscape in front of me as the warm wind hits my face. Waking up in the morning with this scenery encourages me to start my day creatively and productively.

As soon as I finished admiring the view, I turned my back and glanced at our crops. The mosses can be found everywhere, some covers bare wall, and the majority of them grow in the soil where the crops are planted on. That may be the reason why our crops are having a hard time bearing fruit these days. Because mosses are stealing the nutrients coming from the soil. Just like a parasite that acquires benefits without paying the rent.

IMG20221007142958.jpg

IMG20221007143453.jpg

With that, an idea popped into my mind. Maybe this is the best time for me to have some vigorous activity and stretch my resting muscles. I asked my father's permission first if it was okay to remove the growing mosses from the garden. He agreed and at the same time asked me to harvest fruits if there are any and remove the plants from the soil because we are going to replace them with new ones. Additional tasks assigned to me, I'm so lucky. This will be a sweaty morning for us.

The first thing that I did is to pull the moss and grasses from the soil using my bare hands making sure that their roots are also removed. In that way, it will take time for them to grow back. Surprisingly, it never bore me but rather it satisfy my well-being urging me to do more. I find it pleasing whenever I pulled them off one-by-one. I don't know why either but that's how I feel. I spent around an hour removing the moss and grasses and looking at those piled-up wastes, it is obvious that I enjoyed what I did. But it's not all, it's just half of the planted crops, there is more to go and it will take a lot of time to finish them all.

IMG20221007142943.jpg

After that, I started sweeping the floor using a wooden broom. The floor is full of removed mosses, wild grasses, dirt, dried leaves from the mango and malunggay trees, as well as dried waste that came from our dog, Abby. It's pretty messy but it's manageable. I just need to make a little push and pile them all together for easy retrieval before putting them in a trash bag.

Once I'm done, I rearrange the plastic pots and put them in the corner. As you can see, most of the pots we used and are currently using are the Wilkins empty bottles. This will not just save us money but teach us also to utilize and recycle things available in the environment. If you don't have any containers available and you want to establish your home garden, you can use other alternatives such as rice sacks, unused containers, or wheels. That's a nice idea, don't you think? But remember to use things based on their availability. Don't spend too much, recycling is the key.

IMG20221007143350.jpg

Moving on, when I'm done piling up the waste, I immediately put it in a trash bag. I don't think one plastic bag is sufficient for all the waste that we are going to gather since I only accomplish half of our garden and I must say that it is so exhausting. The sun is starting to rise and I'm now covered with sweat. Ugh! I need a cold bath after this.

IMG20221007143603.jpg

Do you know what this is? For me, it looks like a small greenhouse but not covered with anything. This is the section of our garden where we store plants that crawls such as bitter gourd and cucumber. My father used this tent-like metal that was given to us by our neighbor as the foundation and used some wood such as bamboo that will serve as the support. Did you know that I can't help myself but imagine it covered with leaves? In my mind, it looks like a small greeny plant house where I can rest inside but sadly it didn't work maybe next time I will make it happen.

IMG20221007143411.jpg

I also cleaned this section, remove all the plants nearby, and sweep the floor. We decided that we will let the soil rest first before replanting crops again. We will also compile each soil in one place and put some decomposing materials to prepare it next time just like what we did last time. If I'm not mistaken, it is like making our compost pit.

When I finished half of my task, I decided to stop and rest for the day. I am not finished with what I'm doing but I manage to do a lot. The other half section will be my father's responsibility, and he will do it probably at noon since the heat of the sun is scorching hot. We don't want to be naturally fried. Looking at my finished task, it is worth it. Right now, I need some relaxation and stretching to do.


Images used in this blog are ALL MINE and were edited using Lightroom Application

Sort:  

you have done very well ingardening. I just planetd corn yester day too

Oh! That's nice to hear. Do you plant it on your farm? If so then it's a huge responsibility for you. I don't know how people plant it though, is it just like the same other plants wherein you will plant the seed on the soil?

that's right. corn can be a food and a feed to animals too. haven't you eaten them yet?

