You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Foraging Spikey Chest-Balls of Doom

in HiveGarden3 years ago

I had roasted chestnuts for the first time at a Christmas market in France and thought they were the most delicious things of life. I noticed that they were everywhere near were I live and was looking forward to go and forage them around town. But then I Google it and learned that there are chestnut look-a-likes that are not good to eat. They have a white bottom instead of a brown one. I'm glad I didn't pick and eat a bunch without researching it first hahaha. Anyway, I think I saw some spikey balls like that in the woods near home so maybe I'll try again this weekend.

Sort:  

Yeah Horse Chestnuts are pretty common down here too, They're native all over France so shouldn't be too hard to find. Its one of our favourite things every year, the Roasted chestnuts at a Christmas market somehow just taste better.