Our garden in July

in HiveGarden2 months ago

A couple of days ago, I have realized that we haven't watered our garden even once this year. Of course we water the vegetables in the greenhouses every couple of days, but we haven't done it outside yet.

I remember last year it was so hot that we had to water the garden every day. We went to the garden at 6 AM and spent almost 2 hours watering. Every single day. I hated that hose so much. We should have a few dry warm days this week, and we may have to take out the hose again. We have also promised to water our neighbour's garden as they're on vacation, so it looks like it will be a busy week.

We still go to the garden every day in the morning and in the evening, but it's not to water the plants or to collect the slugs like we used to, but to check on early blight on the tomatoes and remove any infected leaves. It has become such a habit that when we can't do it I feel like we're abandoning them.

Today, we harvested some vegetables and herbs for lunch. It's the first time that we took some potatoes along with zucchinis, basil, chives, and santolina that tastes just like olives. It's been such a great year for zucchinis for us. Luckily, we like eating them as we've been having them every day for the last two weeks 😊

1.jpg

I can't wait to harvest the eggplants. It's my first time growing them and I couldn't be happier. I planted two varieties to see which one will be doing better, and so far they're both doing well.

Actually, one of our neighbours was surprised to see that this eggplant is white and asked me when it will become purple, so I had to explain that there are more varieties than just the one that you can buy in a shop.

2.jpg

The white ones are long while the purple ones are becoming chubby. I think this one needs one more week before the harvest. I'm going to make Sicilian caponata which is my new favourite meal.

3.jpg

Last time I showed you various tomatoes, and today I will show you some peppers. I didn't pay too much attention since they started flowering and I was surprised to see that they become quite big so quickly. It's great as they will be ready when our family will visit us in two weeks. They love to eat pepper with bread and butter, so I'm sure that they will enjoy them.

3a.jpg

These two are growing along each other like best friends. They will turn red in a few weeks. Don't get confused though, these are sweet peppers. In Slovakia, we like to preserve them for winter, but I think that we will eat them fresh.

3b.jpg

Three babies on one plant and many more flowers on top of the plant - if you have a chance to build a greenhouse just do it. The difference in the produce is huge.

3c.jpg

The cucumbers are not doing well at all, but every now and then we get one that we eat in the garden. It doesn't make sense to bring home just one cucumber 😊

4.jpg

Kohlrabi is becoming one of our favourite vegetables. It is easy to grow and so versatile. At the moment we love kohlrabi salad with carrots, a bit of oil, vinegar, salt and pepper. It's easy to make, and so delicious.

I planted 12 kohlrabies in spring, then another 8 and yesterday another 5 to ensure continuous harvest. I will plant a few more in a week or so again.

5.jpg

Swiss chard is growing out of proportion and we can't keep up with it. It's such a beautiful plant.

6.jpg

I thought that I planted bush beans, but it looks like they are pole beans as the vines grow differently than what I expected. I will wait for a couple of days, and then we may need to add some poles, so that they don't fall over.

7.jpg

It's my first time growing kale, and I already know that it's not the last time. Next year, I will get the purple one too.

8.jpg

I planted 4 pattypan seeds, and I got 3 strong plants. The 4th one struggles, but it might pick up the speed too. Let's see if we will be able to harvest something.

9.jpg

The beetroot is ready for harvest too, but it needs to wait a bit as our fridge is too full right now 😊 I will make crunchy beetroot chips with a dill/garlic dip soon.

10.jpg

We finally got our first heirloom tomatoes! The plants are huge, but they haven't produced yet. I can't wait to see how big this one will grow.

11.jpg

I planted a lot of dill for the pickle, but as the pickling cucumbers are growing poorly we use it with zucchini, cream cheese dips, potatoes, etc.

12.jpg

I've picked some flowers, but I left a few too, so that they go to seed and next year we will have even more plants.

13.jpg

This is rather random, but just to give you an idea about how many zucchinis we have. We took 3 on Saturday, 2 today and there are still many of them on the plants. I've started to make rosti with zucchini as this is the only way how we can eat so many of them. And as you can see we managed to harvest a few beans too 😊 It's ridiculous, but I just couldn't let them hanging on the plants.

14.jpg

And to the other part of our garden...

We have two large elderflower trees. The berries are very healthy when eaten in moderation. Last year, all of them were eaten by birds before we got to them, and I hope that this year they will share them with us too. It looks good so far, but birds are not stupid and they will not eat them ripe.

15.jpg

My favourite herb that I don't know how to use is tangerine sage. It smells so good, but I just don't know how to cook with it, so I only add it to cocktails or teas. I wish I could somehow let you smell it through the photo 😊

16.jpg

Marigolds seem to be doing their job well as we have no aphids or other bugs in the greenhouse. They also look so good!

17.jpg

18.jpg

Hibiscus has started blooming! Those flowers are as big as palm of my hand. They don't bloom long, but when they do they make our garden look so pretty.

19.jpg

Last time I showed you flower buds on my succulents - they are blooming now!

20.jpg

And yes, hydrangeas...

You might be fed up with them, but they look more beautiful every day...

21.jpg

22.jpg

23.jpg

25.jpg

The phlox is not hiding its beauty either...

24.jpg

26.jpg

Today is such an exciting day as we signed the purchase agreement for our new house, and we also got the keys! Do you know what it means? It means that I will show you around our new garden soon 😊

It will take some time to change it to our dream meadow garden, and I will happily share the progress with you. And of course we will keep our vegetable garden too, so I will keep showing you our successes as well as our mishaps.

Happy gardening and see you next time!

Sort:  

Yes!... Your garden is an endless source of flavors and colors!... A new 100% enjoyable post!... Thank you very much for sharing @plantfuljourney friend!!

!discovery 40
!VSC
!PIZZA

@jlinaresp has sent VSC to @plantfuljourney

This post was rewarded with 0.1 VSC to support your work.
Join our photography communityVisual Shots
Check here to view or trade VSC Tokens
Be part of our Curation Trail


@jlinaresp ha enviado VSC a @plantfuljourney

Éste post fue recompensado con 0.1 VSC para apoyar tu trabajo.
Únete a nuestra comunidad de fotografía Visual Shots
Consulte aquí para ver o intercambiar VSC Tokens
Se parte de nuestro Trail de Curación


Uses: 14/25


This post was shared and voted inside the discord by the curators team of discovery-it
Join our Community and follow our Curation Trail
Discovery-it is also a Witness, vote for us here
Delegate to us for passive income. Check our 80% fee-back Program

PIZZA!

$PIZZA slices delivered:
@jlinaresp(9/15) tipped @plantfuljourney

You have a bountiful harvest, that's the amazing thing when you have your own garden no? Taking care of them is very therapeutic and later on, when they bear fruits, it will give you plenty of harvest. Your flowers looks like in full bloom too and they are all so beautiful. Looking at them everyday can make someone feel more relax and calm. They are perfect in anyone's garden, only for those who love them of course (✿^‿^)

 2 months ago  

the harvest looks very delicious as an appetizing lunch dish.😍