You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Of Garden Memories: Plus Winners of the Garden Journal Comment Challenge

in HiveGarden2 years ago

I didn't really have a specific memory to share for this, but reading through these now, I realise grandparents were certainly a part of my early gardening experiences. I was surrounded by gardeners, so I guess it all felt part of normal life. I didn't always enjoy it, my sister did even less, but we both enjoy gardening now, myself in particular. My parents and maternal grandmother had an allotment together, which we'd often go to on weekends, but my sister and I mostly just played there and felt it was a chore. Years of damson and strawberry jam put me off jam. 😅 To this day I can only face strawberries fresh.

I remember gardening tips from my paternal grandfather when we visited the grandparents in Wales, lemombalm in my maternal grandmother's back garden and planting flowers in my mum's garden. It's funny how you don't realise it at the time, but it all instilled that love for plants and the miracle of growing even if you didn't realise it.

Sort:  
 2 years ago  

That's so true, about it feeling like a chore. I can just imagine the damsons, howe I miss them. And strawberries in a British summer...I think Jarrah hated gardening for a long time - probably still does - because of being forced to pull his weight out there when he was young. Still, he doesn't get tired of the fruit that feeds his belly! And I think one day he'll have more of an appreciation, especially if he ever moves out of the city. It might just take him a while.

How nice to have those memories.