The family garden

in HiveGardenlast year

page1.jpg

Greetings hivers. It is the first time I visit you, it is a pleasure to write here. This Christmas I went to visit my aunt, this was the house where my grandparents lived, who passed away some years ago. Now it is other relatives who give warmth to the family nest. I was delighted to see that the tradition is still maintained. This house has a large garden, which is very fertile. I have tasted numerous fruits at different times of the year (tamarinds, guavas, medlars, cambures, lemons and even mangoes from a neighboring tree, whose land adjoined ours). My father has a great love for agriculture, so he takes great care of the harvest, undoubtedly an essential element for growth.

From my childhood I remember two large guava bushes, these were the favorites of the inhabitants of the community, with whom my grandmother always shared, that generosity remains as part of her legacy. These fruits were particularly sweet, their flavor was very characteristic and typical of the plants in my family's orchard. They also looked different, they were yellow and of average size. The guavas from other trees in the area (Caigüire, Cumaná) did not compare with this one, neither did the ones bought in the market or in some street stall. I could eat several because they were delicious.

page.jpg

As time went by, some bushes were cut down due to space and infrastructure issues. The tamarind tree, for example, was breaking the roof of the house, they had to intervene and restructure the space. My father, with the help of my uncle Orange, has planted a lot of apple and banana trees, which have given great harvests. These cambures are thicker than the criollos and are very different in taste. Although I don't like them as much, I have eaten some of them. In this case, I prefer the elongated and normal ones.

Visiting this place also brought other memories to my mind, that period when the passion for the land flowed through my veins, I still feel it, but now I am more cautious. Together with my father we started a plantation of chili peppers and paprika, we dedicated a lot of time to this project, the result was great. I felt very proud to harvest with my own hands, that satisfaction is really great. Unfortunately, I got sick with laryngopharyngitis and had to stay away from this stage.

page3.jpg

Checking the garden I came across two huge bushes of lemons, one of the traditional small ones and the other of a spice totally unknown to me, it is known as "cajero". I was impressed with its shape, physically it does not look like a lemon but a pear and even a vegetable. My dad told me that it is a hybrid, we made juice with some specimens and it tasted like tangerine and orange, so the combination must come from these two.

page4.jpg

It was very pleasing to return to this land and get to know all the new fruits that the land gives us. The joint effort will always give good results, sharing is one of the secrets of happiness. I loved learning and getting to know about a species of lemon, so I will say goodbye for now. Until next time.

Tarjeta de presentación (Hive)2.jpg

All photos are from my personal archive.

Sort:  


The rewards earned on this comment will go directly to the people( @ramisey ) sharing the post on Twitter as long as they are registered with @poshtoken. Sign up at https://hiveposh.com.

That was a good source of organic fruits in your yard Ma'am @ramisey ..

That's right, the soil is quite fertile and yields delicious fruits. Thanks for stopping by and commenting.

That is why we should really take good care of our natural resources.

🤩🤩🤩best place

Definitely the best. Thank you for your visit.