New Types of seeds, Compost teas, and bare feets!

in HiveGarden2 years ago

Good Day Everyone!

The night before last, I went out in the evening to go collect horse poo that had been cooking in the sun and was already like dust. I needed something to bulk out the soil I had and also to amend it even more as it still wasn't correct!

horse poo to the Left, soil to bulk out to the Right.. And some cow poo on the floor!
horspoo.jpg


And today I had to go out on the street to look for things to use as pots. I already had 2 tetra Pak cartons to use from the house but I needed to repot the Butternut Squash, but there are 3 of them!

These are the two I had already, I cut off the tops and put a sharp knife in the bottoms and some on the sides. I have used these many times before as I normally have them in abundance from my milk consuming habit, but since in Mexico, I buy milk in bags hahah..


Tetra! From making wallets to being used as plant pots, these are epic!

new pots.jpg

newpots2.jpg

Out on the street I found these white cups and a really old minging tetra pak. The white cups are great as they will reflect the sun and stop the roots from ever getting hot (which kills plants)

newpotstreet.jpg

Same deal, stabby stabby with a knife to make drainage and also ventilation wholes on the sides for the roots.

3 plants, and now 5 pots!

newhome butternut.jpg

As you see these cups are big cups! All plants like pumpkins and squashes have a huge root system, and that's why I like to use long deep pots for them, same goes for the tetra pak.

More roots means more fruits!


The First of 5!

This soil now, is pretty much perfect. The only thing I would like to add would be perlite/vermiculite, those small white stones. And some worm poo!

potting 1.jpg

butternut to pot.jpg

The roots - Its new moon so they have exploded in the last days since I repotted them. The soil is very fluffy so the roots find it easy to grow in.

butterroots.jpg

Perfect time to repot!

butterroots2.jpg


Well at home there for another good 10days

newpotbutter.jpg

3butter.jpg


beans1.jpg

I noticed these beans above could be swapped pots too so they got a new home. The problem is that I don't know what beans are what now and what ones need a thing to grow up on hahah

The roots wasn't looking too great but they were in the soil from before and was quite water logged with no drainage.

newbeanpots.jpg

Now I've caught up with them and used all available pots

newpotbean.jpg


Collecting Seeds of something New!

In Mexico they have Green tomatoes as well as red ones and it was time to get some seeds of them! They are used mainly for making Salsa Verde - Green Sauce and I use a lot of green sauce! plus whatever I don't eat I will sell at the shop - Growing food in Mexico is like printing your own money I have already been told!

We had some in the fridge and there seemed to be two distinct Phenotypes, one Green one and one with Purple. Maybe I'm just being stupid and one was older than the other but anyway I decided to keep both seeds separate just incase.

greenone.jpg

greenone2.jpg

These are very soft and ripe, but they stay green. I haven't yet seen any other tomatoes in Mexico but I'm certain there are yellow ones and maybe black ones because this one Below was quite purple!

purple1.jpg


Ill let them dry out for at least 10 days, it might need to be longer.

WARNING!!

..This next part contains Poo!


I was wondering what I should do with the rock hard cow pats, there wasn't many of them and too break them up was way too much effort, so I decided to use them to start of a compost tea to use when plants are bigger and to keep things organic.

cowpoo.jpg

The compost I started off months ago, I thought by now would have a layer in the bottom to add to this but sadly I forgot to drill drainage holes in the bottom of the recycled "found in the street" laundry basket - and wow, its not good. No chance I even bothered to take photos whilst gaggin', and needless to say, I ruined that compost completely.

tea.jpg

So no compost for the compost tea.. But I did add horse poo and some nitrogen, and some good handfuls of the soil. I can always add things to it later! I will stir it everyday and keep it in the sun. If it gets to stinky which it should, I'll move it to another rooftop space hahahah!!


Have a great day! Big Love,

@movingman


VISIT

skogen banner first.png

Sort:  

hello good friend I like natural plants like you, especially growing myself makes me sweat and clear my complex brain, now my crop is big and I am happy to grow flowers.

Hi! I am happy when I get big flowers too!! happy harvest!

 2 years ago (edited) 

You just gave me an idea that I can also use carabao poo in my garden. I am lucky because there are lots of Carabao pooh from my relatives. Good evening!

Nice! are these goats? Carabao?

 2 years ago  

Both goat and carabao

Making great progress 👍