My first year with own garden (ENG / GER)

in HiveGarden6 months ago

Hello dear garden friends,

the summer at my home is now really coming to an end and with it I also end my first real garden season. In today's post, I'd like to share what I planted in our garden this year and what will definitely be planted in the garden again next year.

The growing

Almost all of the plants that ended up in my garden this year I grew myself from purchased seeds. I started growing the plants between March and May. For this I usually planted 1 to 4 seeds in a pot, flower box or seedling pots and grew them up in the winter garden as well as on the windowsill. As soon as the seedlings were big enough, I transplanted them to their future location. For this I used raised beds as well as large pots and boxes.

IMG_7EC60A7572CB-1.jpeg

Cucumbers

After trying homegrown snack cucumbers for the first time last year, I knew I wanted to grow snack cucumbers this year. For this, I decided on two variants: First, I grew cucumbers from seed myself. On the other hand, I bought an already grown young plant.

From the 4 sown cucumbers, unfortunately, only two have become something. Of these two remaining, again one was attacked by a fungus. Thus remained here unfortunately only one. With the purchased cucumber plant, however, I still had two plants and thus also a decent harvest. Snack cucumbers definitely end up in my garden again next year. The effort to grow the cucumber directly from the seeds and the low success here, but I think ensures that I buy next time directly two seedlings.

Small tip: Make sure that you always water the cucumber directly above the ground and the leaves are not wet by watering. This will prevent your cucumber from being infected by fungus. It is also worth watering the cucumber regularly with a little milk. For a more beautiful shape of the cucumber you can use climbing aids. Otherwise, you should give the plant enough space. This conquers the cucumber anyway, but it would be a pity if other plants in your garden suffer from it.

IMG_5DBC9B40DA15-1.jpeg

Tomatoes

For tomatoes, I decided to use two different varieties. I planted cherry tomatoes and date tomatoes. I like small and sweet varieties when it comes to tomatoes, so I made a conscious decision not to plant large varieties or beef tomatoes. I planted two tomato plants in the winter garden and another in a pot on the terrace. All tomatoes I have grown here from purchased seeds. The success rate was about 50%.

Small tip: Should you grow the tomatoes in a wind-protected place or (like me) indoors, then make sure to shake the tomatoes regularly. This may sound strange, but it is essential for your harvest. Tomatoes are self-pollinating plants, but they need wind to do so. If there is no wind and the branches do not move, you can simulate this by gently shaking the tomato plant and still get tomatoes.

Since I did not know this tip before, my tomatoes in the winter garden initially grew very large, but no tomatoes grew from the flowers. This was due to the lack of pollination. I was still able to cure the error, but my harvest turned out much smaller as a result. Nevertheless, the tomato plants in the conservatory grew much better and larger than on the terrace, so next year I will plant the tomatoes only in the conservatory. Taste-wise, both varieties were very tasty. So I can well imagine planting a mixture again next year.

IMG_AD34D06F19DB-1.jpeg

Beans

In our raised bed I have planted among other things beans. These I planted deliberately staggered, so as not to have to harvest all the beans at once. Unfortunately, the beans had a different plan and still finished pretty much at the same time. This brings me to the biggest advantage and disadvantage of homegrown beans:

IMG_2ED65B9CA0E7-1.jpeg

Advantage

Beans are really beginner friendly. Growing from seed is extremely easy and once planted in the raised bed, the beans really need little care other than regular watering. You are then guaranteed a good harvest.

IMG_9399E7F93F9B-1.jpeg

Disadvantage

Beans usually do not grow and ripen in time. Also, there are a lot of beans on one plant. You should not underestimate that. I harvested all the beans at once and then had them for a family dinner. Alone, we probably could have fed on beans for several days. You can see the amount and also the size of the beans in the pictures.

IMG_FF08E5DD0CB0-1.jpeg

Small tip: Our beans were quite attacked by slugs in the raised bed at the beginning. A little protection of thin mesh copper wire around the edge of the raised bed helped to save the beans and keep them growing properly.

Peas

Peas, much like beans, are very thankful plants and definitely beginner friendly and easy to care for as well. Here too, growing from seed has a high success rate and the plants grow very well afterwards. The peas also ended up in my raised bed and needed little care other than a little water and protection from slugs. The peas, however, have the advantage that they ripen gradually. Especially if you grow and plant them a little bit later, you can harvest peas every now and then.

Small tip: Eat the peas just like that and save yourself the work of unwinding it to eat the peas as a side dish. If you just pick a few peas every day, you can open them directly and eat them. Tastes delicious and does almost no work.

