Physalis

The photos of physalis that I will show you today, I took in the yard of my friend.
This is her first experience growing it.
In Cyprus, I have never seen this berry anywhere, just like my girlfriend.

Where did she get it from then, you may wonder.
And it was like this:
last year her husband's relatives gave her 2 berries of this "precious" plant, they brought them from another country.

She shared one berry (don't laugh!) in half with her husband and then apologized for not treating me 🤣 no, I'm not kidding!

And the second she left for growing.

When the seeds sown sprouted, she gave me 3 seedlings.
And I went home happy and ready in a few months to harvest and tease you with my berries 😋

But it did not work out, all 3 seedlings died ☹️

But my friend did!
And I'm happy to show the result of her work!

The first flowering of her Physalis

The photos I were taken with a Lenovo TAB 2 A10-70L tablet
IMG_20230117_165632-25.jpg

IMG_20230117_165632-100.jpg
Here are the first boxes!
IMG_20230117_165558-35.jpg
They remind me of Chinese lanterns.
IMG_20230117_165548-25.jpg
And now my friend and I are waiting for the ripening of the berries that are inside these boxes.
IMG_20230117_165611-25.jpg

IMG_20230117_165824-25.jpg

IMG_20230117_165820-45.jpg
I have never tried this fresh berry before. They say it's delicious!
Naturally, only fruity Physalis is meant, since other varieties are not so tasty and there is an inedible decorative one.

I had a chance to try the Physalis jam, which decorated the Cheese Cake "New York" bought by me at the Moscow airport.
I cannot say that I was delighted with this berry prepared in this way.
IMG_20190710_205236-40.jpg
But it looks beautiful!
IMG_20190710_205307-40.jpg

IMG_20190710_205318-+.jpg

Sort:  

I know this fruit, it´s delicious! :)

@tipu curate

I am looking forward to the maturation of Physalis, very interesting to try!

@phortun and @tipu Thank you so much for your support!

 last year  

These grow wild at my place, I'm surprised that they died, they are tough

I think that didn't get enough sun for them, since the sunny places were occupied by other flowers.

 last year  

That's possible, they do love sun

I'm not upset, because I saw that they take up a lot of space from a friend.
This is not for my balcony where there are a lot of cacti, succulents and so on.
I'd rather grow Passion fruit, especially since we really like this fruit.
I'll be harvesting soon! 😊

I love to shoot the dried physalis boxes very much. they are pretty orange and stunningly looking
!PIZZA

Did like the taste?

no! it is definitely not about the taste, but about the look-up ;)

And I'm very interested in taste.

@hive-166168, sorry! You need more to stake more $PIZZA to use this command.

The minimum requirement is 20.0 PIZZA staked.

More $PIZZA is available from Hive-Engine or Tribaldex

Wow! How nice! Your friend grew berries from a seed! I must try to find these seeds. Love to eat these berries!

Physalis should grow in your country, as it loves a warm climate so much!

Waoo what a beautiful fruit, I can imagine the experience of growing it was an adventure full of emotions.

Greetings.

Yes, it was very interesting.
Especially when the boxes appeared!