Good Day from Gildart Gardens

in HiveGarden2 years ago

Good day From the Gardens, we have a nice little pile coming in.
DSC_0012.JPG
This is the Chinese Five Color, we have 3 larger plants, and then 3 smaller one that were planted a month after these. Some of the more pretty flowers in the green house here, although this house does have Zinnia in it as well.
DSC_0009.JPG
This set has a much smaller flower heads, but the color is still loud.
DSC_0010.JPG
I think this change in color on the flower pedals is referred to as "variegation", pretty sure. These Candy Stripped Zinnia has and awesome splashes of brilliant color. I have never seen a flower like this before, color expression wise, I've seen a Zinnia before.
DSC_0011.JPG
I do really enjoy these candy stripped ones as well as the sold colored as well.
DSC_0002.JPG
We'll go with, I like flowers. This is the line up so far in the box here are Aleyssa peppers, in the foreground here, the mini-bell peppers, and then the chinese five color in the back.
DSC_0015.JPG
That was greenhouse 1 this is 2, the shade house. On account it just has the shade cloth. so #1 has a 2 layer plastic with a 5'x4'x8" wet wall on a 70 gallon sump, and a 3'x 3' exhaust fan in the back. The shade house here will get the same treatment in the late fall when crop will change and we prep for the incoming winter.
DSC_0017.JPG
This is 3 row of Early Girls, each fence post is about 6'. The trellis net is not exactly the correct one but it's doing just fine for me. Each row is 28' long and served by a 2 gph spike dripper. All together we have 52 Early girls, 1 Black Cherry, 1 Black Beauty, and 1 Green Stripped Zebra at the back there.
DSC_0018.JPG
Starting to get into the 6' range now which means all those little red looking ornaments on the bottom that is are just about ready to go. We have had a bit of a rough go of it actually. So many folks, including mine own, just have a hard time smacking those pretty white wings moths outta the air. The result is a worm infestation that has taken 4 nights and 3 very early morning hunting trips with the black light. No worries we will prevail, we must and we shall. Plus my egg hens absolutely love to get some tomato worms for breakfast.
DSC_0019.JPG
This is the gourd crop that we had started just on time. I know your thinking isn't late for that. SoCal has a pretty ish climate, I'm not going to say mild cause that is all in relation to how far you are from either the mountain ranges or the beaches. Here, well here it's just HOT for right now and won't stop being that way till almost end of October.
Just in time, aim and squirrels permitting.
DSC_0023.JPG
I'm joking, or am I?
DSC_0022.JPG
Not, I'm not. I despise squirrels not just for there herbivore tendencies but also their destructive nature, and disease carrying ability. The shade structure has done a good job keeping them out but those mocking birds have been able to sneak in and grab a tomato or two. That hole has been mended, so far.

Thank you for stopping in.
Hopefully you enjoyed the Gardens, see you next week.

Sort:  

Wow, those are greenhouses to aspire to. Ours is about 9x12and fills up way too fast.

Thank you for stopping by.
I had one that size when we started an realized I had misjudged my growing problem. These are varying in height, but both are 30'Lx 24'W. We have a bit to room so I went for it.

Yes, we live off of the Alaska highway so this is just a starter house and then some tomatoes. We can't plant outside early so it gives us an extra month or so of growing season.

Amazing. I've been to that great state. If you all can fix the temp an make it a bit warmer I might go back. Beautiful place. You are in the opposite extreme. Short summer long winter. Stay safe from those skeeters up there I hear they are aggressive. I've only been in Fall an early spring.

 2 years ago  

I loathe rabbits for the same reaason!!!! Grrrr.

Love your greenhouse, and candy striped are super cool aren't they?

I had just run the solid colors last year. Lots of sunflowers as well.

Pretty'ish? You're outta your pretty'ish skull. It barely reaches 90 here and the whole country goes back on lockdown. Not literally but close enough, mass text messages, it's all over the news, even trains won't run. Literally.

Did I tell you we're moving to Spain in October. Not that you'll come see us or anything but in case you get a wild flower up your ass.

Nice to see you posting. Gone for however many months and unload three fresh ones. Well done.

I had heard it was gonna be almost 100 out there soon. Monkey Pox got you in faux lockdown or the Corona light?
Spain eh? Beauty has people's if hers on that part if the part of the ball. Matter of fact we had plans before all stoppages went down. One day.

Monkey Pox got you in faux lockdown or the Corona Light?

Are those still a thing?

Nah, I'm exaggerating. But i get warnings from the embassy about the 100 degree weather like it's the end of the world. I'm like, 'relax, it's called a sun, it's ok.' And they're like, "vitamin what?! D??"

Yeah not used to that over there, I forget lots more cloud cover more often