You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Hive Garden Journal #4 : Re-potting, Plant Bartering & Harvesting String Beans

in HiveGarden2 years ago

Hi Arni, love your garden! There are lots of herbs and veggies so when you cook the ingredients are extra fresh. And those long string beans look super healthy. You have probably been taking good care of them.

And you have compost too! Wish I can do that too with my wee little plot.

Also, glad you have some ternate now. And they're growing well too. Mine have been sprouting many flowers everyday so I can drink the tea anytime I want. After quite some time, they grow more quickly that's why I'm trimming them every few days. But, maybe, I'll try getting something taller for them to climb on so they won't climb on my other plants.

Anyway, all the best to you and your lovely plants 😊

Sort:  

Hi Lavie, I can't wait to see your blue ternate. I still remember when you suggested it. I started reading more about it and today just saw a beautiful dessert that Anggrek Lestari made with it. Can I tag you for the garden journal challenge?

The composting was a trial and error. We used to have an open compost pit when we were living in the middle of the rice fields but a baby snake and toads decided to make it their home. Imagine my horror every time I had to throw vegetable scraps there. I made loud sounds to alert whoever was there that someone was coming. When the toads were there, I assumed the snake was away.

The open-pit compost in the Philippines wasn't as good as using the Orocans - tall plastic bins with cover. It kept the cockroaches and rodents away. It would be cool to do a worm tunnel one day but I haven't tried it yet. So far there are large earthworms (almost snake-like in size) living below the raised beds.

It's great to hear your blue ternate is producing abundantly. Thank you and cheers to more blue pea tea flowers! Happy gardening!