My Parents' Forest-Like Garden

in HiveGardenlast year

"Hardworking people are like gardeners; they plant for the future."

jpg_20221210_210329_0000.jpg

There's always a reason we have a variety of plants at home; it could be because of passion, consumption, entrepreneurship, or hobby.
Everything mentioned above applies to my parents.

Growing up, my mother had a variety of vegetables and fruits in our garden and did not dare to ask her why she had lots of plants at home until she told us that aside from passion, she did that because of our father's salary did not suffice to meet all our needs.

IMG20221203130824.jpg

That is the reason why she needs to support him through planting, hog, and poultry raising. In this way, we can save money for our viand and buy some things we need in school.

Now that my sister and I are working, we rarely visit their house and see how their plants are.
Presenting to you their variety of plants at home.


Fruits

IMG20221203130918.jpg

IMG20221203132015.jpg

Pineapple

Pineapple is super rich in fiber. My daughter drinks its juice when she experiences constipation.

IMG20221203131155.jpg

IMG20221203132000.jpg

Banana

Lots of us like this have in our backyard; they need broad areas as branches keep producing, kind of fruit has Vitamin C and fiber, etc.

IMG20221203130805.jpg

IMG20221203130857.jpg

Lemon

Another rich in Vitamin C is lemon. My sister told us this was American Lemon; the size is five times bigger than our usual lemon in the Philippines.

IMG20221203131220.jpg

Avocado

Avocado is rich in protein, fiber, etc. Mom sells this for only 45 per kilo. It has a fine texture compared to other kinds of avocado.

IMG20221203131535.jpg

IMG20221203131609.jpg

Jackfruit

Jackfruit is one of my favorites. The fruits were still young when I visited that time. It is sweet and crunchy and has potassium, fiber, vitamin C, and many more nutrients. This is one of our ingredients when we have our Molido Candy (sweet potato, grated coconut, sugar, jackfruit, and vanilla) business.

IMG20221203131025.jpg

Coconut

Their dwarf coconut came from my and my husband's house. I can't contain myself being happy knowing it's growing well. Manganese is one of its nutrients for bone health.


Vegetables

IMG20221203131704.jpg

IMG20221203131323.jpg

Spinach

Spinach has a variety of nutrients like Vitamin C, Iron, Magnesium, etc.
Since this is very easy to plant, most of us have this at home.
You can cook this in different dishes like utan bisaya or ginisang alugbati.
I have noticed you can nurture fatter ones if you plant their seeds.
How about you, do you have plenty of this in your garden?

IMG20221203131141.jpg

Malunggay/ Horse Raddish

Malunggay is rich in vitamin C and other nutrients.
This is also good for healing cuts or wounds and has tried this one many times, and I think it's effective.
They even share some with our neighbors with the branches so that they will have theirs at home.

IMG20221203131639.jpg

Taro (Gabi)

Taro (Gabi) contains carbohydrates and fiber and has more nutrients that benefit your body. I seldom see the such plant in the neighborhood. I am overwhelmed they still have a few.

I forgot that they have okra and saluyot at the back but do not take a photo. Maybe, next time.


Herb

IMG20221203131942.jpg

Lemon Grass

Lemon grass mixed with different dishes will give you a vibrant flavor and makes you ask for more.
People with hypertension often use this by boiling their leaves and stem.


Ornamental Plants

IMG20221203130557.jpg

Insulin Plant

Honestly, I don't know the name of this plant. My husband told me it's an Insulin Plant.
I only find it so unique and attractive and situated near the entrance of their abode.

IMG20221203130655.jpg

Calachuchi Plant

I'm sorry, but again, my husband told me it's a Calachuchi Plant in pink color.

IMG20221203130636.jpg

Santan

I remember when I was a kid, I sup the tip of the flower because the juice tasted sweet. Isn't it weird, right? 😂 The round shape made it even more beautiful.

I bet you agree with me why I called my parents' garden forest-like.😂

That's all for today. Thank you so much for taking the time to read my blog, and have a nice day.🥰

Sort:  

Wow, very productive @missleray. Planitia lover pud imu mama. I'm sure you a have very fresh air there since many plants will give off oxygen.

Yes mam Haidz plantita gyud. Hehe

This is really a great ideas your parents cultivated in the your family so that in times of this when the economy is dynamic and things are flying high, you can put something in the soil to reap in future. As you even grow the plants for fashion or hobby, it would turn to be have some good values such as supporting the family needs; that's getting some to eat and selling the surplus.

