Garden Journal Newsletter: 9 Feb 2022 - A Mini Gardening Challenge to Win HIVE!

in HiveGarden2 years ago

With the co-inciding of the end of the Garden Journal challenge AND the newsletter this week, I thought I'd do something a little different for this newsletter, otherwise I feel I'd be repeating myself twice in a week. I know us gardeners are mad keen crazy plant folk, but let's not push it too far, right?

CC_Express_20220209_1752100.8943570792633162.png

Instead, I'd love to take this opportunity to invite a conversation about the community on HIVE - for an opportunity to WIN HIVE! My favourite comment will win 5 HIVE.

All you need to do is answer one or more of the questions below as a comment! Feel free to add a photo! Your comment should be a minimum of 50 words. Feel free to get creative!

  1. Who is the gardener you admire most on HIVE and why? Make sure you tag them!
  2. What is the most interesting gardening information you've learnt since you've been on HIVE?
  3. Did you apply this information to your own gardening efforts? How did it turn out?
  4. What would you MOST like to do in your garden this season and why?
  5. What is your favourite plant and why?

Don't forget to comment and engage with other gardeners, and happy gardening!!

@minismallholding will be back for the usual edition of the Garden Journal newsletter next week, so don't forget to keep sharing!

With Love,

image.png

My Post.jpg

HG SMALL.png

Join The Hive Garden Community! The HIVE GARDEN COMMUNITY supports gardening, homesteading, cannabis growers, permaculture and other garden related content. Delegations to the curation account, @gardenhive, are welcome! Find our community here!

Are you on HIVE yet? Earn for writing! Referral link for FREE account here!


Sort:  
Loading...
 2 years ago  

What would you MOST like to do in your garden this season and why?

Greetings @riverflows there are lots that I wanted to do in my garden this season but my priority is to create more raised beds and secure them with some kind of fence to keep my few poultries out of my crops. Good afternoon and have a nice day ahead (^_^)

 2 years ago  

I spent a LOT of time keeping poultry out of garden with fencing so I know exactly what you mean!

 2 years ago (edited) 

You are right (^_^)

I should have known it right from the start (I should have put up a fence). Now, my sweet potato vine crops are a mess.

 2 years ago  

It's funny though, you can't stay mad at them...

 2 years ago (edited) 

Indeed, and sometimes I kind of find them cute.

Who is the gardener you admire most on HIVE and why? Make sure you tag them!

I think @futureminds is doing a great job of growing in his indoor tent. He’s using purpose built lighting and getting a really good crop. He makes most of his own equipment using his 3D printer, it’s very innovative.

What is the most interesting gardening information you've learnt since you've been on HIVE?

That there are an inspiring number of people out there willing to go out of their way to assist with your most challenging endeavors. It’s amazing how much effort people put into their comments on your posts. I’ve learned more from these helpful comments than any YouTube video tutorial could ever have imparted. Kudos, Hive, you rock ❤️💕🤗

Did you apply this information to your own gardening efforts? How did it turn out?

Yes, I’ve looked around for tree fellers - one helpful comment I received was to look for “roadside fellers” who often sit on the doorstep of nurseries, looking for work. I’ve received a quote to cut down my trees, which is less than half the price of an original quote I received😊

What would you MOST like to do in your garden this season and why?

Plant by the vagaries of the moon (don’t laugh). It’s magical and plants are magical, so I think the two go hand in hand. (Reckon there are worse ambitions, just saying 🌙 🌚 🌝)

What is your favourite plant and why?

Sweetpeas, of course! If the world could be perfumed by the scent of Sweetpeas I think 🤔 that there’d be no crime at all, people would just be in too good a mood to do anything horrible

💕❤️💕🤔🌝🤗😊🌼🌼🌺🌼🌸🌹

 2 years ago  

That there are an inspiring number of people out there willing to go out of their way to assist with your most challenging endeavors. It’s amazing how much effort people put into their comments on your posts. I’ve learned more from these helpful comments than any YouTube video tutorial could ever have imparted.

Yes me too, I"ve learnt FAR more on HIVE and will always ask questions here too. So many helpful people. Cool tip about teh roadside workers!

Sweetpeas, of course! If the world could be perfumed by the scent of Sweetpeas I think 🤔 that there’d be no crime at all, people would just be in too good a mood to do anything horrible

Gardeners are all round nice arent they - must be coz they stop to smell the sweetpeas, the roses, the jasmine, the wisteria, etc etc!

Great comment!

🌼🌺🌸🌹🌺🌸🌼🌝🌙🌚🤗

I need to follow more gardeners and find a good productive community to post in. As it's winter here in England mine is not very productive and after a bettering of storms looks like a mess! Currently looking to replace my fence but at £1000 this is not an affordable option currently hence why not posts ahaha

 2 years ago  

Wow.. a thousand pounds . That's no good at all, sorry to hear that!!!

Yes prices are crazy here in England it's not even a big garden 8m

 2 years ago  

Do yu guys have timber supply shortages too?

We have everything shortages. The prices have gone through the roof here fuel is now £1.54 per litre this raises everything.

 2 years ago (edited) 

Oh yes fuel has gone up here too. We always said the after effects of pandemic would be worse and it's coming . And you also have Brexit. All the more reason to grow some veg. Maybe an allotment? Or do some neighbours have land? Also nearly spring . Don't forget to forage your wild greens!! Another month or so and it will be ramsons and nettles .. yum

Yes everywhere. My neighbours are knobs use their garden as a dumping ground haha. Trying to get them to help me rebuild the fence. Hoping to start growing soon but too wet currently ground is waterlogged so can't grow at the mo. Oooh nettles and wild garlic can't wait

 2 years ago  

I remember I found this YouTuber who sporadically posted on Hive, can't remember either of his names though (doesn't post anymore but still made an impression on me). He owned and operated several food forests on his property and I was so amazed and inspired. I've always liked the idea of perennial foods and that's a big part of the ecosystem you build when designing a food forest. Everything is supposed to compliment each other. It is my dream to make one some day. I think part of the reason why is because, being a forest, it sustains itself.