Bell peppers

I also grew my peppers from seed and then transplanted them into a large box. The peppers grew very slowly for me at first and for a long time there was no telling that they would even give me a crop. However, I was not disappointed with my grown plants. After both developed into a small tree, small peppers gradually appeared. These developed first in size and then in color from green to yellow to red. The peppers were good to grow and also gave an abundant and very tasty harvest. Therefore, these will definitely find a place in the garden again next year.

Small tip: When buying the seeds, pay attention to what kind of variety you buy. Unfortunately, in my ignorance, I went for an annual variety, which means I'll have to re-grow the plants next year. With perennial varieties, overwintering is possible and the yield should be even better in subsequent years. Also, be sure to give the plants plenty of room. Next year I will plant only one bell pepper per box.

IMG_269846CEF4D6-1.jpeg

Strawberries

I have already reported on my strawberry planting in a previous post. The cultivation and the harvest was here less successful the increase however all the more. I have the plants now to overwinter in the raised bed covered and protected from wind and frost. I am curious whether the plants bear more fruit next year and survive the winter well. For this I will then also report again on occasion.

IMG_F5D5A0B30C22-1.jpeg

Conclusion

All the plants I planted in my garden this year will make it into my garden again next year. For one or two of them, I will just go back to already grown seedlings. The taste of homegrown fruits and vegetables just can't compare to store-bought. Therefore, I am sure that I will certainly try my hand at more useful plants.

I can only recommend you to try growing crops once as well. The progress from sowing to harvesting is incredibly satisfying and the taste does the rest. Don't despair if you do something wrong or it doesn't go as planned. Exchange ideas and the next time it will go much better.

I wish you much success with your gardens and I am looking forward to the exchange with you.

See you soon
Your Melonqueen


Deutsch

Hallo liebe Gartenfreunde,

der Sommer bei mir Zuhause neigt sich mittlerweile wirklich dem Ende zu und damit beende ich auch meine erste richtige Gartensaison. In meinem heutigen Post möchte ich gerne darüber berichten, was ich dieses Jahr in unserem Garten angepflanzt habe und was nächstes Jahr auf jeden Fall wieder im Garten angepflanzt wird.

Die Anzucht

Fast alle Pflanzen, die dieses Jahr in meinem Garten gelandet sind, habe ich aus gekauften Samen selbst angezüchtet. Mit der Anzucht der Pflanzen habe ich zwischen März und Mai begonnen. Hierfür habe ich im Regelfall 1 bis 4 Samen in einen Topf, Blumenkasten oder Anzuchttöpfe gepflanzt und diese im Wintergarten sowie auf der Fensterbank großgezogen. Sobald die Setzlinge groß genug waren, habe ich sie an ihren zukünftigen Standort umgepflanzt. Hierfür habe ich sowohl Hochbeete als auch große Töpfe und Kisten verwendet.

IMG_7EC60A7572CB-1.jpeg

Gurken

Nachdem ich im letzten Jahr das erste Mal Snackgurken aus Eigenanbau probieren durfte, war für mich klar, dass ich dieses Jahr auch Snackgurken anpflanzen möchte. Hierfür habe ich mich für zwei Varianten entschieden: Zum einen habe ich Gurken aus Samen selbstgezüchtet. Zum anderen habe ich eine bereits angezüchtete Jungpflanze gekauft.

Von den 4 ausgesähten Gurken, sind leider nur zwei etwas geworden. Von diesen zwei übrigen wurde wiederum eine durch einen Pilz befallen. Dadurch blieb hier leider nur eine übrig. Mit der gekauften Gurkenpflanze hatte ich jedoch trotzdem zwei Pflanzen und somit auch eine ordentliche Ernte. Snackgurken landen im nächsten Jahr definitiv wieder in meinem Garten. Der Aufwand die Gurke direkt aus den Samen zu züchten und der geringe Erfolg hierbei, sorgt aber denke ich dafür, dass ich das nächste Mal direkt zwei Jungpflanzen kaufe.

Kleiner Tipp: Achtet darauf, dass Ihr die Gurke immer direkt über der Erde gießt und die Blätter nicht durchs gießen feucht werden. So verhindert ihr, dass Eure Gurke von einem Pilz befallen wird. Außerdem lohnt es sich die Gurke regelmäßig mit etwas Milch zu gießen. Für eine schönere Form der Gurken könnt ihr Rankhilfen nutzen. Ansonsten solltet Ihr der Pflanze auf jeden Fall genug Platz einräumen. Diesen erobert sich die Gurke zwar so oder so, aber es wäre schade wenn andere Pflanzen in eurem Garten darunter leiden.