Today, i could see that your gardens have been expanded with varieties of crops from citrus to fruits and vegetables: lemons, cocoyam, plantain, pineapple and coconut. All these are great farm produces that help our living. I appreciate your effort and hardworking for your family. Cheers!

Indeed , you are right.
Thank you for your kind and nice comments. Stay healthy and have a nice day.🥰

Congratulations @missleray! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain And have been rewarded with New badge(s)

You got more than 900 replies.
Your next target is to reach 1000 replies.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Check out the last post from @hivebuzz:

HiveBuzz World Cup Contest - Quarterfinals - Recap of Day 1
The Hive Gamification Proposal Renewal
Support the HiveBuzz project. Vote for our proposal!

Thank you so much.🥰

You're welcome @missleray! Have a nice day 😊👍

Dami naman tanim dyan po. Talagang hobby niyo po pala talaga mag tanim-tanim. Maganda din yan para tipid din lalo nat ang mamahal ng mga bilihin ngayon.

Si mama at papa ang masipag talaga. Hehe..
Meron din laming tanim sa Amin pero di kasing dami nang sa Kanila.
Tama Ka makakatipod talaga.
Thanks for dropping by.☺️

Manually curated by EwkaW from the @qurator Team. Keep up the good work!

Thank you so much 🥰

I think this is the first time I ever have seen a pineapple grow! And I actually lived across the road from a field when I lived in Hawaii! But I was only a baby then.

We have a lot here in the Philippines. Hehe
If you can visit here you will see more of them for real.☺️
Thanks for dropping by.

It is really nice to wake up looking at this view. Nice kaayu basta daghan tanom jud.

Tama Ka.☺️
Thank you.☺️

you're welcome sis

I bet you always eat “utan” because of these available resources in the backyard! Hahhah.

The santan sipping is legit! I tried that too when I was a kid!

Yes Chan mura nalang kog kanding gud. Hahah

Abi nako ako ra . Haha

What is the sound of the goat?

Ahahahaha...oink man guro😂

That's one of my dreams.. To have a home with own garden..Ang ganda ng view sa paligid Ng inyong kabahayan, super nakakarelax for sure riyan.

Fresh na fresh sis. Thank you for dropping by.🥰

I do love the forest-like place of yours. You will not buy vegetables in the market because it's already in your backyard. Nasangit akong mata sa lemon🍋😍

Korek mam Jo..hehe
Linghod pana sila nga lemon mam. Hehe

Hala how much more ug fully grown na gyud mam. Amazing

Yes mam Jo dagko jud kaayo.

Woww.. kadagko sa Lemon oyyyy 😍.
I could remember my father, he likes to plant also, but we don't have our own land. We're just living in the school's property where he was working as a janitor but still he planted more than 10 kinds of fruit trees such as 2 chico trees, 2 jackfruit, 3 senigwelas,1 tambis, 2 variety of avocados, 3 big guava tree, 1 caimeto, iba 😁, 2 variety banana tree, papaya and I could still remember the pineapple also . ❤️

Linghod pa gani na nga lemon mam. Hehe
I salute your father for taking the risk to plant a lot of plants even if you didn't own it. Buhi g guro kaayo mo. Hehe

Hahaha buhi raman pud.
I have a lots of memories on each of that trees 😁😂.
I could still remember when we were high schoolers we used to climb and stay on our roof while eating the tambis while watching at our handsome neighbor 😂.
I got hyperacidity because of the iba. Adto nlang ko puyo sa punoan cge ug kitkit sa iba.
Every time I got bored I will climd on the sinegwelas unya mag emote.
And so much more.

I really love to have my own garden as well.

You can. Even a vacant lot at home you can plant anything. Hehe
Thanks for dropping by.☺️

Sarap naman ganitong pamumuhay. Dream retirement namin is to have a garden sa backyard where we can plant vegetables and fruit bearing trees (if the size of the land allows haha). Of course di rin mawawala mga ornamental plants.

I can imagine waking up early in the morning, drinking my coffee while looking at our garden. ❤️ Manifesting this dream! ❤️❤️❤️

Opo napakafresh sa surroundings.
Matutupad yan. Hehe
Ipag pray kita.☺️

 last year  

Wow your parents really have a garden with a lot of plants. Yes your mother is right, planting our own vegetables helps a lot in the budget.