Hello Strangers! Still Planting and Planking, and Everything in Between

in HiveGardenlast year

April 2023 Garden Journal.png

Hello my friends! This may be my longest absence from blogging, but it truly has been the busiest season of life in a long time. Lots good, plenty stressful, but I'm happy to carve out a wee bit of time today to check in with my fellow gardeners on Hive!

Given how busy things have been in these parts, my garden is well behind where it often is this time of year. At least as far as seedlings go! The weather was unusually warm in February, but took a turn in March making it tough to get much going outdoors. From here on out, however, I've got a new spot to get my seedlings started no matter the temperature: a new backyard greenhouse!

IMG_20230402_181607804_HDR.jpg

A dear friend was so thoughtful to gift me this amazing addition to our garden for my birthday this year. She did check in with @dksart first to make sure he was up to the task of putting it together. No small feat given the amount of parts...

IMG_20230331_133532314 (1).jpg

Just looking at the instructions made me dizzy. He's quite handy, however, so thank goodness for that!

IMG_20230329_190107979 (1).jpg

Over the course of the weekend it went from two boxes full of framing, panels and screws to a fully upright structure.

Greenhouse.jpg

It was hard to tell how big it would be from the photos on the box, but at about 6' x 10' it is plenty big enough for our novice endeavors. No mistaking it for a professional greenhouse, though it seems to be sturdy enough to withstand our usual weather, and also light enough to move it if ever necessary.

IMG_20230402_184039567.jpg

I'm excited to be able to start seeds outdoors earlier next year, and perhaps finally get some help extending my season. We will still have to fill in around the base to keep out critters, and possibly add some gravel to cover up the grass inside. For now though, I've got my small batch of seedlings moved in to stay warm and toasty, as well as out of the grasp of the birds who tend to poke around the soil snatch up my seeds before they can sprout!

IMG_20230404_121205891_HDR.jpg

Otherwise, the usual herbs are bouncing back like mad, and my one plant in the ground is starting to inch up day by day. The snow peas luckily survived some crazy fluctuations in temperature and storms, so hopefully I'll get to munch on fresh ones soon!

IMG_20230404_121742714.jpg

Until then, I'll enjoy the thought of an abundant harvest with the other new addition this spring...

IMG_20230325_173940705.jpg

Think it will bring me luck in the garden this year? If not, I'm right on brand at the farmers market. ;)

I'm not sure what the rest of this season will bring as far as free time to keep stopping by, but I will pop my head in when I can! I do so love to see what everyone is growing around the #HiveGarden world, and I appreciate @riverflows keeping me on the list despite my apparent ghosting of the community!





Banners by @riverflows, @woman-onthe-wing and @dksart

Sort:  

Your new tattoo is very colorful, truly incredible, and definitely one of a kind! It should bring you lots of luck! @plantstoplanks

!LADY

View or trade LOH tokens.


@ninahaskin, you successfully shared 0.1000 LOH with @plantstoplanks and you earned 0.1000 LOH as tips. (1/7 calls)

Use !LADY command to share LOH! More details available in this post.

Thank you @ninahaskin! I am so happy with how it turned out. Fruits and veggies are a beautiful muse!

Nice :)
!WINE
!LUV


Congratulations, @dksart You Successfully Shared 0.100 WINEX With @plantstoplanks.
You Earned 0.100 WINEX As Curation Reward.
You Utilized 1/2 Successful Calls.

wine_logo


Contact Us : WINEX Token Discord Channel
WINEX Current Market Price : 0.151


Swap Your Hive <=> Swap.Hive With Industry Lowest Fee (0.1%) : Click This Link
Read Latest Updates Or Contact Us

We bought a garden last year and I also prepared seedlings at home. I do not have a glasshouse, but I simply did it indoors and it all went well. I have lots of tomatoes, peppers, broccoli, cauliflower, salad and kohlrabi. Let's see how it will go as I will be gardening for the first time after almost 20 years 🙂

It's nice to hear from you again Katie!🙂 And your tattoo is amazing!

