Garden Journal: Inspection With Mom

in HiveGardenlast month (edited)

I didn't go to the office today, and I had a few chores to attend to at home, which I did in the morning. I had to fetch water, sweep the compound, and run a few errands for my dad. I completed these chores within a few hours in the morning and still have some time to myself.

I was lazing around, a typical case of being busy doing nothing meaningful. Since today is the only work-free day and I still have enough time, having completed my chores earlier, I decided to go inspect our farm with my mom.

When we got to the farm, I discovered that my pineapple, almost ready for harvesting and consumption, had been taken away, probably by thieves. Our garden has no fence around it, so it was easy for anyone to walk in and do whatever they wanted. Also, my mom discovered that all her pumpkin leaves had been stolen or uprooted by an unknown person or persons.

Obviously, they were kind enough to leave some for us. It actually hurts when you put in a lot of strength and energy to cultivate only for another person to harvest and consume. Fortunately, we won't have to deal with that for a long time, as preparations are underway to put a protective wall around our farm, more like a fence.

I went over to the other side of the garden to check on the maize my mom planted, but unfortunately, some had been destroyed by the heavy rain that flooded everywhere on Wednesday, and the remaining ones are yet to produce anything.

The plantain/banana farm was the next place to check out. Unfortunately, the plantains were also victims of the flood. The banana plants survived because they had supports to prevent them from falling, but not the plantains.

We also decided to fill some bags of cement with sand for planting yams. It's been a long time since Mom told my sister and me to do so, but procrastination has gotten the best of us.

We started by digging up some black soil in our compound. The soil has lots of impurities and dirt. So we had to sort them out and remove them first before filling up the bags.

It was a tedious task having to bend for hours, removing dirt from the soil, and the sun was not being friendly at all; the heat from the scorching sun was intense.

We managed to fill up nine empty bags of cement with sand. Mom will get the yam seedlings from the market tomorrow, and we will be planting them on Wednesday.

We got tired and decided to stop. I rounded up by gathering the dirt we had collected earlier and putting it in a corner of the farm. Since they were non-decomposable materials and wet as well, I left them to dry up. I'll be going back to burn them later in the evening.

I got some waterleaf, which would be used by my big sister to prepare a delicious vegetable soup in the evening. I can't wait to savor it. Mom and I left the farm after we were done, to bathe and have some rest. I'm glad I didn't waste the whole day lazing around. I'll give an update once we start planting the yams.

Posted Using InLeo Alpha

Posted Using InLeo Alpha

Sort:  
 last month  

Thankyou for your entry in the Garden Journal challenge!


image.png

You've been curated by @gardenhive on behalf of the HIVE GARDEN COMMUNITY! We support gardening, homesteading, cannabis growers, permaculture and other garden related content. Delegations to the curation account, @gardenhive, are welcome!