You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Spring love #gardenjournal

in HiveGarden2 years ago

Gosh, that sounds extreme! I haven't heard of a citrus tree infection like that here. We occasionally get gall wasps I think it is, which make a lump in the twigs. Then surface pests like scale and leaf miner.

Sadly I think my lemon tree failures are just my incompetence. I've yet to get a sapling established. The only reason I have an orange tree is because it was already here when we bought the house.

Sort:  
 2 years ago  

Sadly I think my lemon tree failures are just my incompetence.

I don't believe that AT ALL dear @minismallholding :)
Maybe it is not the right place for a lemon tree. I have seen healthy plants in a garden and then big problems with the same plants in the garden next to it. Could be the sunlight/shadow, the soil or a billion reasons that are different within a small distance and we can't even imagine.
We try and they decide if they will stay, haha!

Really sorry for the delayed reply. Gardening sometimes comes with back pain and that was definitely my case these days. All good now, back to the garden already :)

 2 years ago  

Oh gosh, back pain is always worrisome. You nerve know if it's just muscles or something more chronic. Hope you stay good.

I do think that the soil on the front where I want one is likely not to their taste, but the front is also much more exposed to both the sun and winds.

 2 years ago  

Hope you stay good.

Thank you so much!!!

I do think that the soil on the front where I want one is likely not to their taste, but the front is also much more exposed to both the sun and winds.

Possibly. Well, I love experimenting, so I think I would try to grow one from the seed of a bitter orange tree that is the strongest of the citrus family, directly to the soil, and then graft it. Long term plan :) Or just try something easier, haha! Experimenting is good, but sometimes easy and relaxed choices are better! Good luck with whatever you do! Anyway, surprises never stop when it comes to gardening :)