You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: HiveGarden: My July Update

in HiveGarden2 years ago

I'm morally opposed to cutting back branches with flower buds on them

Yeah me too, even when I KNOW it's good for them - like our native grevilleas LOVE a tip prune!

Right - getting out ALL THE FORKS. Honestly, those bunnies. I've been getting these long chicken wire lengths and hooping them over some of the crops outside the main rabbit proof garden - they don't look pretty but far out, those rabbits. I've never had such a massive problem before. Funnily I was interrupted as I saw a guy walk past with a gun (it's Australia so that NEVER happens) so asked him what he was after - foxes. Now THAT's why my rabbit numbers are up. Ugh.

Everything is looking so green and lush. I like the way you're trying to plant edible crops amongst the flowers - it's always a nice aesthetic I think!

Sort:  
 2 years ago  

I'm really torn about protecting it because a flower bed shouldn't be surrounded with razor wire like a prison. Planting extra beans seemed to be a good strategy and the hyacinths kept squirrels away while they were blooming. Those little monsters were pulling up plants to find the seed. Next year, I will probably double the Swiss chard.