First Cucumbers in My Garden

in HiveGarden2 years ago

Hello gardeners. I continue to share with you the developments in my hobby garden. There are some developments this week that make me very happy. I will list them in a moment, but first let me talk about what has happened in the last ten days.

Merhaba bahçeseverler. Sizlerle hobi bahçemdeki gelişmeleri paylaşmaya devam ediyorum. Bu hafta beni oldukça sevindiren gelişmeler var. Bunları birazdan sıralayacağım fakat önce son on gün içerisinde neler oldu bundan bahsedeyim.

Interestingly, even though we were in July, the weather started to get rainy and cool. The scorching heat of two weeks ago gave way to heavy rain and hail. If I say we haven't seen much sun for a week, it's a good place. Despite this, the plants in my garden showed growth.

Çok ilginç bir şekilde Temmuz ayında olmamıza rağmen hava yağışlı ve serin geçmeye başladı. İki hafta önceki yakıcı sıcaklar yerini yoğun yağmura ve dolu yağışına bıraktı. Bir haftadır pek fazla güneş görmedik desem yeridir. Buna rağmen bahçemdeki bitkiler büyüme gösterdiler.

By the way, I should mention this. In my previous article, I wrote something about the need to give fertilizer to the garden. Very good advice came in the comments. The most striking of these was that I had to give the natural food wastes at home to the garden. As a result of my research, I came to the conclusion that foods such as eggs, vegetables and fruits are very good fertilizer materials for the garden soil. However, I had a problem, I did not have enough time to collect domestic waste manure. For this reason, I used natural animal manure from the village. Next year, I will collect household waste and use it for the garden when the time comes. I would also like to thank everyone who tried to support me with their ideas in the previous post. :)

Bu arada şu hususa da değinmeliyim. Daha önceki yazımda bahçeye gübre vermem gerektiği konusunda bir şeyler yazmıştım. Yorumlarda çok güzel tavsiyeler geldi. Bunlardan en dikkatimi çeken evdeki doğal gıda atıklarını bahçeye vermem gerektiği idi. Araştırmalarım sonucunda yumurta, sebze ve meyve gibi yiyeceklerin atıkların bahçe toprağı için çok iyi birer gübre malzemeleri olduğu kanaatine ben de vardım. Buna rağmen şöyle bir sorunum vardı, evsel atık gübresi biriktirmek için yeterli zamanım yoktu. Bu sebeple köyden gelen doğal hayvansal gübreyi kullandım. Önümüzdeki yıl ise evsel atıkları biriktirip zamanı geldiğinde bahçe için kullanacağım. Önceki gönderide bana fikirleriyle destek olmaya çalışan herkese de teşekkür ediyorum. :)

Let's get back to our topic. Heavy rains and little sunshine showed different effects on different seedlings. Let's start with tomatoes. Among the plants in my garden, tomato is the plant that needs the sun the most. Due to the lack of sunny weather, fruit production almost stopped. On the fruits from a week ago and did not show ripening. I've seen some of the blooms fall off as well, but I know that with the return of sunny weather, it will start producing flowers and fruits quickly.

Tekrar dönelim konumuza. Yoğun yağışlar ve az güneşli hava farklı fidelerde farklı etkiler gösterdi. Domatesten başlayayım. Bahçemdeki bitkiler arasında güneşe en çok ihtiyaç duyan bitki domates. Güneşli havanın azlığı sebebiyle meyve üretimi neredeyse durdu. Bir hafta önceki meyveler üzerinde ve olgunlaşma göstermedi. Açan çiçeklerden de bir kısmının döküldüğünü gördüm ama güneşli havanın geri gelmesiyle hızla çiçek ve meyve üretimine başlayacağını biliyorum.

