I show you: how to prune an Indian cane plant.

in HiveGarden27 days ago
![](https://images.ecency.com/DQmRULuWPTBA7ZdHpxaxNL35z7GeW1R6DmxeMgYJsLkLaYj/6..png)
Greetings Hive Garden community, I hope you are well, in recent days I decided to give a little love to my [Indian cane plant](https://ecency.com/hive-110011/@miguelc88/reflexiones-sobre-un-florecimiento-en), a plant of which I have spoken previously about its use, type and properties, since I received it in my house more than 3 years ago it has always grown without any pruning since its leaves are always useful.

This is the state in which the plant was in, a state in which many of its branches were already in the drying phase as well as the leaves, giving it a neglected and lifeless appearance.




The first thing I did was to look for the following elements:

  • Soil.
  • A spoon, a container that allows you to pour soil, or a gardening shovel.
  • 1 Cutter.



    Step 1: Pruning.
    Making use of the cutter I proceeded to remove the largest amount of stems in which presented some damage, or simply its life time was about to end, very carefully I cut diagonally from top to bottom so that the edge always goes towards the ground, on the other hand you can also remove the stems in another way that is pulling its base, I must emphasize that this generally works with stems of approximately ½ cm thick, since the thicker ones are usually part of the mother trunk, the problem is that when trying to remove it the whole plant can come, in the image below you can see how the thin plants that are pulled out, for the rest you can work with the cutter.

In addition to removing the stems I also removed the dry or damaged leaves, this in order to encourage the plant to concentrate on growing more leaves as well as its growth.



Step 2: Planting cuttings.
A cutting is a piece of branch, trunk or stem that can be planted or grafted since it does not need a root to grow as it has that ability. I selected the healthiest and best looking stem, I cut it about 10 cm, as shown in the picture and planted it in the ground, at a depth of about 5 cm, this assures me the success in that the plant becomes bushy, and also ensures the growth of a new plant based on an excellent specimen.




Step 3: The soil.

As for the soil, it is wild soil, without any kind of preparation, in most of where I live the soil is not poor on the contrary, it is very good for planting, the technique I used to put the soil was to pour a little soil and in turn a little water to compact it.



The result.



This photo I have taken a day later to corroborate that the plant did not become sad, nor suffered any damage while I was handling it to prune it, this work I have achieved throughout my life advising me with people who treat their plants in their garden and who have allowed me to see the process.



This was all for today's post, I hope it has been of interest and taste, any information, question or opinion you can write, I am ready to interact and share, it will be until the next one.


Posted Using InLeo Alpha

Sort:  

Poderosa planta medicinal profe . Está fuerte

What an incredible plant, I like how you explain the process of pruning the plant 😊

Congratulations @miguelc88! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain And have been rewarded with New badge(s)

You made more than 600 comments.
Your next target is to reach 700 comments.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Check out our last posts:

Feedback from the May Hive Power Up Day
Hive Power Up Month Challenge - April 2024 Winners List
Hive Power Up Day - May 1st 2024