 2 years ago  

Oh yes!!! I recall him. He inspired me to put wood chips down in a section of garden to start a food forest! And had some good carrot growing tips. @minismallholding might recall his name?

 2 years ago  

@gardeningchannel? That's the only one coming to mind to fit the description.

 2 years ago  

Yes! This is him!

 2 years ago  

I remember his little dog loving the carrots too!

 2 years ago  

Oh gosh, yes! I forgot about that! So darn cute. Did have thought a dog would like carrots so much. 😆

 2 years ago  

@buckaroobaby already tagged me but I tag her back!

Right now all I think about is the garden railroad that @amberyooper did
https://peakd.com/garden-railroad/@amberyooper/the-garden-railroad-early-winter-edition-video

I really wanna tag everyone right now! AAAAAH!

I KNOW!!!!! I am definitely NOT choosing the first option because I would break the 50 word limit by tagging everyone who has contributed. Each is unique and has amazing insights and experience and understanding to offer - even if you're all a little mad and I'm the only sane one

 2 years ago  

Oh man yes that is a WINNER... my husband was even interested in that one and his eyes glaze over if I even mention HIVE!

I don't know many garden loving hivers yet but I've seen some pretty interesting contents, I think they all deserve to be mentioned. I loved this post from @dora381 https://hive.blog/hive-140635/@dora381/introduce-my-garden where she shows her growing tomatoes in pots I think I even encouraged myself to do it and I already have it among the goals for my garden this year. I like to read every story from Hive gardeners because there we find many tips and great ideas that help us to improve our plantings. Another goal I have set for this year is to improve the cultivation of orchids in pots, I still can't get them to look beautiful but I am trying and I will be focused on that; hopefully I will achieve it soon to show you their flowers, that is one of my favorite plants as well as the adeniums, I love it, but it also represents another goal for me because I can't succeed in their reproduction, but I will not give up. I like these plants for their beautiful flowers. Actually I have a very varied garden with edible, ornamental and medicinal plants; I think there will be much more to share with you in my publications. I leave you a photo of an orchid at my mom's house. Greetings!
The content and photo are my property. Translated with the help of www.DeepL.com/Translator (free version)
310520141777_2.jpg

Alborhada, you've made my day. I am so happy you feel encouraged abour growing plants in small spaces. I look forward to your next posts about your gardens. All the best much !LUV

Thank you for your good wishes! Sure, we will be sharing more of our gardens. Best regards!

Greetings Hive Gardeners,

I like to participate in this part of the questions and I will choose questions #1 and 4.

Q#1. Who is the gardener you admire most on HIVE and why? Make sure you tag them!

I know there are a lot of other gardeners to admire too but I just want to be honest and my answer is you @riverflows. I always admired how you nurtured your garden babies and how you made your garden-to-table dishes and also those herbal remedies knowledge you've shared since before I started my journey as a hive gardener. That's why even though I cannot express my thoughts correctly due to my limited knowledge of expressing English dialect. I often time tried to engage myself in reading you're content but sometimes I'm out of words to say.

Q#4. What would you MOST like to do in your garden this season and why?

As of this season, I just want to nurture all my plants, especially my vegetable because I want to save some money on food and also since I'm active in my gardening I want to add more and more plants soon.

🙂🙂🙂

 2 years ago  

Oh really! Shucks, I feel so humbled - honestly I admire you so much that it means a lot to me that you said that! Now I need to live up to your expectations! xx

Yes of course. I'm very honoured to hear that from you too. You don't have to be pressured I just love everything about your blogs 😊

Of course, you’re right. Your comment is just fine, you’ve expressed yourself well, no problem 🌸🌼❤️💕❤️🌼🌸💕🌺🤗🤗

☺🤗 really? Thank you so much.

"mad keen crazy plant folk...." Speak for yourself @riverflows (about @edprivat!) I am as perfectly calm as chamomile, cool as a cucumber, collected like this seasons tomatoes. I don't cry over not enough peelings from the kitchen to be shared between compost, goats, chickens and worm(pee). And I certainly don't spend all day, with my family, sifting through fish crap at the bottom of the dam to loving feed every single teeny tiny plant on the homestead. Maybe you other mad keen crazy people should be smoking more lavender......

IMG_0011 (21).JPG

 2 years ago  

🤣🤣🤣 Ahahaha... Did you read one of the posts that explained the term PLANTITA/PLANTITO .. plant lovers? I think of that word every time I read a comment like this. You guys MAKE the Hive Garden .. 💕💕💕

Nope missed it. The humour is definitely half the fun of hive

What's Buymeberries about?

 2 years ago  

Its like 'buy me a coffee' - but you can send me HIVE just because I'm awesome ahaha

I'll do just that,
Because you are awesome.

Who is the gardener you admire most on HIVE and why? Make sure you tag them!

Well, I admire you a lot, I definitely have learnt few things, finally I am going to try out the Fermented Garlic Honey soon.

What is your favorite plant and why?

My favorite plant is the all season imca - I started gardening in the roof top to get some fresh flowers to worship everyday. And then I also love to have some ladies finger - that also has less maintenance. I would love all kinds of plant when doing gardening in my native - there is plenty of space there to do anything. Unfortunately the weather spoils everything at times.

Thank you @riverflows it was such a nice surprise to win. ❤️💓💞 🌸