The surprise of this week was cucumber for me. I saw my first vegetable on cucumber plants. I am so happy with this that I can't explain. It was extremely promising for me to start getting the fruits of my labor. I am also proud to share the photo of our first cucumber with you. Despite the fact that the weather was not hot, the good rains developed the cucumbers more, this is no doubt. Peppers also grew with the effect of precipitation. I've seen small peppercorns in them, but they're not big enough yet and shouldn't be plucked. I have no doubt that peppers need more sunlight as well, and I am hopefully waiting for the weather to return to normal seasonal values ​​and enough sun to come.

Bu haftanın sürprizi benim için salatalık oldu. Salatalık bitkileri üzerinde ilk sebzemi gördüm. Bundan o kadar mutlu oldum ki anlatamam. Emeğimin karşılığını almaya başlamak benim için son derece ümit vericiydi. İlk salatalığımızın fotoğrafını sizlerle paylaşmaktan da gurur duyuyorum. Havanın sıcak olmamasına rağmen yağışların iyi olması salatalıkları daha çok geliştirdi, bu kuşkusuz. Biberler de yağış etkisiyle büyüme gösterdi. İçlerinde küçük biber tanelerini gördüm fakat henüz yeterince büyümüş değil ve koparılmaması gerekiyor. Biberlerin de daha çok güneş ışığına ihtiyaçları olduğu konusunda hiç kuşkum yok ve ümitle havaların normal mevsim değerlerine dönmesini ve yeterli güneş gelmesini bekliyorum.

Let me share with you another development that makes me happy. The purslane that I planted on the side of my garden yielded a lot of fruit and I gathered it. I can cook them at home and even use them as appetizers. I recommend you to make purslane appetizer with yogurt. If you add garlic and olive oil, you will find a wonderful taste. :)

Beni mutlu eden bir başka gelişmeyi daha sizlerle paylaşayım. Bahçemin kenarına öylesine diktiğim semiz otları epey ürün verdi ve topladım. Bunları evde yemek yapabiliyor ve hatta meze olarak kullanabiliyorum. Size de yoğurtlu semiz otu mezesi yapmanızı tavsiye ederim. Sarmısak ve zeytin yağı da eklerseniz şahane bir lezzet bulmuş olacaksınız. :)

This week, I shared with you the current situations in my hobby garden. The process continues and I look forward to it. I also do the necessary work from time to time and observe the development of the garden. I will inform you again. See you soon, bye.

Bu hafta da hobi bahçemdeki güncel durumları sizlerle paylaştım. Süreç devam ediyor ve ben heyecanla bekliyorum. Yer yer gerekli işleri de yapıyorum ve bahçenin geilişimini gözlemliyorum. Tekrar sizleri bilgilendireceğim. Görüşmek üzere, hoşçakalın.

Sort:  
 2 years ago  

A squirrel took my first cucumber!

rabbits devour my plants

 2 years ago  

This reminds me of my plan in making cucumber juice, I might as well going to plant my own cucumber then.

they generate a decent amount of high quality water when juiced!

Thank you for sharing this amazing post on HIVE!
  • Your content got selected by our fellow curator @hafizullah & you just received a little thank you via an upvote from our non-profit curation initiative!

  • You will be featured in one of our recurring curation compilations and on our pinterest boards! Both are aiming to offer you a stage to widen your audience within and outside of the DIY scene of hive.

Join the official DIYHub community on HIVE and show us more of your amazing work and feel free to connect with us and other DIYers via our discord server: https://discord.gg/mY5uCfQ !

If you want to support our goal to motivate other DIY/art/music/homesteading/... creators just delegate to us and earn 100% of your curation rewards!

Stay creative & hive on!

another really cool thing you can do, is brew what is called Effective micro organisms and spray that on the compost for it to decompose faster. the microbes will break down even the dirt the plants are already in, into more bioavailable nutrients for the plants
https://www.freshandalive.com/products/supplements/probiotics/3800.html#

F6346B0A-DCC1-4091-A62C-077507BD799F.jpeg

I love cucumber, it's delicious to make salad.
growing yourself makes it more healthies.
Thanks for sharing your garden:)