Gardening Season 2023 - A storm that destroyed a lot!

in HiveGarden9 months ago

Hello garden lovers! Today's post is kind of hard to make and looking back at these photos is sad but it's part of the gardening journey and life in general so I thought I would keep you updated...


1.jpg

Last week we were hit by a storm - rain, thunder and very strong wind that made a lot of damage. First wave of storm happened on Wednesday and the second one on Friday. It was really scary as I've never witnessed anything like this before... The morning after the first storm I went outside to see what happened and the view was not nice at all! First I noticed that a lot of figs fell off and a small branch but luckily the tree was still in a very good condition...


Unfortunately, our two young apple trees didn't survive. This year they finally started to give us a decent amount of fruits and it's all gone now. For me, this was the saddest consequence for the storm when it comes to our garden.


Our biggest pear tree was still standing so we tried to give it more support and other three were completely ripped out. Smaller fig tree almost ended up completely flat but somehow it was still attached so we also added support. Now we'll see if that is enough for these two trees to recover...


Cherry tomatoes were also hit hard and we did our best to save them - I think it will work and they are going to be fine.


8.jpg

Raspberries kind of survived and even though it would be a shame not to harvest as much as we could, it's one of those things I know it will come back in abundance next year.


9.jpg

Here's one of our pear trees that ended up in our neighbor's garden, lol.


10.jpg

Both our and our neighbor's corn ended up in the same position and judging by the end result of the storm you can clearly see where it came from.


11.jpg

Plum tree area ended up looking so messy but I'm glad most of the trees are okay. Some are slightly bent over to one side but I hope that's something we can fix.


12.jpg

That one plum tree that was so heavy with fruits it's mostly gone. It was already so heavy, storm could easily destroy it.


Since I didn't want to have too many photos in one post, I will make another one with shots of the clean up we did these past three days. These storms also ripped out the roof from our shed (we already fixed that) and from my brother's big garage/mechanical workshop so financial expenses are another thing we are dealing with. I am grateful that our house had no damage but the place where I live looks so sad and devastating, some houses were completely destroyed, there a lot of big fallen trees etc. I am just thankful that it's over now and I hope it won't happen again! Thank you for stopping by, I'll see you in the next post! <3


nikolina.jpg

Sort:  

Sorry about the garden! but it's so cool that you have Raspberry garden too. Is it difficult growing them? do they need certain temperature to grow?

 9 months ago  

It's actually so easy to grow raspberries or at least it has been for us. But there's a lot of parts of Serbia that has lands full of raspberries. We only got four seedlings few years ago and they just keep spreading, we could probably re-plant more if we had room. :)

Wow that must of been one heck of a storm!

 9 months ago  

It was! So scary but it's gone now and I hope it won't repeat.

 9 months ago  

Oh my! I would be devastated by all that devastation! I'm so sorry! I hope a lot of it recovers.

 9 months ago  

To me the most devastating thing were the trees as they take years to grow. Since the storm hit different parts of our country and made a lot of damage in our agriculture, I assume everything will be more expensive now.

 9 months ago  

We are so sorry about the storm and hope your garden gets going again soon!

 9 months ago  

Thank you for the support and kind wishes, I appreciate it! ❤️

The storms this year have been devastating to many farms and gardens. I am sorry yours was one. Your poor trees!

 9 months ago  

It was hard but somehow we made peace with it. I try to remind myself it's something we (people) cannot control. Since we never experienced anything like this before, it was quite shocking but at least now we know things like this are possible here and maybe we can better prepare for the future.