You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Garden Diary Again: Bees Are Coming Back 庭日記ふたたび: 蜂が戻ってきました[English and Japanese]

in HiveGardenlast month

I guess Forsythia is originally from Asia and Europe, but somehow, I see Forsythia almost everywhere in North America. I am glad to hear that Forsythia was your grandmother's favourite flower. I often remember my grandmother when I see my garden as well. I hope you will see Forsythia someday in the near future!

Sort:  

I read they are originally from Asia, yes. But there is one European type and several other types. Nowadays many plants get to grow all over the world.

Just one interesting example. There is a little river not very far from us. There are so many reeds that eat up the whole area around the river... I thought it was normal, that it was an autochthonous type of reed, but it was not. It is an invasive one, and actually causes more damage now than good right now as the autochthonous plants don't have space not to grow 🤷‍♀