IMG_5DBC9B40DA15-1.jpeg

Tomaten

Bei den Tomaten habe ich mich für zwei verschiedene Sorten entschieden. Ich habe Cherrytomaten und Datteltomaten gepflanzt. Ich mag bei Tomaten gerne kleine und süße Sorten, sodass ich mich bewusst gegen große Sorten oder Fleischtomaten entschieden habe. Zwei Tomatenpflanzen habe ich dabei im Wintergarten gepflanzt und eine weitere in einen Topf auf der Terrasse. Alle Tomaten habe ich hierbei aus gekauften Samen gezüchtet. Die Erfolgsqoute lag hier bei ca. 50 %.

Kleiner Tipp: Solltet Ihr die Tomaten an einem windgeschützten Ort oder (wie ich) innen anbauen, dann achtet unbedingt darauf die Tomaten regelmäßig zu schütteln. Das mag jetzt vielleicht komisch klingen, ist für Eure Ernte jedoch essentiell. Tomaten sind zwar selbstbestäubende Pflanzen, benötigen hierfür jedoch Wind. Sollte es keinen Wind geben und die Äste dadurch nicht in Bewegung kommen, könnt ihr diesen durch leichtes schütteln der Tomatenpflanze simulieren und bekommt trotzdem Tomaten.

Da ich diesen Tipp vorher nicht kannte, sind meine Tomaten im Wintergarten zunächst zwar sehr groß geworden, allerdings sind aus den Blüten keine Tomaten gewachsen. Dies lag an der fehlenden Bestäubung. Ich konnte den Fehler zwar noch heilen, meine Ernte ist dadurch aber deutlich geringer ausgefallen. Nichtsdestotrotz sind die Tomatenpflanzen im Wintergarten deutlich besser und größer gewachsen als auf der Terrasse, sodass ich die Tomaten nächstes Jahr nur im Wintergarten pflanzen werde. Geschmacklich waren beide Sorten sehr lecker. Ich kann mir also gut vorstellen auch im nächsten Jahr wieder eine Mischung anzupflanzen.

IMG_AD34D06F19DB-1.jpeg

Bohnen

In unserem Hochbeet habe ich unter Anderem Bohnen angepflanzt. Diese habe ich bewusste zeitversetzt gepflanzt, um nicht alle Bohnen auf einmal ernten zu müssen. Leider hatten die Bohnen einen anderen Plan und sind trotzdem ziemlich zeitgleich fertig geworden. Damit komme ich auch schon zum größten Vor- und Nachteil von selbstangebauten Bohnen:

IMG_2ED65B9CA0E7-1.jpeg

Vorteil

Bohnen sind wirklich anfängerfreundlich. Die Anzucht aus Samen ist extrem einfach und einmal ins Hochbeet gepflanzt brauchen die Bohnen wirklich wenig Pflege außer regelmäßig ausreichend Wasser. Eine gute Ernte ist Euch dann garantiert.

IMG_9399E7F93F9B-1.jpeg

Nachteil

Bohnen wachsen und reifen im Regelfall nicht zeitversetzt. Außerdem sind an einer Pflanze sehr viele Bohnen. Das solltet ihr nicht unterschätzen. Ich habe alle Bohnen auf einmal geerntet und dann zum Familienessen eingeladen. Alleine hätten wir uns wohl mehrere Tage von Bohnen ernähren können. Die Menge und auch die Größe der Bohnen könnt ihr den Bildern entnehmen.

IMG_FF08E5DD0CB0-1.jpeg

Kleiner Tipp: Unsere Bohnen wurden im Hochbeet zu Anfang ganz schön von Nacktschnecken befallen. Ein kleiner Schutz aus dünnmaschigem Kupferdraht um den Hochbeetrand hat geholfen, um die Bohnen zu retten und ordentlich wachsen zu lassen.

Erbsen

Erbsen sind ähnlich wie Bohnen sehr dankbare Pflanzen und auf jeden Fall ebenfalls anfängerfreundlich und pflegeleicht. Hier gilt ebenfalls, dass die Anzucht aus Samen eine hohe Erfolgsquote hat und die Pflanzen hinterher sehr gut wachsen. Auch die Erbsen sind bei mir im Hochbeet gelandet und brauchten außer ein bisschen Wasser und Schutz vor Schnecken wenig Fürsorge. Die Erbsen haben allerdings den Vorteil, dass diese nach und nach reifen. Vor allem wenn ihr etwas zeitversetzt züchtet und auspflanzt, könnt ihr immer mal wieder Erbsen ernten.

