Slowly Against The Current Of Wild Growth

in HiveGarden3 years ago

It's Stubborn. I'm Stubborn, too. It's definitely more stubborn because it's stubborn all of the time while I'm a single will with its moods and sings, short life, busy life, man's life.

Does that stop me from being stubborn and wielding a hoe instead of machines, doing manual labor, picking it out stem by stem, cutting with scissors? No poisons shall be used, at least for this year and the next. That's the goal - getting to a model where no poison has to be used.

Some plant diseases happen, though, and the soil gets taken over. I'm even more about mulching, covering the ground with biomass, giving away some fertile surface for the sake of being clean.

Besides, who needs it all? I got so many carrots on a 3x3 square that I have to give them away while still fresh.

I am trying to preserve some of them fresh by covering them with sand after I took them out of the ground. Something my mother heard but did not quite get the know-how of. Still...I do have the opportunity to experiment at my own expense.

Well, yeah, what I am gaining from the garden is not some crazy production. It's experience, knowledge, skill, data, mistakes...basically, the same things. And some recreation. Some aches. Some bites by bugs unknown.


Carrot Can Wait 006 s.jpg
This is how the carrot field looked in June. Before the latest onslaught of wild plants. It's gone now, anyway, all good, almost no carrot loss. Besides, my mother's horses would chop them up and gulp them down in any condition. Those we do not keep for ourselves or give away to other human beings, that is.


Can The Beet Wait s.jpg

And most of the beet is still in the ground. It turned out it does not last as long when pulled out. Not as long as I expected. Perhaps, it was the expectations.


Anyway, it's the last thing that remains, before nuts and grapes season is upon us.

I am trying to cultivate the vineyard a bit. Two hours in the morning is all I can spend on a couple of days in the week. And I have to go there about three more times before it looks...not hopeless.


Where there's a hoe, there is a way!

Peace!

Manol

Sort:  

Hey @manoldonchev nice post! I can relate to you on a few things here when it comes to gardening.

No poisons shall be used

Everything we put in our garden and on our food we want it to be safe…for our bodies and the environment.

Congratulations on having an abundance of carrots and plenty to share and keep :)

It's experience, knowledge, skill, data, mistakes

It’s the same things for us with this being our first gardening year. We learned so much, made mistakes but gained plenty of knowledge from it. All these things will only help us be better and more productive gardeners for the next year ;)

Where there's a hoe, there is a way!

Haha love this line!

Thanks for sharing ~

I do hope so. Making some better moves next year. Although...a lot of energy was already spent this year. And about half of the trees planted are not in a good shape. I hope that goes better next year, as well. This autumn, even.

Let’s hope for the best :)

A little bit of progress is still progress. Weeding, the never ending job in a garden...

Yup, just a little bit more today. And another super inefficient thing I'm going to write about soon, I guess.

Cheers!