Nice one Khai, very productive indeed. Why not add some of your bottled pots for another Vergie or plants hehe, kumpletuhin ang bahay kubo ba uwu.

Usually, we plant eggplants, green chili, tomatoes, okra, calamansi, bitter gourd, and papaya but probably next time we will add some other vegetables too to complete our bahay kubo lol. I also want to plant crawling plants such as alukbati.

!discovery 15


This post was shared and voted inside the discord by the curators team of discovery-it
Join our community! hive-193212
Discovery-it is also a Witness, vote for us here
Delegate to us for passive income. Check our 80% fee-back Program
 2 years ago  

It's good to see you very active in your garde khai.. plus it's really satisfying to see when those vegetables are free from unwanted weeds.
We used sacks here when there's no more space. It's really nice to see also those recycled plastic bottles.

Looking at our plants right now, I can say that it's refreshing to see them bare without any mosses and grasses that surround them. It's just like they have a new haircut and we are the barbers responsible for it. Neat and clean to see.

 2 years ago  

I can't agree more to what you just said. We looked after them while they're the one responsible for us not to get starve.
Give and take relationship to it's finest.

It looks like you did a very good job cleaning up the garden and removing the weeds. Well done:)

Yay! Thank you! I made sure that I remove all of them to the best of my ability but we know that grasses and mosses will not stop from growing back again, right? It just needs time. Lol.

Congratulations @khairro! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s):

You received more than 3250 upvotes.
Your next target is to reach 3500 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Support the HiveBuzz project. Vote for our proposal!

halaaaa namiss ko bigla buhay ko sa probinsyaaaa HAAHAHA. naalala ko ung sunflowers na madalas ko itanim tas ung mga gulayt. since lumipat ako dito sa Baguio wala na

Ay wow! Sunflower! Hindi ko pa siya natatry itanim ate eh kasi feel ko baka mahirapan siyang mabuhay pero may nakita ako sa lola ko na little sunflower nakatanim sa paso, ang cucutee pramisss.

Thank you for sharing this amazing post on HIVE!

Your content got selected by our fellow curator semarekha & you just received a little thank you upvote from our non-profit curation initiative!

You will be featured in one of our recurring curation compilations which is aiming to offer you a stage to widen your audience within the DIY scene of Hive.

Make sure to always post / cross-post your creations within the DIYHub community on HIVE so we never miss your content. We also have a discord server where you can connect with us and other DIYers. If you want to support our goal to motivate other DIY/art/music/gardening/... creators just delegate to us and earn 100% of your curation rewards!

Stay creative & hive on!

 2 years ago  

It is very good work to clean up. and your plants look very arranged. I like the vegetables growing in your plastic bottles. greetings😊

Plantita yarn.. Hehe.. Nice arrangement by the way.. Pahingi ako ng bunga pagnamunga na. Hahaha..

Plantita yarn.. Hehe.. Nice arrangement by the way.. Pahingi ako ng bunga pagnamunga na. Hahaha..

Ahhh corn is one of my favorites, i missed harvesting corn on my grandma's farm, nice planting

Amazing, write up on a busy yet fruitful morning. Looking forward to read how you complete the remaining tasks.

 2 years ago  

This is going to be the style that I am going to adopt in my next planting season. Good luck to me (^_^)

Nice man, roof top garden. How do you stop the moisture eat away at the concrete floor?

Congratulations @khairro! You received a personal badge!

You powered-up at least 10 HIVE on Hive Power Up Day!
Wait until the end of Power Up Day to find out the size of your Power-Bee.
May the Hive Power be with you!

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking

Check out the last post from @hivebuzz:

Be ready for the 11th edition of the Hive Power Up Month!
Trick or Treat - Share your scariest story and win your Halloween badge
Hive Power Up Day - November 1st 2022
Support the HiveBuzz project. Vote for our proposal!