Ligaya Garden's Garden Journal Late Summer 2023


Our #gardenjournal continues as the benefits of the warm weather kick in and we start to get some decent harvests. Fortunately, insect predators are on duty to do the pest control for us!



I’m loving labour free, natural pest control!

Our Eggplants have been hit by Spider Mites (what hasn’t this year?) but are recovering nicely without any intervention.



Well on the way to full recovery.




Tell-tale signs of mite damage.


The secret? Tiny Ladybird Beetles called Stethorus! You can see how tiny they are in the next pic. I know I’ve posted about them before but they’re so amazing that I thought I’d feature them again.



Our saviours are only tiny!



Over the last couple of years, I’ve noticed an order of attack for the Spider Mites. They hit the Solanums first and in a particular order. First it’s the Blackberry Nightshades that grow wild in the font garden and opportunistically in the backyard. Then our poor Potted Pepino gets them.

I watch the Pepino closely. Once the characteristic mottling of its leaves starts to show, I keep a close eye out for the little black dots that are the Stethorus, or is that Stethorii?



These are the Mites, under high magnification.


When they appear on the Pepino, it’s time to reduce the population of Spider Mites in the front yard. At this time, the Blackberry Nightshades are looking pretty sick and are covered with webbing. They never seem to get visited by Stethorus, so it’s safe to pull them out and dispose of them through solarisation in plastic bags before composting.

Next, signs of the pesky Arachnids (Spider Mites are Arachnids, not Insects) start to show on the Tomatoes and Eggplants. Soon after, the Stethorus pop up here and there on their leaves and go to work. Shortly after they show up, leaves begin to green again and along with a bonus of extra fertilizer, the leaves start to green again and new leaves show only signs of light damage.





Wilt always seems to come after spider mite damage.

Understanding the cycles of your pests and predators and having a little patience can help reduce the amount of work that you need to put into your garden and you can put the time and energy to other things.

Since I’ve understood these cycles and learned to sacrifice the Blackberry Nightshades, I’ve managed to eliminate the use of pesticides altogether and to rely on Nature and good fertilization. That means that i have lots more time to drink coffee and write blog posts like this!




5tbq4JHXhN.png







image.png

VhEcYhIfkj.png

Sort:  

https://leofinance.io/threads/@gardenhive/re-leothreads-25ucc2
The rewards earned on this comment will go directly to the people ( @gardenhive ) sharing the post on LeoThreads,LikeTu,dBuzz.

Thanks!

 last year  

I both yay for insects and boo for insects in the same breath. My eggplants are only just starting to fruit - doubt I'll get any before cold weather sets in.

Eggplants and Capsicums are all a bit late this year. We're only just getting our fruit now when normally,we've been feasting on Thai Eggolan6s since Decemberc

Wow,I'm amazed! What natural way for pest control on plants! I've never paid attention to things like this and I think I should cause my mom has an eggplant too that is under attack from pests and at some point the leaves just grow green again but then, I hope I don't need a magnifying glass to see the saviours on the leaves? Lol

Magnifying glasses are very handy when learning about garden insects. You can use your phone camera too!

Will do😌. Thank you lots♥️

 last year  

i'm trying very hard to let all the pests and beneficials come in together so hopefully they can strike a balance.. without the annoying bugs there is no food for the good ones... its had order though.. lol

sarah

It took me a few years to work it all out. The trick is to NOT remove all pest affected plants, even in their off season. Pest numbers need to build up to attract predators and the predators lay eggs to overwinter on the same plants as the pests do.

It's so tempting to pull everything out at the end of season though. We all like a tidy garden.