Tuesday grind. | Transplanting the rambutan and lanzones that grow unexpectedly

in HiveGarden7 months ago

Screenshot_20231012_223022_com.huawei.android.launcher_edit_74282662192309.jpg

Good day gardeners,

Today we are going to transplant some unexpected seasonal tropical fruits to each pot away from one of my plants.

Last month Lanzones and Rambutan fruit started to season. And since I also like them, I didn't hesitate to buy them.

Every time I go home to my family in the province after work in the city on my way, I go downtown first to buy stuff because apart from the many choices, the ones that can be bought there are cheaper, that's why I choose to shop there to save money.

344C0E66-075B-47D8-A3CC-57204D7ED5D0.jpeg

I didn't share this here on HIVE but last month I bought some ornamental plants that were very expensive during the pandemic and because I was quite amazed at the cheap price, I also bought it when I bought Lanzones and Rambutan downtown. While I was traveling by bus back home, I kept eating the fruits that I bought and the skins and seeds that I ate, instead of throwing it anywhere I just put them in the plastic bag of the plant that I purchased.

When I got home, I immediately moved the new plant to one of my empty pots because it was only placed in a seedling bag when I bought it. While I was doing this, I thought of just putting the fruit waste I ate under it because I knew it would be a good fertilizer when it decomposed.

At an unexpected time, I saw that something strange had grown, at first I didn't pay attention but after a month I realized that I also had seeds buried with the skins when I transplanted the "Black Majesty" in a pot.

D1A88260-D7B1-4870-8878-90AF30E4238E.jpeg

And since the seed pods are already big, I thought of buying pots. These are also like seedling bags with a size of 26X2 which I bought for ₱15 each or $.26. This is what I chose because it is more durable than other types of seedling bags and so that whatever the outcome of these plants is, I can transfer them easily to the right location to grow them.

7CBDFB70-7FCB-4284-ACF8-F3846F53A67E.jpeg

After I was able to buy seedling bags, I immediately hauled the soil. Here you can see that our soil type is not very good, there are shells here which indicates that this place may have been a shoreline before. Because of this, I made a way to get wood chips to enhance my soil medium.

You can also see that some seeds have sprouted but not properly, maybe because they are too crowded or too deep, so they are not growing well.

F9C147AB-C47A-4F55-9ECE-88687E32967B.jpeg

And this, here you can see that I have separated the fruit plants from my ornament plant. I'm lucky that both of the fruits grew well and as you can see here the rambutan skin has not decomposed yet but the lanzones are already gone it's because they have thinner skin.

I identified which was the rambutan and which was the lanzones by simply looking at the seeds. After checking I remembered the type of leaves so after I planted them in each pot I would remember which was which.

FDDC4779-F5BB-4F7A-9728-3EA1BE20F4F8.jpeg
Lanzones

  • These are the lanzones. Right now it has five leaves and it looks like it's growing very well.

B563B591-7D6D-4542-B5C8-ED73D02C394D.jpeg
Rambutan

  • This is the rambutan. Right now there are only two leaves, the difference is that its leaves are very green unlike lanzones and its leaves are quite thick.

As for now, I only know a few who grows these tropical fruits in my City, I don't know, maybe they are not really able to survive and they need a specific climate or soil to survive, but since I got these , let's see what the outcome might be and maybe we will succeed. So let's see. 🤔

Sort:  

nice naman at sana eh tumubo ang rambutan and lanzones mo na healthy .

Sana nga eh. 🤞😌

Buti ka pa kabayan, meron kang Lanzones.

Chambang tumubo kabayan. Tignan ko kung mag survive. 🤔

Accidental plantings like this are the best, your plants look really healthy.

Also - finding plants that are marked down is always a good buy 🙂

You’re absolutely right. Thank you very much for the kind words @emma-h2. Best regards!🙂