Gardening Season 2023 - Another August update

in HiveGarden9 months ago

Hello garden lovers! In this post I'll share some photos I took yesterday. It was a cloudy day and short rainfalls would come periodically which was great for the garden but also overall as a little bit of a refreshment after hot summer days...


1.jpg

Garden overview


2.jpg

This is one out of two aronia berry (chokeberry) we have. They have been added to our garden couple of years ago for the first time and this season there's more berries than last year so I hope they will keep on thriving. Chokeberries can be used in so many different ways but since we still don't have enough to make something out of them, we just eat them raw. I guess we could dry them, I've seen those ones being sold in many healthy food stores.


3.jpg

Cabbage is covering up a big portion of our garden now! I love seeing this as it reminds me how small cabbage was when we planted it and looking at veggies and fruits growing, thriving and doing well always makes me happy and grateful!


4.jpg

Red hot chili peppers? I brought a bunch of these green ones to my friends who absolutely loves spicy food, I've never seen someone with such tolerance for spice and she confirmed these are really spicy! I want to give her the red ones and see her reaction, haha. On the opposite, my tolerance for spicy food is so low, even just a tiny bit of spice makes my mouth burn and brings tears to my eyes so I don't even dare to try our own chili peppers.


5.jpg

Beetroot looks a little bit crowded, lol. When I was a kid, I used to hate beetroot but later on when I gave it another try, I really liked it. We use it to make a salad just by cooking it until it's a little bit soft and tender and then just slice it, add some seasoning, oil and vinegar and it makes a really nice salad. We also use it for fermentation to eat during the cold months when the garden is resting.


6.jpg

This evening we are going to harvest more tomatoes for another round of tomato juice making. After harvesting and washing tomatoes and preparing bottles, tomorrow morning we can start the process by cutting tomatoes and cooking it. I hope I'll take some photos to share more details about it.


8.jpg

This photo turned out so bright but these used to be our two beds of strawberries. As you can tell, or maybe you can't because it's all merged together at this point, strawberries decided to spread out like crazy and now we are left with so many of them we could easily dedicate half of our garden space to this fruit. I am not sure what we will do with all of them, maybe we can give some away if anyone in our community needs some.


9.jpg

This is where cucumbers used to be, the ones for making pickles and it's just one of the areas that needs to be cleaned up and sorted. Same goes for zucchini, corn, big part of potatoes... This is my least favorite task as it reminds me that gardening season is coming to an end plus it's a very daunting chore but it needs to be done.


Thank you for stopping by and checking out this post! See you in another one soon and, as always, happy gardening! :)


nikolina.jpg

Sort:  

Thanks for sharing your garden. As far as the strawberries go it might bring in some money if you sold them. Strawberries have the ability to put out runners which can take up a large amount of space. Some people call them invasive for this reason.

 8 months ago  

Now I can see why some people call them invasive, we never had them spread out this much! Maybe I'll try to offer some for sale and see how that goes. :)

Sometimes this can be a good thing as it gives you lots of fruit to use and sell. In my case If I could have gotten my mint to sprout I would not have to worry about my yard and whether I might discover a mouse in my house. 😉😉😁😁

Manually curated by ewkaw from the @qurator Team. Keep up the good work!

This is the first time that I have seen this kind of berry, is it somehow related to cherry?

 8 months ago  

To be honest, I am not sure if it's related to cherry, I think it's not but I'll do more research! :) It doesn't taste like cherry for sure, haha.

I see, thank you for the response and have a nice day ahead.