Kleiner Tipp: Esst die Erbsen einfach so und spart Euch die Arbeit es auspulens, um die Erbsen als Beilage zu essen. Wenn ihr einfach jeden Tag ein paar Erbsen pflückt, könnt ihr diese direkt öffnen und essen. Schmeckt lecker und macht so gut wie keine Arbeit.

Paprika

Meine Paprika habe ich ebenfalls aus Samen gezüchtet und dann in eine große Kiste umgepflanzt. Die Paprika ist bei mir zunächst sehr langsam gewachsen und lange Zeit war nicht zu erahnen, dass sie mir überhaupt eine Ernte bescheren würde. Ich wurde von meinen gezüchteten Pflanzen jedoch nicht enttäuscht. Nachdem beide sich zu einem kleinen Baum entwickelt haben, kamen nach und nach kleine Paprikas zum Vorschein. Diese entwickeln sich erst in der Größe und dann farblich von grün über gelb zu rot. Die Paprikas waren gut anzuzüchten und haben auch eine reichliche und sehr leckere Ernte beschert. Daher werden auch diese nächstes Jahr auf jeden Fall wieder einen Platz im Garten finden.

Kleiner Tipp: Achtet beim Kauf der Samen darauf, was für eine Sorte ihr kauft. Leider habe ich in meiner Unwissenheit zu einer einjährigen Sorte gegriffen, wodurch ich die Pflanzen nächstes Jahr neu züchten muss. Bei mehrjährigen Sorten ist eine Überwinterung möglich und der Ertrag soll in den Folgejahren sogar noch besser werden. Außerdem solltet ihr den Pflanzen ausreichend Platz geben. Nächstes Jahr werde ich pro Kiste jeweils nur eine Paprika pflanzen.

IMG_269846CEF4D6-1.jpeg

Erdbeeren

Zu meinem Erdbeerpflanzen habe ich bereits in einem vorherigen Beitrag berichtet. Die Anzucht und die Ernte war hier weniger erfolgreich das Vermehren jedoch umso mehr. Ich habe die Pflanzen jetzt zum Überwintern im Hochbeet abgedeckt und vor wind- und frostgeschützt. Ich bin gespannt, ob die Pflanzen im nächsten Jahr mehr Früchte tragen und den Winter gut überstehen. Hierzu werde ich dann bei Gelegenheit ebenfalls nochmal berichten.

IMG_F5D5A0B30C22-1.jpeg

Fazit

Alle Pflanzen, die ich dieses Jahr im Garten angepflanzt habe, werden es auch im nächsten Jahr wieder in meinen Garten schaffen. Bei der ein oder anderen werde ich nur auf bereits angezüchtete Jungpflanzen zurückgreifen. Der Geschmack von selbstangebautem Obst und Gemüse ist einfach nicht mit dem von gekauften zu vergleichen. Daher bin ich mir sicher, dass ich mich sicherlich noch an weiteren Nutzpflanzen ausprobieren werde.

Ich kann Euch nur empfehlen, ebenfalls einmal den Anbau von Nutzpflanzen auszuprobieren. Der Fortschritt vom Aussähen zur Ernte ist unfassbar befriedigend und der Geschmack tut sein übriges. Verzagt nur nicht, wenn ihr mal etwas falsch macht oder es nicht so läuft wie geplant. Tauscht Euch aus und beim nächsten Mal läuft es dann gleich viel besser.

Ich wünsche Euch viel Erfolg mit Euren Gärten und bin gespannt auf den Austausch mit Euch.

Bis bald
Eure Melonqueen

Sort:  

Congratulations on your first year. Soon, you will be able to produce more vegetables without you knowing it. Good evening!

Thank you! Never thought that it would be so much fun!

You're welcome (^_^)

As a Bean Lover, I am craving for your Beans. In my city, we have baby beans in smaller version and much tastier than general beans

Are the tomatoes have sour taste?

Oh I love those small beans. But here they grow so big in the garden.

No, the tomatoes were sweet. I like them more when they`re sweet and fruity.

Your work has paid off! The harvest looks delicious..fresh is best! Congrats on your first year.

Thank you! It really was delicious. As I never had e good hand on plants before, I never thought gardening would be so much fun to me. But the harvest is so motivating.

Loading...

Congratulations @melonqueen! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain And have been rewarded with New badge(s)

You received more than 4500 upvotes.
Your next target is to reach 4750 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP