You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Happy International Plant Appreciation Day And My Abundant Harvest!

in HiveGardenlast year

I'm pleased to see this, despite the fact that I'm not fond of Okra. I don't like the slime and its texture. My husband loves it though, so I'll fix it for him.
I love Chayote, but not Bitter Gourd, simply because I probably don't know how to cook it well.

Still, I'm super grateful to learn that snakes like Chayote... Now I know what to NEVER plant.

Sort:  

I am surprised you are calling the ladies finger, Okra, too. All I knew about Okra is a Filipino term, and then I remembered your stay in Cebu, so you are familiar with its name, my dear Milly. Hehe. And yes, it is full of slime, but you know this is best when boiled and blended with vinegar with lots of spices like onion, lemon, tomatoes, and then the very common Bagoong or Ginamos in my place.

And then the Chayote is best half-cooked. Chayote is also good when sauteed with onions and garlic and blended with a beaten egg. Perhaps this is an economical recipe here in the Philippines for breakfast. It also tastes good when combined with tomato sardines, hehe.

And about snakes loving to dwell in Chayotes, yes, it is true. I even have a neighbor here who was attacked by a snake because Chayote surrounded their house, and little did he know that the snake was near him. Maybe he touched it a bit, making it fight back with a snake bite, so he was rushed to the hospital. Good thing he had survived the venom.

Thanks for stopping by dear Milly and happy planting!
!LUV !LADY

View or trade LOH tokens.


@pinkchic, you successfully shared 0.1000 LOH with @millycf1976 and you earned 0.1000 LOH as tips. (1/1 calls)

Use !LADY command to share LOH! More details available in this post.

This is the first I heard Okra referred to as Ladies Fingers, actually. The term made me think of Buddha's hands, another one that I discovered but have not yet tried.

Chayote is popular in Jamaica too, but the best I have ever had was in Taiwan. The way they prepare it is amazing.

Snakes in the Philippines are something else. I hate snakes. I'm happy that your neighbour was okay:)