Rodent War Update

in HiveGarden10 months ago

In my previous post I bemoaned the invasion of unidentified rodents in our garden. On my sister's advice, I contacted the local extension office to see if someone there could identify the pests and give me some advice about getting rid of them. Unfortunately, they did not identify it, nor did the master gardeners to whom they forwarded my email. All they sent were some non-helpful links I had already seen.

So I emailed our local horticulture expert. I knew she was out of town for the summer, and might not be in range of an internet connection, but she replied promptly. She said it was NOT a vole, mole, mouse, rat, gopher, marmot, or prairie dog. She was quite sure we are invaded by some species of ground squirrel. She made some suggestions, and sent me a very useful link about ground squirrel control. Not only is the article helpful, but the comments are also quite educational.

Following suggestions from her and from the article, I continued to place Juicy Fruit gum in their burrows on a daily basis. I set out six 5-gallon buckets with water in them, sprinkled sunflower seeds on top, and set up a board for a ramp to the top of the bucket. I was able to borrow a live animal trap from Fish and Game. I bought several colorful pinwheels and set them out in the garden, hoping the motion would upset the rodents. I also bought a different kind of sonic rodent repellent devices to put in the garden.

The only critter to drown in the water traps was a tree squirrel, which was not an intended victim. The live animal trap has been sprung twice but remained empty. The deer enjoyed the buckets of water and the sunflower seeds floating on top.

Nevertheless, we aren't seeing as many of those ground squirrels running around. I did find one corpse out in the yard, so maybe it finally ate enough gum to destroy its digestive system. We have no way of knowing whether there are more bodies in the burrows.


20230717_183336.jpg

I do hope any remaining critters will leave the green beans alone! They are just now starting to blossom, as are the green peppers. There are little tomatoes starting to form, and the corn is beginning to tassel. I have been picking raspberries every few days. I have harvested one zucchini and one yellow straightneck squash. If the varmints will just leave everthing alone now, I might get enough produce to warrant all the work I have put into the garden, plus the expense of extra water.

Here's hoping!

Photo taken on my Android phone.

Sort:  
 10 months ago  

I hope you figure it out and rid your garden of those pests. Is there no end to the critters that can ruin a garden?

Deer, mice, gophers, voles, moles, ground squirrels, birds, grasshoppers.....probably no end to the list!

Nobody can say you haven't done your best. I'll be forever grateful it's only mice and wireworms I have to contend with. I hope the remaining critters loathe peppers, beans, corn and tomatoes. The best of luck!

Thank you for the well-wishes!!

Ohh THANK YOU for this!
Bugs and cute furry mammals (and weeds, and poison ivy) continue to plague my own gardening efforts.
It's easier to show no mercy to a bug.
But the little ground squirrels are so cute DESTRUCTIVE (note to self) -
DO NOT FALL FOR THE CUTENESS!

NOT a vole, mole, mouse, rat, gopher, marmot, or prairie dog. She was quite sure we are invaded by some species of ground squirrel. She made some suggestions, and sent me a very useful link about ground squirrel control.

Juicy fruit gum. For real???
Perhaps not:

Squirrels apparently eat chewing gum, which binds in their intestines and kills them. People who have had problems with squirrels, gophers, and chipmunks say chewing gum do kill squirrels. However, there is no known scientific study established definitively if chewing gum kills squirrels.

... other substitute materials, such as Ex-Lax laxative or even Irish Spring soap.

Why should we wage war on the cute little critters?

Damage to the home – Squirrels chew and gnaw on walls, insulation, wood, electric wires, and almost everything inside your home. This is a fire hazard and it damages the structure significantly. Squirrels are also hard to evict once they have settled in the attic and have raised young squirrels in it.
Stealing of food – Squirrels are a threat to fruit farms and crops because they eat the produce and negatively affect the farm’s productivity.
Spreading of diseases – Squirrels also carry organisms responsible for diseases such as ringworm, plague, tularemia, typhus, and other diseases.

Does Chewing Gum Kill Squirrels? Facts vs Myths

Looks as if you found even more interesting reading material on the subject! It's easy to fall into the save-the-wildlife and oh-it's-so-cute way of thinking. But when they are eating what I intended to live on all winter, that sheds a whole new light on the issue.

YES
Cute, "save the furries," let them eat our gardens - I know a tender-hearted soul who loses all her strawberries to cute little bunnies. Another friend, also in the Midwest, has a son who pulled his pistol out to take down the bunny who was eating her peas. Not the peas! That is grounds for war. Says the woman who lost most of her peas to bunnies this year. The one year I finally managed to grow peas (an celery!) - and the bunnies pillaged, and the dogs didn't stop them, nor did I.

If you have a garden, there will be some sort of critter/bug waiting to eat it. We all have something different that is trying to ruin our hard work.
!ALIVE

@scribblingramma! You Are Alive so I just staked 0.1 $ALIVE to your account on behalf of @myjob. (7/10)

The tip has been paid for by the We Are Alive Tribe through the earnings on @alive.chat, feel free to swing by our daily chat any time you want, plus you can win Hive Power and Alive Power delegations and Ecency Points in our chat every day.

Yep, you got that right!