Hello @delishtreats! I hope all is well in your part of the world, though it sounds like it should be very abundant if all goes well with your seedlings! Gardening is such a wonderful activity. We used to start seeds indoors, but the room with the best light has turned into my office/Zoom room so I don't have as much space inside anymore.

After putting the tomatoes in the greenhouse yesterday I've already had a bunch more start to germinate! Hoping it helps the beans, squash, eggplant and the rest of what I have yet to plant, as well. Always a fun endeavor, and so rewarding when you can start harvesting and cooking what you pull from your own soil!


The rewards earned on this comment will go directly to the people( @rashid5 ) sharing the post on Twitter as long as they are registered with @poshtoken. Sign up at https://hiveposh.com.

 last year  

Welcome back Katie, I knew you would jump back in once the grow season started.

What a wonderful greenhouse, thank goodness we have our guys around to put it together, I could never put all those pieces in the right place and have it not collapse 😆

Peas oh yea, nature’s candy.
Nice to see you on hive again, always enjoy your work.

I'm like a seedling emerging from the dirt! ;)

Couldn't agree more on the appreciation for a handy partner! I might have been able to put it together over the course of a full week perhaps, not a weekend, haha. I keep him well fed for his labors, as do you, I'm sure!

Things thawing out in your part of the world yet? I look forward to catching back up with your gardening endeavors this season!

 last year  

Yes, we are finally getting past the frost. I am itching to plant peas, but I have been burnt before by sowing too early. I just love your greenhouse, what a romantic place to have, I think you need a futon to lay in among the flowers and look at the sky.

 last year  

That tattoo is sooo rad. I mean I saw it on Insta - but wow. And check out your amazing uber greenhouse - that's awesome. Double awesome. How's you flying back in for a quickie and getting the great post payout - clearly we all still love you and want you back! Sooo good to hear from you here, and of course we don't mind you disappearing as we know you'll always be back, and we love you all to bits.

Thank you! I'm so happy with how the tattoo came out. The artist still wants to add more to it, but we'll see. I'm happy for a little break for now!

The greenhouse is already having a positive impact on my germination rates! The weather has been warm the last few days here anyway, but all of my tomato seeds have popped after putting them in the greenhouse! I'll be excited to check in after work today to see how the others are coming along, too. So fun.

Definitely missed my Hive buddies. Especially since other than my farmers, I don't really have a lot of gardening pals in person!

 last year  

What a wonderful friend you have to gift you such an awesome addition for your gardening pleasure. You are really going to enjoy it. Congratulations!

Truly the best kind of friend! I'm incredibly grateful for the thoughtful and very useful gift! It's already becoming a refuge and happy place to visit daily.

I am so envious. I keep on thinking how we The Husband should put up a shade cloth structure to protect parts of our vegetable garden from the elements and certain critters. Pehaps there should be less thinking and more... 🤣🤣

Haha, well we've hinted at doing this for a while, so I am very grateful someone made the "doing" necessary for us. Hoping the current germination rate bodes well for a later harvest! Though the darn critters are always lurking, ready to enjoy the bounty. ;)

 last year  

Ôh that's an awesome greenhouse!! I also really like that tat! Look at ya flexing!! Are you back? Or it's just fake news? I am reading all the comments to be all caught up haha...

It is a wonderful addition to the yard! So happy to have a nice little spot to start all my seeds.

I'm back in fits and starts, perhaps. Taking the time when I can, but no promises as to frequency, as usual. 😂

 last year  

Hi Katie, sooo nice seeing you back, I just love your stunning tattoo, super talented artist!
I would love a greenhouse like that to grow some veggies.
Well done to @dksart for putting all those bits and pieces together, what a lovely gift from your friend 👌
We've given up as the monkeys destroy them, so mostly only grow spring onions and herbs. They even pull out root crops like carrots!
Happy gardening 🍅🥕

Those darn monkeys! We don't have any of those, but between the bugs, birds and other four-legged critters, they do keep us on our toes! This has definitely helped keep the birds from pecking in my seedlings and eating the seeds before they even start to germinate. Once I move them outside into the beds, however, the game is on as far as who gets to the harvests first! 😂