Busy Day In My Garden After The Typhoon.

in HiveGarden10 months ago

Finally the typhoon Egay is gone and this morning, rays coming from the sun waked me up as it passed through our curtain. It's been windy and rainy for the past days due to the said typhoon that brought a lot of damage to our country, Philippines.
I can't help but to be sad about it but we have to move on and face what's ahead of us.

Many farms were devastated and I know that a lot of farmers now are crying because of this. It's such a huge loss really.
As for the plants in my garden, there's a few casualties but it really made my heart to bleed to be honest.

So what happened to my plants especially to my bananas.

IMG_20230728_123546.jpg

Upon checking them yesterday morning, I can't believed what's before my eyes. The banana plant that carrying the huge bundle of banana fruits bowed down already. I checked it thouroughly and I found out that it nearly cut in two.

IMG_20230728_121042.jpg

I thought that it just bowed down with the stem still intact but I was wrong. I don't know what to do about it but my father suggested that we will put a supporting pole to it in order for the fruits not to touch the ground.

IMG_20230728_121137.jpg

We tried to lift it up but it's too heavy so we just put the supporting pole where it can get. It's difficult to force it because it may damage the stem further.

About the other one that's been uprooted, I replanted it today hoping that it will still produce good fruits. A miracle might happen.

IMG_20230728_123452.jpg

I cleaned the area using my bolo first before replanting it there.

IMG_20230728_122828.jpg

I dug a hole using the "bareta" or the digging bar. I also used a bolo to fully remove the soil inside.
After successfully digging a hole, I carefully lifted the banana plant to put it in the hole.

IMG_20230728_121908.jpg

IMG_20230728_122610.jpg

IMG_20230728_122204.jpg

IMG_20230728_121656.jpg

I made sure that it was in the center then after that I brought back the soil again around it.

IMG_20230728_121317.jpg

These are the shoots of that banana plant. I planned to replant them somewhere else when they reach the right height.
As for the other one that's been ready for replanting, I planted it just beside it since all the shoots will be remove soon.

IMG_20230728_121507.jpg

IMG_20230728_121232.jpg

And there it is, another banana plant that will surely bear good fruits. I know that for sure because the shoot is very healthy. Unless it will be affected by other factors but hoping there's none.

Planting string beans.

Another one that I did was grabbing the opportunity to plant string beans again.

IMG_20230728_120828.jpg

IMG_20230728_120726.jpg

I cleaned the area first as you can see from the picture and the grass were really tall making it hard for me to finish it fast.

IMG_20230728_120116.jpg

After that I began to dug small holes and filled it with organic soil to make sure that the seeds will grow better.

IMG_20230728_120355.jpg

These are the seeds by the way. I'm not really sure if these one needs pole afterwards or not since my uncle gave it to me and I forgot what variety is this.hihi. I planted three seeds per hole.

IMG_20230728_120301.jpg

IMG_20230728_120509.jpg
I decided to continue planting the rest of the area tomorrow maybe or the next day, depending on what may come.

IMG_20230728_123008.jpg

I thought that it's gonna be sunny today but dark clouds formed again. This one made me to stare to it.

That's it for today's garden journal and I hope that the plants in your gardens are doing well.

Thank you for reading.

Sort:  

What an impressive work!!

Despite disaster, you're able to visit your garden and to put adjustments where needed.

Your father must be an experienced farmer. Am glad you followed his guidelines. You'll succeed

I'm thankful that there's only few that got damage.
Yes he is and actually he taught me a lot about farming together with my grandpa.😊

Thanks for passing by.

Congratulations @marcus2201! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain And have been rewarded with New badge(s)

You received more than 50 HP as payout for your posts, comments and curation.
Your next payout target is 100 HP.
The unit is Hive Power equivalent because post and comment rewards can be split into HP and HBD

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Check out our last posts:

Be ready for the August edition of the Hive Power Up Month!
Women's World Cup Contest - Recap of day 10
Women's World Cup Contest - Recap of day 9