You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Late Summer Garden Report

in HiveGarden2 years ago

We also have had a big problem with powdery mildew and some sort of fungus, it has spread through our areca palms that we have for sale, luckily they are not ready to sell and I hope it is gone before it is time to sell them. He has been treating them with something. We grow Seminole squash, they grow a vine that takes up most of the yard. Your flowers are beautiful. We can not grow much in the summer but now we are getting seeds started for our growing season. I love to grow Brussel sprouts but the last few winters have been too hot to grow them like you said I'm not that clairvoyant, and the weather forecasters sure don't know what's going to happen so I do not know if it is going to be cold enough to plant them. The problem is bugs, if it is too warm they infest them.

I almost forgot, my husband was reading about powdery mildew and one article said to write down when you had it and next year two weeks before that date, start spraying for it because once you get it, you will get it next year. I do not know if it is true but worth the try.

My cucumbers did not do well either, but nothing does well here in the summer, other than okra and Seminole squash they grow great.

Sort:  

That's an interesting suggestion. But since I wasn't paying attention I don't know what date the powdery mildew showed up. insert eye roll I'll just need to pay more attention next year. And also try to plant varieties that are resistant to that problem.

We are still fighting it, and also something else. The new plants that we started from seeds are getting about 2 inches and rotting at the base, I am not sure why.