My Hive Container Garden - What´s new?!

in HiveGarden2 years ago

1.jpg

Welcome to my Hive Container Garden!

It has been awhile since I last posted about my potted lovelies.... The raspberries have grown and will soon all be red but the blackberries will take more time to become ripe. The latter was planted last year and it's pretty amazing that the berries are now coming out. I said in my last garden post that the black berries do not have thorns and that is fine as I prefer it better than the raspberries.

4.png

Below are the 2 bushes of the blackberries and raspberries. Both were planted in big containers to give them more space to grow. The raspberry bush had been a newbie extension of the bush I used to have in my old garden and I took this out of the mother plant and planted it here.

IMG_20220609_110321.jpg

The Trellis

We got them from the Garden center nearby and had them installed after I coated them with a protective glaze. This year, I have 3 varieties of tomatoes and the trellis is such an idea so that the vines of the cukes could also climb upwards, this is afterall a vertical type of gardening

IMG_20220609_172121.jpg

2b.jpg

2c.jpg

Other Green Vegetables and flowering plants

For this season, I planted 3 varieties of mild or sweet pepper. The last time I tried the Habaneros had been a big mistake but I did not realize that it was that "hot!" What the heck, it was burning as if my tongue had boiling water. So I got rid of the harvest and gave it to my neighbor, lol.

6.jpg

And so I have these two peppers which I need to harvest so that remaining flowers will eventually grow.

7.jpg

This cuke is called a snack cucumber locally, the variety is small and soft and is good for burgers or any other salads.

8.jpg

9.jpg

The potted geraniums were from last year, I was surprised that they started to have new leaves last March. Well, just have a look, the flowers are pretty in pink.

IMG_20220609_110131.jpg

Below is a clematis vine I got 3 weeks ago. The flowers are so lovely and are sending good vibes on my balcony.
16.jpg

5a.png
Young bud of the Aubergine/Eggplant

5.jpg
An aubergine flower, the violet and yellow colors are perfect!

3.png
Cherry tomato buds

17.jpg
Cherry tomatoes now getting bigger and bigger

13 a.jpg
I planted the seeds and now they have grown, what to do with the rest of the newbies? I will offer them to my neighbors

14.jpg
I planted one in a pot and we´ll see whether this will grow.

10.jpg
The flowers of the celery....

19.jpg
Sometimes, I cut some herbs and include them in my cooking.

IMG_20220609_110115.jpg

The lettuce variety below has brown patches and is called red oak leaf. I plan to plant new batches.

20.jpg

That is all for now, hope to see you again...take care!

GIF by @Gremayo.gif
GIF by @gremayo

All images are owned by the author, @mers

Sort:  

The best green thumb in hive @mers. Your post is being a good example spreading how to have garden in a small place. So amazing.

Hahaha, thanks for the compliment @olivia08. I am just one of those who happens to love gardening... If there is a will there is a way, so they say.

They are growing nicely and pretty soon they'll be ready to harvest. Veggies for the kitchen and flowers for their beauty. Gardening is really one of your passions, always find a way regardless of space.

I harvested them partly especially the salad greens. Yep if you are into it, you give your passion a bit more. Thanks

What an early morning inspiration as I read your post. You really have a good vibes with plants.

Thank you my friend @jurich60

You have a beautiful container garden! Growing your own healthy and organic vegetables plants are so rewarding.
I would love to have that Habaneros😍 I love spicy food😋🔥

I promise myself not to grow Habaneros anymore, I had enough of its pungency. I read it has around 350.000 pungency value , the 4th in ranking of hot peppers. hehehe

Oh my goodness tita @mers, it's amazing. it's like everything is there. You really have golden hands.

LOL, thanks a lot. Tsamba. The one thing that helps is the soil and maybe eggshells and used brewed coffee as well.

@mers nice info and pretty good work out there. THUMBS UP!!
BTW whats about Habaneros and what your neighbor would be doing with it LOL

They love spicy foods so I gave all to them.

Happy to see you are from Germany! I got to know it from the OBI logo and German words 😁
Your container garden inspired me a lot. I gave up having berries when I move from an apartment with a garden to the current one with a small but sunny balcony. But it looks possible!

Thank you for the inspiring post, @mers!

Good to see you looking great on your photo above, you really gave ideas on how to grow the greens in containers that is really amazing.
Keeo it up😊

Thank you for sharing this amazing post on HIVE!
  • Your content got selected by our fellow curator @priyanarc & you just received a little thank you via an upvote from our non-profit curation initiative!

  • You will be featured in one of our recurring curation compilations and on our pinterest boards! Both are aiming to offer you a stage to widen your audience within and outside of the DIY scene of hive.

Join the official DIYHub community on HIVE and show us more of your amazing work and feel free to connect with us and other DIYers via our discord server: https://discord.gg/mY5uCfQ !

If you want to support our goal to motivate other DIY/art/music/homesteading/... creators just delegate to us and earn 100% of your curation rewards!

Stay creative & hive on!